Hey guys I'm working on my g/f's wrangler, need help, trans problem. - Jeep Wrangler Forum
Jeep Wrangler Forum

Go Back   Jeep Wrangler Forum > TJ Jeep Wrangler Forum > TJ Tech Forum

Join Wrangler Forum Today


Reply
 
Thread Tools

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on WranglerForum.com
Old 05-01-2009, 08:00 PM   #1
Newb
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 4
Hey guys I'm working on my g/f's wrangler, need help, trans problem.

Hey everyone, I'm working on my girlfriends 97 Wrangler 2.5L Auto. This problem started today, when you come to a complete stop and go to pull away it starts out in second gear and will shirt to third at the appropriate time. If you stop, put it in park, then drive, and pull away it will start out in first gear but it will hold first way too long.

The TV cable isn't broken. This Jeep has 70000 miles on it, it's been very well kept so I would be suprised if it's the beginning of a trans failure. I'm thinking a transmission speed sensor? I called some parts stores a couple said the part wasn't availible to them, advance auto parts carries a transmission speed sensor. I'm wondering if this transmission has both a input and output speed sensor and these are dealer only parts?

Any advice would be helpful, I'm trying to get this fixed asap. My g/fs moms has been fighting cancer and she just took a turn for the worse. Her mom is 80 miles away so I need this Jeep to be on point for all the driving she'll be doing back and forth.

Thanks, Mike

qk99Cobra is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 05-01-2009, 08:47 PM   #2
Jeeper
 
jpdocdave's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: beach park, il
Posts: 8,162
Images: 7
well the first thing is fluid level and condition. check it while running on flat surface. fluid should have a red tint to it, if its low and brown start there.

also check for codes.

__________________
"The danger to America is not Barack Obama but a citizenry capable of entrusting a man like him with the Presidency. It will be far easier to limit and undo the follies of an Obama presidency than to restore the necessary common sense and good judgment to a depraved electorate willing to have such a man for their president."
http://mybroadband.co.za/photos/data...re_cowbell.gif
jpdocdave is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 05-02-2009, 01:24 AM   #3
Jeeper
 
jdhallissey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Gurnee,IL
Posts: 5,104
Send a message via AIM to jdhallissey
where do you live too?
jdhallissey is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 05-02-2009, 12:44 PM   #4
Jeeper
 
Bignuke's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Fort Mill, SC
Posts: 1,057
lol. that seems stalkerish. where do you live? Lol.
Bignuke is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 05-02-2009, 01:02 PM   #5
Jeeper
 
Contra's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: San Antonio, Tx
Posts: 208
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bignuke View Post
lol. that seems stalkerish. where do you live? Lol.
kinda, but at least he didn't ask...what are you wearing?

lol
__________________
My Off Road Videos
Contra is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 05-02-2009, 01:29 PM   #6
Jeeper
 
jdhallissey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Gurnee,IL
Posts: 5,104
Send a message via AIM to jdhallissey
Well if he told us were he is at maybe a local that has had the same issue could lend a hand but maybe I am a stalker?
jdhallissey is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 05-03-2009, 12:42 PM   #7
Newb
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 4
Already checked the fluid, full, red, and smells good. I live near West Chester, PA. No check engine light yet, I'm expecting it to come on after a few days of this.

I've got a considerable amount of experience working on cars for someone who doesn't do it for a living, so if anyone posts anymore advice, please don't be affraid to be technical.
qk99Cobra is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 05-03-2009, 12:49 PM   #8
Jeeper
 
jpdocdave's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: beach park, il
Posts: 8,162
Images: 7
i doubt speed sensor, ford will act like that but not usually a jeep. there may be a faulty relay, i've seen that cause problems in some chrysler cars, even seen transmissions get replaced when it was just a relay, or a shift solenoid, but i've never seen any of them in a tj go bad.

if there's no codes, and i'd have it scanned even if the light isn't on, and externally all looks normal, the next step is trans service.

if it hasn't been done i'd spend the money and have the pan dropped and filter changed, then filled, and then flushed. the only way to get a new filter, and 100% new fluid.

and if anyone is thinking "but servicing a transmission can make it go bad" skip it, thats a myth, all my years in the business, and talking to people w/ decades of expereince, its a myth, service your transmissions.
__________________
"The danger to America is not Barack Obama but a citizenry capable of entrusting a man like him with the Presidency. It will be far easier to limit and undo the follies of an Obama presidency than to restore the necessary common sense and good judgment to a depraved electorate willing to have such a man for their president."
http://mybroadband.co.za/photos/data...re_cowbell.gif
jpdocdave is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 05-03-2009, 12:55 PM   #9
Newb
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: NJ, the tax me to death state
Posts: 12
Get a OHM meter and test the values of your speed sensor. If you can find another Jeep like yours test that one then see what your values are. Dealers will not give up this info. I would also service the trans. What's in the bottom of the pan will tell you alot.
Wrestling Wrangler is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 05-03-2009, 01:54 PM   #10
Newb
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 4
I just took it for a ride, it didn't do it for the first 5 stops. Then it started to not go back to first. If I put in park then drive it will start out in first but it's not holding first gear like it was the day before.

I have a couple other questions; whats the technical name for this transmission? I know its not an A500 or a TF727, maybe a A904? Whatever it is, how long did they use it for in the jeeps? I read somewhere 93-97 used the same 3 speed auto, anyone know if this is true?
qk99Cobra is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 05-03-2009, 04:38 PM   #11
Newb
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 4
Found out it's a 30rh, jeep used it until 02.

qk99Cobra is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Jeep Wrangler Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
04 wrangler ticking engine/ noise from trans specmiata99 TJ Tech Forum 2 02-24-2008 05:58 PM
89 wrangler ignition problem Tornado YJ General Discussion Forum 5 09-16-2006 10:35 PM
98 wrangler tranny and spedo problem!!! millerman TJ Tech Forum 2 01-31-2006 05:00 PM
04 wrangler tranny problem 04moneypit TJ Tech Forum 7 01-18-2006 01:25 PM
TJ Error codes khenderson TJ Tech Forum 3 08-19-2005 12:36 AM



» Network Links
»Jeep Parts
» Featured Product

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:31 PM.



Jeep®, Wrangler, Liberty, Wagoneer, Cherokee, and Grand Cherokee are copyrighted and trademarked to Chrysler Motors LLC.
Wranglerforum.com is not in any way associated with the Chrysler Motors LLC