ok i think its my..... - Jeep Wrangler Forum
Jeep Wrangler Forum

Go Back   Jeep Wrangler Forum > TJ Jeep Wrangler Forum > TJ Tech Forum

Join Wrangler Forum Today


Reply
 
Thread Tools

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on WranglerForum.com
Old 02-08-2014, 08:58 PM   #1
Supporting Member

WF Supporting Member
 
Frankenbarry's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: Salem, Oregon
Posts: 150
ok i think its my.....

Ok I believe my torque converter completely died. I know it is related to my torque converter because it started dying when I would put in reverse. Now when I come to a complete stop she dies and no matter what gear I am in. She wont start even from neutral. Fluid level is good. Am I correct on this? I know it is a simple fix (for a mechanic). Stranded four hundred miles from home doing this on my smartphone.

Frankenbarry is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 02-08-2014, 10:01 PM   #2
Jeeper
 
harryhood's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Posts: 244
Would it stall if you put it in neutral and came to a stop? If so it doesn't sound like a TC. When the trans is in neutral the TC being locked up would not stall the engine.

harryhood is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 02-08-2014, 10:16 PM   #3
Supporting Member

WF Supporting Member
 
Frankenbarry's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: Salem, Oregon
Posts: 150
Didnt try that now it wont even start. Turns over like it wants to start but doesnt. Twice while coming to a stop it died and was hell to get started again. Stranded 400 miles from home.
Frankenbarry is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 02-09-2014, 07:55 AM   #4
Supporting Member

WF Supporting Member
 
Frankenbarry's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: Salem, Oregon
Posts: 150
Ok so as to update this.
Went from simple dying while putting it in reverse, like almost as soon as I pit it in reverse. All other forward gears fine and zero noise. Then after a bit of driving it didnt want to start so I got it started in neutral and drove just fine. Right down I5 no noises wierd shifts or anything. Then we pulled off for gas and nothing. She wants to start but wont.
Frankenbarry is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 02-09-2014, 09:33 AM   #5
Supporting Member

WF Supporting Member
 
Frankenbarry's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: Salem, Oregon
Posts: 150
Need help Asap on this please
Frankenbarry is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 02-09-2014, 09:44 AM   #6
Jeeper
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 2,421
May not be tranny tc related can be a failing or failed FPR / fuel pump check the fuel rail pressure with key on
Digger84 is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 02-09-2014, 09:48 AM   #7
Supporting Member

WF Supporting Member
 
Frankenbarry's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: Salem, Oregon
Posts: 150
I have no idea how to do this and what is a fpr? Rail I assume is under the vehicle?
Frankenbarry is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 02-09-2014, 09:53 AM   #8
Jeeper
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 2,421
Nope FPR is fuel pressure regulator it is inside gas tank as is the fuel pump

The fuel rail is on driver side top of engine and all the fuel injectors are clipped to it

Rail pressure should be about 50 psi

If you are lucky the rail has a cap over a port that looks like the stem where you put air in your tires

If you have that port you just remove the cap screw on the hose from a fuel pressure gauge turn on the key and observe the reading
Digger84 is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 02-09-2014, 10:00 AM   #9
Supporting Member

WF Supporting Member
 
Frankenbarry's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: Salem, Oregon
Posts: 150
Ok if it is a fuel pump about what would be a average cost at the mechanics?

On a second note would my torque converter being bad prevent the Jeep from starting? That is over my head knowledge lol. Its in a parking lot in BFE
Frankenbarry is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 02-09-2014, 10:54 AM   #10
Supporting Member

WF Supporting Member
 
Frankenbarry's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: Salem, Oregon
Posts: 150
As well can I access the fuel pump without dropping the tank?
Frankenbarry is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 02-09-2014, 11:13 AM   #11
Supporting Member

WF Supporting Member
 
jeepwayoflife's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: California/Montana
Posts: 3,167
Quote:
Originally Posted by Frankenbarry View Post
As well can I access the fuel pump without dropping the tank?
Not unless you cut a hole in the back of the tub and pull it out from the top. Dropping the tank is the easiest way.
__________________
--------------------------------------------------------
jeepwayoflife is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 02-09-2014, 11:29 AM   #12
Supporting Member

WF Supporting Member
 
Frankenbarry's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: Salem, Oregon
Posts: 150
Okay well thats not going to happen as it is in a parking lot. Wife and I have to walk to the parts store here later hoping it is that and not my torque converter.

As well I just got in it after sitting all night and it fired up. Lost now.
Frankenbarry is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 02-09-2014, 12:07 PM   #13
Jeeper
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 2,421
It would really help us narrow the problem with more specifics


When it would not start what would it do
1 turn key and nothing
2 turn key and just a click under the hood
3 turn key and starter turns engine over but abnormally slowly
4 turn key and starter turns engine over normal speed but it just never starts to run on its own
5 starter spins engine and it coughs and sputters but never quite starts
Digger84 is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 02-09-2014, 12:10 PM   #14
Supporting Member

WF Supporting Member
 
Frankenbarry's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: Salem, Oregon
Posts: 150
Ok was told by a somewhat knowledable person that it is not. The fuel pump or Torque Converter. I was told it is a computer issue with the vehicle.

The symptoms mentioned below only occur after vehicle has been running for 30 plus minutes or so. Forgot to mention in the stress of being in BFE
Frankenbarry is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 02-09-2014, 12:18 PM   #15
Supporting Member

WF Supporting Member
 
Frankenbarry's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: Salem, Oregon
Posts: 150
Quote:
Originally Posted by Digger84 View Post
It would really help us narrow the problem with more specifics

When it would not start what would it do
1 turn key and nothing
2 turn key and just a click under the hood
3 turn key and starter turns engine over but abnormally slowly
4 turn key and starter turns engine over normal speed but it just never starts to run on its own
5 starter spins engine and it coughs and sputters but never quite starts
Sorry cranked like she was going to fire up but just wouldnt run on own like number 4
Frankenbarry is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 02-09-2014, 01:03 PM   #16
Supporting Member

WF Supporting Member
 
Frankenbarry's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: Salem, Oregon
Posts: 150
I am not going to continue home on road trip as I am starting to think its electrical and have two mountain passes to go over as well. I dont get the start cold but die and not restart warm.
Frankenbarry is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 02-09-2014, 02:25 PM   #17
Jeeper
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 2,421
The not starting is not a tranny or TC issue

High on list are

Fuel pump / FPR. So check rail pressure!!!

Crank angle sensor

Bad fuel

Coil pack or connection to it

With what I have heard so far computer aka power train control module or PCM is not on my probable cause list but it would be a high price/ mark up item for a shop to start with
Digger84 is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 02-10-2014, 01:07 PM   #18
Supporting Member

WF Supporting Member
 
Frankenbarry's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: Salem, Oregon
Posts: 150
Sorry about the length of time to respond I had no signal or internet. Now in tow to shop. This A.M. it started up ran for 30 seconds and died with a first time strong smell of fuel. I am getting zero codes as well. Is a cojl pack part of the distributor connections?.1999 is my year.
Frankenbarry is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 02-10-2014, 05:26 PM   #19
Jeeper
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 2,421
Nope if has distributor has single coil instead of coil pack

If pre 2000 4.0 with distributor easy to pull a plug wire and crank and test for spark
Digger84 is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 02-10-2014, 05:31 PM   #20
Supporting Member

WF Supporting Member
 
Frankenbarry's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: Salem, Oregon
Posts: 150
Mechanic found a spring loaded piece of distributor / rotor broken. Needed new coil cap and rotor. I apprecitate all of your patience and posts as this has been quite the experience of being stranded lol. My hair has lost a shade of color and I spent all of my allowance from the wife 2014. LMAO
Frankenbarry is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 02-10-2014, 05:44 PM   #21
Supporting Member

WF Supporting Member
 
Frankenbarry's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: Salem, Oregon
Posts: 150
It has fire now but not all the time fires up runs a few seconds and stops. Need a priest holy water and maybe a winning lottery ticket. Also when gas is revved check engine light comes on and off with it.
Frankenbarry is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 02-10-2014, 06:21 PM   #22
Jeeper
 
CTX-Ross's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 502
Quote:
Originally Posted by Frankenbarry View Post
It has fire now but not all the time fires up runs a few seconds and stops. Need a priest holy water and maybe a winning lottery ticket. Also when gas is revved check engine light comes on and off with it.
Is the jeep throwing any codes?
CTX-Ross is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 02-11-2014, 09:32 AM   #23
Supporting Member

WF Supporting Member
 
Frankenbarry's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: Salem, Oregon
Posts: 150
No we found the ECM/PCM is not giving any rpm codes and all monitors are just flashing when the scanner is plugged in. We believe now it is the actual computer. Scanner intermittanly communicates with PCM but more not than does.
Frankenbarry is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 02-11-2014, 12:16 PM   #24
Jeeper
 
CTX-Ross's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 502
Quote:
Originally Posted by Frankenbarry View Post
No we found the ECM/PCM is not giving any rpm codes and all monitors are just flashing when the scanner is plugged in. We believe now it is the actual computer. Scanner intermittanly communicates with PCM but more not than does.
sounds like computer to me
CTX-Ross is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 02-11-2014, 12:53 PM   #25
Supporting Member

WF Supporting Member
 
Frankenbarry's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: Salem, Oregon
Posts: 150
Yup have one on order to be here by Friday from carcomputerexchange.com - fingers crossed.
Frankenbarry is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 02-18-2014, 05:02 PM   #26
Supporting Member

WF Supporting Member
 
Frankenbarry's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: Salem, Oregon
Posts: 150
Ok so now desparation setting in here feeling pretty devastated. New computer and still will not start. No codes and scanner registers no rpm data. Crank shaft position sensor? Is there an rpm sensor? Remember its a 1999.4.0l automatic. Just had to ride greyhound 9 hours to get back to Jeep whjch is sitting in mechanics yard in Redding CA. IT TURNS OVER WITH NO FIRE AT ALL!!!!!!
Frankenbarry is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 02-18-2014, 05:27 PM   #27
Jeeper
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 2,421
I told you not to just buy a new computer back to basics

Does it crank over?

Does it have spark?

What is the fuel rail pressure?

Are the injectors clicking?

Throwing parts and hoping is way too expensive for a cheep guy like me
Digger84 is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 02-18-2014, 05:32 PM   #28
Supporting Member

WF Supporting Member
 
Frankenbarry's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: Salem, Oregon
Posts: 150
Crank yes
Spark No
Full pressure 46 - 49
Injectors yes clicking
Frankenbarry is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 02-18-2014, 06:21 PM   #29
Jeeper
 
IrateDonnie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Belleview
Posts: 171
I had a 4.0 xj that did this after an engine swap, my problem was a bad CPS.
IrateDonnie is online now   Quote Quick Reply
Old 02-18-2014, 06:36 PM   #30
Supporting Member

WF Supporting Member
 
Frankenbarry's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: Salem, Oregon
Posts: 150
Had one swapped it and nada

Frankenbarry is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Jeep Wrangler Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off




» Featured Product

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:44 PM.



Jeep®, Wrangler, Liberty, Wagoneer, Cherokee, and Grand Cherokee are copyrighted and trademarked to Chrysler Motors LLC.
Wranglerforum.com is not in any way associated with the Chrysler Motors LLC