No turn signals after multifunction switch replacement - Jeep Wrangler Forum
Jeep Wrangler Forum

Go Back   Jeep Wrangler Forum > TJ Jeep Wrangler Forum > TJ Tech Forum

Join Wrangler Forum Today


Reply
 
Thread Tools

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on WranglerForum.com
Old 02-26-2014, 05:50 PM   #1
Jeeper
 
JReed615's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Michigan
Posts: 700
Question No turn signals after multifunction switch replacement

This afternoon I replaced my multifunction switch with a new one from autozone. The install went good, but after driving for a few minutes I realized my turn signals weren't working. Figuring it was a bad switch, I went home and put the old one back in. The turn signals still do not work. The hazard lights will come on though? Can anyone have an idea why they aren't working?

JReed615 is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 02-26-2014, 06:49 PM   #2
Jeeper
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 2,247
Fuse

The hazard and turn have same end path but different power source which is why turn signals only work with key on or accessory and hazards work even with key off

Digger84 is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 02-26-2014, 08:06 PM   #3
Jeeper
 
JReed615's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Michigan
Posts: 700
After letting it sit for a while, they started to work. Hopefully I don't have a short or something. I guess time will tell. Thanks for the response man
JReed615 is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 02-26-2014, 11:39 PM   #4
Jeeper
 
Tiburon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Manchester, CT
Posts: 433
Send a message via MSN to Tiburon
Did you swap over the relay on it? Also aftermarket MFSW are notorious for being NG out of the box. I replaced mine and lost blinkers, running lights (which is why I needed a new one) and the high beams. It blew 2 fuses and burned out my relay. I had to buy the Mopar one and track down which fuses it blew. Luckily I was able to return the bad part.
__________________
06 Yellow SE, Stock for now.
Tiburon is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 02-27-2014, 06:40 AM   #5
Jeeper
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 2,247
If you have an early tj where the fog light switch is on the center panel one from a neon will work and usually in good shape in junkyard as neons rarely get inside exposed to water or outside weather if a newer tj after they moved the fog light switch to the turn signal multifunction switch stalk no alternate salvage yard source and like he said aftermarket ones are problem prone so may need new oem at much higher cost
Digger84 is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 02-27-2014, 12:35 PM   #6
Jeeper
 
turnbull's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 218
Quote:
Originally Posted by JReed615 View Post
After letting it sit for a while, they started to work. Hopefully I don't have a short or something. I guess time will tell. Thanks for the response man
Did it start working with the old switch or the new switch? If it is the old switch, it could be you didn't swap over the blinker relay.

When I replaced my MFS, the first one I bought had a short right out of the box. As soon as I installed it, it blew the fuse that controlled the hazards, turn signals, and brake lights. I blew 2 fuses before I realized the switch was bad.
turnbull is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 02-27-2014, 01:49 PM   #7
Jeeper
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 2,247
I the end of the turn signal lever is flat on the back side a neon one will fit but if round even on the back side no junkyard alternative exists
Digger84 is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 02-27-2014, 04:44 PM   #8
Jeeper
 
JReed615's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Michigan
Posts: 700
Quote:
Originally Posted by turnbull View Post
Did it start working with the old switch or the new switch? If it is the old switch, it could be you didn't swap over the blinker relay. When I replaced my MFS, the first one I bought had a short right out of the box. As soon as I installed it, it blew the fuse that controlled the hazards, turn signals, and brake lights. I blew 2 fuses before I realized the switch was bad.
it worked with the old one. It was a bad switch.
JReed615 is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 02-27-2014, 06:14 PM   #9
Jeeper
 
turnbull's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 218
Quote:
Originally Posted by JReed615 View Post
it worked with the old one. It was a bad switch.
But you did swap over the relay, correct? I've swapped my MFS about 10 times, and I still forgot a couple of times to swap over the relay.

turnbull is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Jeep Wrangler Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off




» Network Links
»Jeep Parts
» Featured Product

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:34 PM.



Jeep®, Wrangler, Liberty, Wagoneer, Cherokee, and Grand Cherokee are copyrighted and trademarked to Chrysler Motors LLC.
Wranglerforum.com is not in any way associated with the Chrysler Motors LLC