nobody has any ideas that could help with my transmission issue? - Jeep Wrangler Forum
Jeep Wrangler Forum

Go Back   Jeep Wrangler Forum > TJ Jeep Wrangler Forum > TJ Tech Forum

Join Wrangler Forum Today


Reply
 
Thread Tools

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on WranglerForum.com
Old 08-16-2014, 12:41 AM   #1
Newb
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Posts: 13
nobody has any ideas that could help with my transmission issue?

Im trying one more time .... I have a right hand drive jeep wrangler that I have just replaced the motor in last week. When I first took it to my mechanic he checked it out and said I would need a motor but I coukd take the vaccum intake off the top of the motor so it would run long enough for me to run my rural route. As soon as I drove off from his parking oot my jeep all the sudden would not shift passed second. My husband seems to think its just coincidence, but I just have to know for sure that it cantbe something else. When I took my jeep to the actual motor shoo to have it rebuilt ( different mechanic) he saidnhe couldn't find anything electrical that the previous mechanic may have knocked loose, so he hooked it to his computer. The coe popped up 605, I think, it was saying it was something with my trnsmission computer. So my husband then took my jeep to the transmission shop ( the third mechanic). He said it had a code on it that all he had to do was hook his computer to it and clear the code. As long as the code went away when he restarted the car it would be fine. Well the code went away, jy husband got it back home and drove it down the road and it still wouldn't shift passed 2nd. Also the "transmission mechanic" said the transmission fluid smelled burned and when we called to tell him the jeep wasn't fixed, he told us we would have to replace the transmission. I hooe that makes sense to someone, please help!!!

sslappey is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 08-16-2014, 01:33 AM   #2
Jeeper
 
coolhand's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Peterborough, Ontario
Posts: 239
Sounds like you need a transmission shop, has to be opened up and rebuilt.

__________________
Sometimes nothing can be a real cool hand.
coolhand is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 08-16-2014, 02:23 AM   #3
RossRacing7x

WF Supporting Member
 
Kota7x's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: 93105, 92677, 92004
Posts: 1,613
It sounds like the Jeep is in "Limp mode". This mode is there to protect the internals of the transmission from eating themselves. What year Jeep is it? Miles? OffRoad? DD? These will give a history of the Jeep and give us a direction. Did it go through all gears before the engine swap? How long have you owned the Jeep? Has the fluid in the transmission ever been changed?

Edit: After Googling the error code you posted I came up with this. It has something to do with the computer. So you may not need a transmission rebuild.
http://www.virtualjeepclub.com/showt...ght-Code-P0605
__________________
Sure you can follow... If you can keep up!!!
- 2004 Jeep Wrangler LJ 4.0
Kota7x is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 08-16-2014, 09:43 AM   #4
Jeeper
 
Evpjr's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Bakersfield
Posts: 410
Images: 1
You may need to re-connect the "vacuum intake," on the top of the engine, as the sensor on the transmission might require it to recalibrate the signal sent to the ECU.

Jerry would be the best person to ask as his is an auto.
Evpjr is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 08-16-2014, 11:06 AM   #5
Jeeper
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 2,861
Perhaps listing more info like

What engine
What year wrangler
What transmission

Also curious why someone in us has a right hand drive ( postal 2wd wrangler? )
Digger84 is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 08-17-2014, 12:49 AM   #6
Jeeper
 
PBDream's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: Daphne
Posts: 128
I had be same problem. Brought it it to a tranny shop and they said they couldn't figure it out. I replaced my PCM and it's back to normal. If your jeep is a 2005 his is most likely your problem.
PBDream is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 08-17-2014, 01:02 AM   #7
Motorized Toy Collector

WF Supporting Member
 
TJDave's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Eastern WA State
Posts: 3,003
I just went through this on my 04 TJ. P0605 code and limp mode. I borrowed the TCM out of a buddy's Jeep (same year and tranny). Problem solved.

Posting relevant info such as year of your Jeep would help.
The TCM and PCM are separate units on 03-04 autos. 05-06 are all one unit.
__________________
~PNW4WDA~
TJDave is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 08-31-2014, 04:17 PM   #8
Newb
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Posts: 13
I guess you all can tell I'm new at this I am a mail carrier is why i have a rhd. Its a 2003, automatic ,4.0, in line 6 cyl.. 200, 000 miles (transmission is only 3 years old and only has about 60000 miles on it). thanks everyone for the help. I will definately try the pcm. I have been told by one mechanic that his computer pulled up a problem in the trans computer, another says it could be a sensor
sslappey is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 08-31-2014, 05:54 PM   #9
Jeeper
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 2,861
Be very wary swapping a buddy PCM as you can quickly make it never work on you buddies car

If you have sentry key and swap in a buds PCM for a test just three starts and the sentry key module is forever activated and if his jeep lacks sentry key you bricked it and it will only run for one minute then shit down in his non sentry key vehicle
Digger84 is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 08-31-2014, 07:19 PM   #10
Newb
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Posts: 13
The vacuum hose has been put back on. I only had it off on the day my motor messed up so I could finish delivering my mail route. I have rebuilt motor and while i had that being done, i went ahead and had a cooling system installed. Man! The tcm is expensive!! Thank goodness my parents have a jeep that messed up and the parts will work for my jeep. I will let you all know how the tcm and pcm works out. Please bare with me as I know, I'm not very good at "car talk". Im a woman in my 20'smso I'm learning. Thanks again to all of you!!
sslappey is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 09-01-2014, 10:08 AM   #11
Jeeper
 
jgorm's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: San Diego
Posts: 1,923
I dont understand how removing the vacuum line would help the engine run. I would replace that and see how the transmission responds. I suspect they are related.
__________________
my 06 LJ rubicon
2.5" SL, 1" BL, DIY highline, 35s with double beadlocks.
jgorm is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 09-01-2014, 04:26 PM   #12
Newb
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Posts: 13
So if I get the tcm pcm from a salvage yard how do i know which jeeps have sentry keys in them and which ones dont? Did they only put them in certain years or just randomly?
sslappey is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 09-01-2014, 05:06 PM   #13
Jeeper
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 2,861
Option late 98 on

If steering column is intact you could look for the coil receiver module around key cylinder otherwise no way to tell as it is in all PCM but only activated when it sees the reciever module in column and once activated cannot be deactivated
Digger84 is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 09-01-2014, 06:20 PM   #14
Newb
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Posts: 13
I'm not really sure of all the mechanical terms to explain, but before I replaced my motor, something about the pistons and not getting resistance. When we had the intake on, the motor would stall out. I only had the vacuum intake off for one day so my jeep would run long enough for me to finish delivering mail that day. I have since replaced the motor so it has been back on.
I will look at the coil reciever module and see if I can figure it out. What about the coil reciever module tells me it does or doesn't have the sentry key. I'm not mechanical, at all. Sorry
sslappey is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 09-12-2014, 01:44 PM   #15
Newb
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Posts: 13
Hey I uad my jeep diagnosed and 8t was the tcm and in limp mode. Od 123.00 for diagnosis, 314.00 for tcm (from Chrysler) and 123.00 to flash it. Not bad, much better than a transmission cost! I also found a great jeep salvage yard called salvage jeeps in statesboro ga. They told me never to buy computers or anything related at a parts store bc they won't last like the the actual chrysler parts. Also told je about a place in miami fl called solo electonics. They rebuild electronics for alltypes of cars and have warranty. Thank you all for taking the time to help me, I would have put a transmission in my jeep had you all not been there to help me. So thanks again and until next time good luck with yours
Stephanie

sslappey is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Jeep Wrangler Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off




Download our Mobile App

» Network Links
»Jeep Parts
» Featured Product

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:41 AM.



Jeep®, Wrangler, Liberty, Wagoneer, Cherokee, and Grand Cherokee are copyrighted and trademarked to Chrysler Motors LLC.
Wranglerforum.com is not in any way associated with the Chrysler Motors LLC