No doors, lights on? - Jeep Wrangler Forum
Jeep Wrangler Forum

Go Back   Jeep Wrangler Forum > TJ Jeep Wrangler Forum > TJ Tech Forum

Join Wrangler Forum Today


Reply
 
Thread Tools

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on WranglerForum.com
Old 07-06-2012, 01:32 PM   #1
Newb
 
MattGray15's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 9
No doors, lights on?

Hey guys, I'm pretty new to everything. Just got my 05 black wrangler x two weeks ago. Finally decided to take the doors off of her, but my lights above my seats stay on when my doors come off! There has to be something I can disconnect possibly to make the lights go off when I take the doors off so my battery doesn't die? Anyone know any solution? Thanks in advance

MattGray15 is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 07-06-2012, 01:38 PM   #2
Jeeper
 
blkrubi88's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Clayton NC
Posts: 24,322
Pull the #4 fuse behind the glove box.

__________________
I can only please one person a day and today is not your day and tomorrow is not looking good either!



CHRIS
blkrubi88 is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 07-06-2012, 01:39 PM   #3
Jeeper
 
MississippiDirtTJ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Bucksnort, N MS
Posts: 129
Pull fuse #4 behind the glove box. This disables the annoying door chime as well. Downside is that your jeep will no longer tell you when you leave your headlights on. A worthy trade off IMO
__________________
---Eric
'04 TJ X. 4.0 5spd. Half cab hard top. LuK PG clutch. 3" cobbled up lift. 31" BFG KM2s. Cut fenders. VR8000-s. Lockright. Couple'a KCs. Some trick wiring. Smitty. Currie. Home brew seat risers, foot pegs, and LED tail lights. Bedliner everywhere.
"A clean Jeep is a lie."
MississippiDirtTJ is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 07-06-2012, 01:41 PM   #4
Jeeper
 
Dextreme's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Oregon City, OR
Posts: 3,966
Images: 1
I wrapped a piece of duct tape to the fuse (made a flap) so that its really easy to reach in and pull.
__________________
'99 Chilli Pepper TJ Wrangler "Mistress"
33x12.5 DuraTracs
Zone 4.25"
Dextreme is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 07-06-2012, 01:44 PM   #5
Jeeper
 
Vroooom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Sin-Tex
Posts: 1,690
1) pull fuse number 4 as described above.
2) buy one of the clip gizmos available from most outfitters to trick your jeep into thinking the door is there.
3) Install a switch that replaces the fuse and trick the jeep into thinking the fuse is there or removed, depending on how you flip da switch.
__________________
Threads wander aimlessly....always refer back to post #1
2012 Black Unlimited Sahara (mine)
2011 Black Corvette 3LT (wife's)
2005 Black Suzuki C50T (ours)
"Hope" is NOT a strategy
Vroooom is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 07-06-2012, 01:55 PM   #6
Jeeper
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 41
We spent the $30 or so for the switch from quadratec. Its pretty convenient.

Another option is to pull the bulb out of the dome light. Then you don't lose the chime for the headlights.

sm
jersey steve is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 07-06-2012, 01:58 PM   #7
Jeeper
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 41
We spent the $30 or so for the switch from quadratec. Its pretty convenient.

Another option is to pull the bulb out of the dome light.

sm
jersey steve is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 07-06-2012, 02:38 PM   #8
Jeeper
 
SouthTJ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Memphis
Posts: 703
X2 on the Quadratec switch. Best solution in my opinion.

__________________
SouthTJ is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 07-06-2012, 05:03 PM   #9
Jeeper
 
NC Bear's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 1,469
I just pulled the switch out of both door frames, pulled the cables out and put the switches back in. 2 seconds and done. (access them from under the dash.)
NC Bear is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 07-06-2012, 05:29 PM   #10
Jeeper
 
leppich_italy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 96
Images: 1
1- pull the #4 fuse from behind the glove box--note also disables the chime if you leave your lights on. can = dead battery. keep that in mind
2- pull the bulb out of the light if you don't need it--all works as it should but you don't have a light in the cab.
3- add a switch to the #4 fuse so you don't have to drop the glove box and pull the fuse out- still disables the chime if you leave your lights on. can = dead battery. keep that in mind
leppich_italy is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 07-06-2012, 05:52 PM   #11
Jeeper
 
TJspeed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: New Mexico
Posts: 3,474
Quote:
Originally Posted by SouthTJ View Post
X2 on the Quadratec switch. Best solution in my opinion.

you can build one of those for less then $5.
__________________
2000 solar yellow 4.0 sport 3" BDS, 1.25" JKS body lift, 1" Zone motor lift, JKS quicker disconnects, 33x10.5 BFG KM2 on black american racing wheels. D44 rear.

TJspeed is online now   Quote Quick Reply
Old 07-06-2012, 07:11 PM   #12
Jeeper
 
desertrat04's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 70
I just bought the clips off evilbay!
desertrat04 is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 07-06-2012, 09:40 PM   #13
Jeeper
 
grunt0311's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Indian Head, MD .. for now
Posts: 173
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dextreme View Post
I wrapped a piece of duct tape to the fuse (made a flap) so that its really easy to reach in and pull.
mcgyver
__________________
"Drive it like its stolen"
Semper Fi
grunt0311 is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 08-25-2013, 04:40 PM   #14
Jeeper
 
Jersey Jeeper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Wenonah, South Jersey
Posts: 41
Quote:
Originally Posted by TJspeed View Post

you can build one of those for less then $5.
That's exactly what I did and mounted it in the switch cluster. Total cost about $7 and that includes tax. I still have enough parts to make about 3 more.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	ForumRunner_20130825_163759.jpg
Views:	59
Size:	115.4 KB
ID:	290353   Click image for larger version

Name:	ForumRunner_20130825_163825.jpg
Views:	49
Size:	115.4 KB
ID:	290354  

__________________
(OllllllO)

It's a Jeep
If I wanted a Hummer I'd Call your Sister
Jersey Jeeper is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 08-25-2013, 04:43 PM   #15
Jeeper
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 2,631
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jersey Jeeper View Post
That's exactly what I did and mounted it in the switch cluster. Total cost about $7 and that includes tax. I still have enough parts to make about 3 more.
Why not make a few more then and sell em here?
RevCo666 is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 08-25-2013, 04:53 PM   #16
Jeeper
 
Jersey Jeeper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Wenonah, South Jersey
Posts: 41
Quote:
Originally Posted by RevCo666 View Post

Why not make a few more then and sell em here?
I may make some and bring them to the next get together. I was gonna bring some to OCMD this weekend but couldn't get down there.
__________________
(OllllllO)

It's a Jeep
If I wanted a Hummer I'd Call your Sister
Jersey Jeeper is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 08-25-2013, 04:55 PM   #17
Jeeper
 
JReed615's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Michigan
Posts: 701
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dextreme View Post
I wrapped a piece of duct tape to the fuse (made a flap) so that its really easy to reach in and pull.
That's genius!
JReed615 is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 08-25-2013, 05:08 PM   #18
Jeeper
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 2,631
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jersey Jeeper View Post
I may make some and bring them to the next get together. I was gonna bring some to OCMD this weekend but couldn't get down there.
I kinda like the switch idea even tho I don't take my doors off... Stealth mode
RevCo666 is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 08-25-2013, 05:10 PM   #19
Jeeper
 
Jersey Jeeper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Wenonah, South Jersey
Posts: 41
Quote:
Originally Posted by RevCo666 View Post

I kinda like the switch idea even tho I don't take my doors off... Stealth mode
Comes in handy when I'm sneaking in at 3am after being out all day.
__________________
(OllllllO)

It's a Jeep
If I wanted a Hummer I'd Call your Sister
Jersey Jeeper is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 08-25-2013, 05:14 PM   #20
Jeeper
 
Notoriously_rob's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 682
This is what the previous owner did- i havent fixed it yet...
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	image-2941355509.jpg
Views:	40
Size:	109.4 KB
ID:	290383  
Notoriously_rob is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 08-25-2013, 05:16 PM   #21
Jeeper
 
TanAndTatted8's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Carroll County, Maryland
Posts: 26
I bought the little spring clips from shopjeepparts.com and they work great. Around $7. Just takes a second to put them on and the jeep thinks the doors are on
TanAndTatted8 is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 08-26-2013, 08:25 PM   #22
Jeeper
 
my996duc1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: SoCal
Posts: 659
Quote:
Originally Posted by TJspeed View Post
you can build one of those for less then $5.

how about a parts list and some quick instructions for those that aren't so electrically involved ?

_
__________________
2005 LJ Rubicon Sahara #0090

My build project : http://www.wranglerforum.com/f5/rubi...es-328649.html
my996duc1 is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 08-27-2013, 11:57 AM   #23
Jeeper
 
Rayko's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: NJ Badlands
Posts: 898
Got the little spring things from Qtec, they work great. Takes about a minute to put them on.
Rayko is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 08-29-2013, 01:40 AM   #24
Jeeper
 
gsellars's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: SOWEGA
Posts: 141
Images: 1
Quote:
Originally Posted by NC Bear View Post
I just pulled the switch out of both door frames, pulled the cables out and put the switches back in. 2 seconds and done. (access them from under the dash.)

Did the same. Works well and no messing with fuses
__________________
05 TJ X. 4" susp lift 33s, SYE, CV DS, ect...
gsellars is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 08-29-2013, 01:53 PM   #25
Jeeper
 
ABombs13's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Manchester, CT
Posts: 28
the spring clips are the cheap and easy way to do it. looking into getting the switch down the road but the clips work fine for now.
ABombs13 is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 08-29-2013, 02:30 PM   #26
Jeeper
 
T2000J's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: PA
Posts: 897
Only problem I had with the clips I would for get about them when I put the doors back on broke 2 door pins needles to say my fuse stays out until the hard top & full doors go back on first snow fall

__________________


JEEP WRANGLER
T2000J is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Jeep Wrangler Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off




Download our Mobile App

» Network Links
»Jeep Parts
» Featured Product

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:54 AM.



Jeep®, Wrangler, Liberty, Wagoneer, Cherokee, and Grand Cherokee are copyrighted and trademarked to Chrysler Motors LLC.
Wranglerforum.com is not in any way associated with the Chrysler Motors LLC