oil preasure warning - Jeep Wrangler Forum
Jeep Wrangler Forum

Go Back   Jeep Wrangler Forum > TJ Jeep Wrangler Forum > TJ Tech Forum

Join Wrangler Forum Today


Reply
 
Thread Tools

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on WranglerForum.com
Old 01-21-2014, 10:53 AM   #1
Newb
 
Hillbilly06's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 9
oil preasure warning

ok stopped at a gas station an shut jeep off went in. when i came back out an started it warning beep an no oil preasure . shut it off , restarted an all is good... causes?

Hillbilly06 is offline   Quote
Old 01-21-2014, 11:34 AM   #2
ExtremeTerrain.com Sponsoring Vendor
 
XTRyan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Malvern, PA
Posts: 4,068
Quote:
Originally Posted by Hillbilly06 View Post
ok stopped at a gas station an shut jeep off went in. when i came back out an started it warning beep an no oil preasure . shut it off , restarted an all is good... causes?
The oil pressure sensor could be going bad. I would check all the connections first. You can clean them up and lube them with Dielectric grease. If you end up having the problem again, you could replace the sending unit.

Those issues that happen sparatically are hard to trouble shoot, but you did the right thing shutting it down right away. Let me know if you have any questions!

-Ryan

__________________
Ryan H. | ExtremeTerrain.com Off-Road Outfitters
Toll Free: 800-988-4605 | Mon-Fri 10AM-6PM EST
Free Shipping on Orders Over $75!
EARN UP TO $200 TOWARD YOUR NEXT PURCHASE!
PM me for our WranglerForum Discount Code (must have 25 posts) or Price-Matching!
WIN a Trip to Wheel the Rubicon Trail!
XTRyan is offline   Quote
Old 01-21-2014, 11:37 AM   #3
Knows a couple things...

WF Supporting Member
 
Jerry Bransford's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Escondido, Calif.
Posts: 35,291
Images: 2
X2, likely a defective oil pressure sender which is a common issue for TJs. If you decide to replace it, I'd get a Mopar replacement from the dealer and not the local chain auto parts store. It took three different oil pressure senders from Autozone one Sunday when the dealer wasn't open to get one that finally worked correctly on my son's Jeep.
__________________
When you have a choice, buy American.

Jerry Bransford is offline   Quote
Old 01-21-2014, 12:18 PM   #4
Jeeper
 
Snacktical's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Washington State
Posts: 83
X3, just had this issue myself. An easy fix and follow Jerry's advice of picking up a MOPAR sensor.
__________________
"Rectum? Damn near killed him!"
Snacktical is offline   Quote
Old 01-21-2014, 12:18 PM   #5
Jeeper
 
Blackhawk36's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 572
The good news is that your oil pressure is fine. Definitely something in the pressure sensing/display circuit. Hopefully (and most likely) the pressure sensor referenced above.
Blackhawk36 is offline   Quote
Old 01-22-2014, 06:39 PM   #6
Jeeper
 
IcarusLSC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 756
Mine does that too at times, I have a new sensor sitting here, just been to cold and lazy to do it

Do you lose any oil when you pull it?
__________________
Ϣr
IcarusLSC is offline   Quote
Old 01-22-2014, 07:57 PM   #7
jkp
Jeeper
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Warner Robins, GA
Posts: 508
Not as long as it isn't running...
__________________
'92 Islander
'06 Rubicon
jkp is offline   Quote
Old 01-23-2014, 06:26 AM   #8
Jeeper
 
Snacktical's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Washington State
Posts: 83
Icarus-I've heard about a drop at the most (if not running, do NOT have it running), just place a rag underneath to catch if necessary. The whole swap took me about 10 minutes overall. The key is to take your time and not wrench on the harness plug when removing.
Get yourself a nice 11 1/16th deep-well socket (at any chain store) and a 1/2" ratchet. The guy at the store I went to suggested I could get it out with a crescent wrench, but I highly suggest the ratchet as you can get a nice, secure grip on it for removal and re-install.
I do not have an A/C unit on my TJ and was able to take care of business from up top, I've heard and read to attempt from underneath otherwise (food for thought).
Again, when in doubt take your time and make sure you do not cross thread the new sensor. Doing this (as with everything else you screw onto your engine block)=bad times
__________________
"Rectum? Damn near killed him!"
Snacktical is offline   Quote
Old 01-23-2014, 11:46 PM   #9
Jeeper
 
IcarusLSC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 756
Thanks for the info Snacktical and jkp I'll have to do this soon, but been < -25*C with the wind or so that past bit. I want it to warm up so I can complain about the humidity, lol
__________________
Ϣr
IcarusLSC is offline   Quote
Old 02-02-2014, 09:12 PM   #10
Jeeper
 
causestosin's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: N/A
Posts: 16
I had the same issue, like jerry said get it at the dealership, advance zone gave me two bad ones. I used a crescent wrench and it took a bit longer, but alls well.

__________________
if you think your smart, think twice to be smarter.
causestosin is offline   Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off




Download our Mobile App

» Featured Product

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:41 AM.


User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging v3.1.0 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2015 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.

Jeep, Wrangler, Liberty, Wagoneer, Cherokee, and Grand Cherokee are copyrighted and trademarked to Chrysler Motors LLC.
Wranglerforum.com is not in any way associated with the Chrysler Motors LLC