Laughing Monkeys just hit me!!! - Jeep Wrangler Forum

Go Back   Jeep Wrangler Forum > TJ Jeep Wrangler Forum > TJ Tech Forum

Join Wrangler Forum Today



Reply
 
Thread Tools

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on WranglerForum.com
Old 02-12-2014, 12:13 PM   #1
Jeeper
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 133
bcsatch is on a distinguished road
Laughing Monkeys just hit me!!!

2005 Willy's with 73,000 original miles. Read what I could on here, what is my next step? It has only been doing it when its real cold but pretty sure it will continue. My Vin has the "s" letter in the 8th position so I assume based on what i have read it will be fixed on chrysler's dime am I correct or just hoping?
bcsatch is offline   Quote
Old 02-12-2014, 12:25 PM   #2
Commercial Member

5-Year WF Supporting Member
 
Big Sarge's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Fort Drum NY
Posts: 5,784
Big Sarge is on a distinguished road
have no clue what you are talking about? what is the problem?

__________________

CLICK THE LINK BELOW FOR MY CUSTOM POOL BALL SHIFT KNOBS

http://www.wranglerforum.com/f37/custom-camo-pool-ball-shifters-224388.html
_______
/l ,[____],
l---L -OlllllllO-
()_) ()_)--o-)_)
Big Sarge is offline   Quote
Old 02-12-2014, 12:31 PM   #3
Jeeper
 
4lowco's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 287
4lowco is on a distinguished road
Some good TJ Tech here.
Are you trying to refer to the 2005-2006 OPDA issue?
__________________
Buy nice, not twice.

http://www.wranglerforum.com/attachments/signaturepics/sigpic165148_1.gif
4lowco is offline   Quote
Old 02-12-2014, 12:43 PM   #4
Jeeper
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 133
bcsatch is on a distinguished road
Yup, OPDA. Called chrysler and am having it thrown on diagnostics tomorrow in the a.m. when its a cold start for a tech. How bad am I going to get hammered financially and will even even test in error. Am I better off just buying an aftermarket OPDA and paying someone to put it on?
bcsatch is offline   Quote
Old 02-12-2014, 03:17 PM   #5
Jeeper
 
brtn.se7en's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 17
brtn.se7en is on a distinguished road
First off i dont really every do any engine work to my jeep but this is too easy. i watched a 10 minute video, read the write ups,ordered the part for ~$130. Used a wrench to get my engine top dead center, took out old one..put in new one. it took me maybe an hour beause the bold is hard to reach. heres the write up.

2005-06 Jeep OPDA_CPS_Distributor Failure - JeepForum.com

oh and to add to this...my dealership here in New Orleans wanted ~$580 to do it.
brtn.se7en is offline   Quote
Old 02-12-2014, 04:00 PM   #6
Jeeper
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 133
bcsatch is on a distinguished road
Is it a band aid or does it work?
bcsatch is offline   Quote
Old 02-12-2014, 04:11 PM   #7
Jeeper
 
brtn.se7en's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 17
brtn.se7en is on a distinguished road
depends. you cant regrease it stock from the factory but there is a mod to add a grease point. i did not do that. im just going to risk it and see how long it gets me. It hit me a few weeks ago at 38k miles so if i can go another 38k miles on it ill be happy to replace it again for 130. if you read that write up they discuss why this happens. replacing it normally will fix it, but to be sure you can do the mod to add the grease point.
__________________
Mikey: 06 LJ - Silver
2.5" OME lift, 1.25" JKS Body Lift, 1" MM Lift, JKS Adjustable Tracbars, JKS Quicker Discos. 33x12.5 MT MTZs on 15" MT Classic IIs, and fender flares cut by me
brtn.se7en is offline   Quote
Old 02-12-2014, 04:48 PM   #8
Jeeper
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 20
space_monkey is on a distinguished road
I bought one from a dealer, had it shipped to a guy here in this forum that applied the "oil cup" mod to it for a small charge.

I replaced mine when I bought the jeep as I got paranoid reading the opda thread referenced earlier.

The job to install it is fairly simple (im no hardcore mechanic at all) if you watch a couple of videos you can get it knocked out in at most 2-3 hours. Just be sure to remove the wrench you used to get the engine to top center before starting the jeep up lol


I imagine you will have a very hard time replacing it on the dealers dime. My dealer denied the issue even when i showed them the TSB. If they do replace, try to get em to replace the crankshaft too as it might have wear from the gear.
space_monkey is offline   Quote
Old 02-12-2014, 04:57 PM   #9
Jeeper
 
C.L.'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: North NJ
Posts: 2,489
C.L. is on a distinguished road
Quote:
Originally Posted by space_monkey View Post
Just be sure to remove the wrench you used to get the engine to top center before starting the jeep up lol
What, you don't like my new Craftsman harmonic balancer?
C.L. is offline   Quote
Old 02-12-2014, 05:17 PM   #10
Jeeper
 
LJ Dave's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Pine, Colorado
Posts: 1,737
LJ Dave is on a distinguished road
I just bought a recommended aftermarket 05-06 OPDA (aka camshaft synchronizer) from Rockauto for $78.89. It is Dorman pn 689-201. They have a proper bearing design that should last the life of the engine. I will install it when I get back from vacation. Procedure looks pretty simple. Be sure to check the gears on the camshaft if you see unusual wear on the OPDA when you remove it.
__________________
_____________
2005 Rubicon LJ, 4.5 lift, 35's
LJ Dave is offline   Quote
Old 02-12-2014, 06:34 PM   #11
Jeeper
 
flash1034's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: San Juan Capistrano
Posts: 622
flash1034 is on a distinguished road
I replaced my perfectly good stock one with a Dorman unit just as a preventative measure. No problems with either.

Flash
flash1034 is offline   Quote
Old 02-12-2014, 11:12 PM   #12
Jeeper
 
Noles4evr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 20
Noles4evr is on a distinguished road
Chrysler may fix but make sure to get engine build date from dealer. My engine build was 10/19/2004 @ 10a. The recall on E05 doesnt begin until 10/20/2004 at 0800. So i also have mine at diagnostics for the tech to tell chrysler that is problem. Then i have to call chrysler back and see if they will cover being that it is less than 24 hrs outside of recall range!!!! Ill keep you updated!!
Noles4evr is offline   Quote
Old 02-12-2014, 11:16 PM   #13
Jeeper
 
Noles4evr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 20
Noles4evr is on a distinguished road
I spoke with tech today, he states my cam is 16 degrees off!!! He also says it may be cracked flex plate, but i dont think cracked plate would cause cam to be off that bad? Or am i wrong?
Noles4evr is offline   Quote
Old 02-13-2014, 07:52 AM   #14
Jeeper
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 133
bcsatch is on a distinguished road
Not sure, way I look at it I have 3 options.
1. Buy the Dorman and install it or have my guy at local garage install it. Cost= Parts+labor

2.Plug it up at the dealership and then fight with chrysler, knowing my 05 willys likely falls within the build dates for repair. Cost= Diagnostic+Whatever chrysler does to me

3.Plug it up at dealership then try and use my extended warranty plan that is good thru 2015 and see if they will cover it. Cost=Diagnostic+$100 deductable(if they choose to fix it)

I am checking with my guy at the garage today, so right now I think my most painless option is #1.

Am I far off on this or dead on?
bcsatch is offline   Quote
Old 02-13-2014, 09:44 AM   #15
Jeeper
 
LJ Dave's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Pine, Colorado
Posts: 1,737
LJ Dave is on a distinguished road
I think number 1 is your best option because it will be the least expensive and will get you a better fix. The dealer replaced mine under warranty with the same POS design that failed the first time. Now I'm having to replace it again . Since the Dorman unit has come down in price, it's a no brainer.
Now if you find bad wear on the gear driven by the cam, then it's time to try to get some consideration from Chrysler, as replacing the cam will cost significant $$.
LJ Dave is offline   Quote
Old 02-13-2014, 12:52 PM   #16
Jeeper
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 133
bcsatch is on a distinguished road
Dorman ordered, part 689201. Only had three left. Spoke with my mechanic, will install for $50-$75. Paid $90 w/shipping for the Dorman. Would do it myself but don't have the time, patience or the tools. I change my own oil, filters about it.
bcsatch is offline   Quote
Old 02-18-2014, 11:05 AM   #17
Jeeper
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 133
bcsatch is on a distinguished road
*Update* Part arrived, scheduled for install Thursday morning. Hoping the cam is okay. After completion I will start the phone calls and copies of receipts to Chrysler. Going to see if I can squeeze anything out of them.
bcsatch is offline   Quote
Old 02-18-2014, 10:00 PM   #18
Jeeper
 
LJ Dave's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Pine, Colorado
Posts: 1,737
LJ Dave is on a distinguished road
I replaced mine on Sunday and the gears still looked good. Hopefully you'll have the same result.
__________________
_____________
2005 Rubicon LJ, 4.5 lift, 35's
LJ Dave is offline   Quote
Old 02-18-2014, 10:29 PM   #19
Jeeper
 
JGreen06TJ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: OH
Posts: 4,631
JGreen06TJ is on a distinguished road
Quote:
Originally Posted by flash1034 View Post
I replaced my perfectly good stock one with a Dorman unit just as a preventative measure. No problems with either.

Flash

I replaced mine last summer with the Dorman unit as a preventive measure. I'm not much of a mechanic but replaced the OPDA and new spark plugs in about an hour or just over. Really simple install if you read some of the other OPDA threads here.
JGreen06TJ is offline   Quote
Old 02-22-2014, 01:59 PM   #20
Jeeper
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 133
bcsatch is on a distinguished road
Install of Dorman complete. My tech said and showed me the factory opdg....rusted and seemingly ready to fail. Will upload pics later. Contacted chrysler, spoke for hour. Not giving an inch, going to send pics and receipts to them and call 'til I'm blue in the face.
bcsatch is offline   Quote
Old 02-22-2014, 03:14 PM   #21
Jeeper

WF Supporting Member
 
yoopone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Suburban Chicago and the UP of Michigan
Posts: 620
yoopone is on a distinguished road
My Dorman has been installed for about 2000 miles now, easy install and all going good. Mine is an 05 Rubicon. The Jeep had 45,000 miles when I did the swap. OEM OPDA looked pretty good. Vitually no wear at all.
__________________
1989 YJ
1997 TJ
1999 TJ
2006 TJ
2005 TJ Rubicon
yoopone is offline   Quote
Old 02-23-2014, 11:28 PM   #22
Jeeper
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 32
GaryTW is on a distinguished road
Just replaced OPDA

Just replaced my OPDA in our 2005 Rubi LJ. 63,500 miles. The one we pulled out looked pretty darn good and it had the 4 digit number in the 5's so outside of the noted bad ones. Makes me think it might have been replaced already. Anyway we put in a new Dorman unit so I have a good spare now.

Thanks Gary
GaryTW is offline   Quote
Old 02-24-2014, 12:09 AM   #23
Jeeper
 
LJ Dave's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Pine, Colorado
Posts: 1,737
LJ Dave is on a distinguished road
Quote:
Originally Posted by GaryTW View Post
Just replaced my OPDA in our 2005 Rubi LJ. 63,500 miles. The one we pulled out looked pretty darn good and it had the 4 digit number in the 5's so outside of the noted bad ones. Makes me think it might have been replaced already. Anyway we put in a new Dorman unit so I have a good spare now. Thanks Gary
What's this about 4 digit number in the 5s? I thought all the oem ones were bad.
__________________
_____________
2005 Rubicon LJ, 4.5 lift, 35's
LJ Dave is offline   Quote
Old 02-25-2014, 11:01 AM   #24
Jeeper
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 32
GaryTW is on a distinguished road
OPDA numbers

Quote:
Originally Posted by LJ Dave View Post
What's this about 4 digit number in the 5s? I thought all the oem ones were bad.
Over in the JEEP FORUM web site there are several posts which identify the S/N's of the range of bad OPDA's. On an OEM OPDA there is a sticker. On the second row of wording you look at the first four numbers and if your OPDA falls between a certain range it should be replaced according to the fellow that posted the info. Do a search in the JEEP FORUM for "OPDA issues" and I'm sure you will find it. The unit I removed had numbers that were outside of the range (higher) so I'm not sure if it had been changed due to the TSB or it was built with a unit outside the range. Anyway, I replaced mine with a Dorman unit.

thanks
gary
GaryTW is offline   Quote
Old 02-28-2014, 10:57 AM   #25
Jeeper
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 133
bcsatch is on a distinguished road
Here are the pics.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_0216.jpg
Views:	58
Size:	220.9 KB
ID:	817225   Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_0221.jpg
Views:	66
Size:	212.9 KB
ID:	817233  

Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_0222.jpg
Views:	74
Size:	201.6 KB
ID:	817241  

bcsatch is offline   Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off




Download our Mobile App

» Featured Product

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:38 PM.


User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging v3.1.0 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2016 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2016 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.

Jeep®, Wrangler, Liberty, Wagoneer, Cherokee, and Grand Cherokee are copyrighted and trademarked to Chrysler Motors LLC.
Wranglerforum.com is not in any way associated with the Chrysler Motors LLC
« Back

Enter your email address:

Delivered by FeedBurner