Jumped off the Jeep and radio doesnt work? HELP - Jeep Wrangler Forum
Jeep Wrangler Forum

Go Back   Jeep Wrangler Forum > TJ Jeep Wrangler Forum > TJ Tech Forum

Join Wrangler Forum Today


Reply
 
Thread Tools

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on WranglerForum.com
Old 10-16-2012, 04:42 PM   #1
Jeeper
 
hagler123's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Tuscaloosa, Alabama
Posts: 338
Jumped off the Jeep and radio doesnt work? HELP

As above I had to jump off my Jeep this morning cause I left my running lights on all night and battery died so after I jumped it and drove around to charge the battery I noticed my radio wasn't working! Everything else is fine but my radio has no power. I have an aftermarket Kenwood excelon head unit. Can someone give suggestions on why its not working

hagler123 is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 10-16-2012, 08:16 PM   #2
Jeeper
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 426
The fuse blew when you jump started the Jeep. Good luck finding it, it is probably an inline fuse in the wiring harness for the stereo.

__________________
Gary
1967 Kaiser Commando
2001 Grand Cherokee WJ
2003 Rubicon TJ
KaiserJeep is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 10-16-2012, 08:19 PM   #3
Jeeper
 
JeepWrangler4x4's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 268
also, just FYI alternator does not charge the battery the right way.. you should toss a charger on it to complete the battery charge
JeepWrangler4x4 is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 10-16-2012, 08:28 PM   #4
Jeeper
 
hagler123's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Tuscaloosa, Alabama
Posts: 338
Quote:
Originally Posted by KaiserJeep
The fuse blew when you jump started the Jeep. Good luck finding it, it is probably an inline fuse in the wiring harness for the stereo.
That wont be easy I checked the fuse behind the glove box and it was fine so I guess I'm going to look for the inline on when I have time. Do you know its general location? Like if its behind the radio?
hagler123 is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 10-16-2012, 08:39 PM   #5
Jeeper
 
chrys95's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Phoenix, AZ
Posts: 55
Some decks have a 5amp fuse on the back of them. Maybe pop out the desk and have a look there first.
chrys95 is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Jeep Wrangler Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off




» Network Links
»Jeep Parts
» Featured Product

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:27 AM.



Jeep®, Wrangler, Liberty, Wagoneer, Cherokee, and Grand Cherokee are copyrighted and trademarked to Chrysler Motors LLC.
Wranglerforum.com is not in any way associated with the Chrysler Motors LLC