idle - Jeep Wrangler Forum
Jeep Wrangler Forum

Go Back   Jeep Wrangler Forum > TJ Jeep Wrangler Forum > TJ Tech Forum

Join Wrangler Forum Today


Reply
 
Thread Tools

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on WranglerForum.com
Old 01-16-2013, 06:15 PM   #1
Jeeper
 
dtaz04's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 172
idle

I am idling around 2000 rpms what could the problem be

dtaz04 is offline   Quote
Old 01-16-2013, 07:09 PM   #2
Jeeper

WF Supporting Member
 
Sccafire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: 82 miles from the Rubicon Trail
Posts: 836
Check all your vacuum hoses and make sure they are hooked up properly and have no cracks or holes in them.

__________________
Scott
Sccafire is offline   Quote
Old 01-16-2013, 07:32 PM   #3
Abe Froman

5-Year WF Supporting Member
WF Supporting Member
 
doclouie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Was in the mountains, now in Texas
Posts: 3,709
Images: 4
There is a vacuum leak somewhere.
__________________
2000 Sahara, 3.5" Rubicon Express Lift, 1" spring spacer & 1" Body Lift, 33" or 35" BFG Mud tires, Front & Rear ARB, Rancho 9000 shocks, UCF Ultra High Belly Up

doclouie is offline   Quote
Old 01-16-2013, 07:41 PM   #4
Newb
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 6
I have the same problem and have read quite a bit about the IAC and using throttle body cleaner (carb cleaner?). I don't know if the IAC can go bad or just get dirty.
C-Rock is offline   Quote
Old 01-16-2013, 07:45 PM   #5
Newb
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 6
Are all of the vacuum lines contained in the engine compartment?
C-Rock is offline   Quote
Old 01-16-2013, 07:50 PM   #6
Knows a couple things...

WF Supporting Member
 
Jerry Bransford's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Escondido, Calif.
Posts: 35,233
Images: 2
Have you done any work to the engine lately like removing the exhaust manifold? Have you worked on anything that could have knocked a vacuum hose loose or broken its connection? Any vacuum leak will cause high engine RPMs.
__________________
When you have a choice, buy American.

Jerry Bransford is offline   Quote
Old 01-16-2013, 07:52 PM   #7
Knows a couple things...

WF Supporting Member
 
Jerry Bransford's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Escondido, Calif.
Posts: 35,233
Images: 2
Quote:
Originally Posted by C-Rock View Post
Are all of the vacuum lines contained in the engine compartment?
No, there is a vacuum line that leads to the HVAC system that controls some of the HVAC's parts like flapper/mix doors.
__________________
When you have a choice, buy American.

Jerry Bransford is offline   Quote
Old 01-16-2013, 08:23 PM   #8
Jeeper
 
dtaz04's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 172
It actually started after I cleaned my throttle body. The PO put in a cool air intake and it looks like he cut off part of as hoes and tried to plug it

dtaz04 is offline   Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off




Download our Mobile App

» Featured Product

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:57 AM.


User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging v3.1.0 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2015 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.

Jeep®, Wrangler, Liberty, Wagoneer, Cherokee, and Grand Cherokee are copyrighted and trademarked to Chrysler Motors LLC.
Wranglerforum.com is not in any way associated with the Chrysler Motors LLC