Problems with dashboard gauges - Jeep Wrangler Forum

Go Back   Jeep Wrangler Forum > TJ Jeep Wrangler Forum > TJ Tech Forum

Join Wrangler Forum Today


Reply
 
Thread Tools

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on WranglerForum.com
Old 08-02-2009, 07:24 AM   #1
Newb
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 1
Problems with dashboard gauges

I own a 2000 Jeep Wrangler 4.0. I have had it for about 5 years but recently I have been having problems with the gauges on the dash shutting off. I can be driving along normally and they will all shut off just as if the ignition was turned off. It started out only doing this every now and then but has gotten to where it is happening more often. When it does this there is no change in the how it reacts or how the engine runs. Only difference is it will not read speed, temp, oil pressure ect... I can lightly tap on the dash cluster and they will start to function normally again. Also sometimes when it does this the display on the dash where the mileage is will say, "no bus" (I have no idea what that would mean). I have been told everything from having a short in the wire to needing a new dash cluster. I am wondering if anyone else has had a problem like this and if so how did you fix it? Any info at all would be greatly appreciated. Thanks..

wrangler41701 is offline   Quote
Old 08-02-2009, 07:38 AM   #2
I am JD and it's My Dream

WF Supporting Member
::WF Administrator::
 
JDsDream's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: The Peach State
Posts: 27,939
I see that this is your 1st post, so Welcome to the Forum. There are several threads relating to your problem. If you can't find the info you need, just hang around and I'm sure your question will be answered.

__________________
The kind of woman that when my feet hit the floor each morning the devil says "Oh Crap, She's up!"

To All Of Our Forum Veterans and Active Service Members.
Our Debt To You Is Greater Than We Could Ever Repay.
Thank You

Become a Supporting Member!
JDsDream is offline   Quote
Old 08-02-2009, 05:42 PM   #3
Jeeper
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Balt, Md.
Posts: 15
it is somewhat of a common problem. the harnesses to the inst. panel are coming loose. all that is needed is to unscrew the custer and make sure the plugs are pressed together tightly. really easy fix. i placed "shims" behind the harness bracket and haven't had a problem since. been about 4 years. get back to me if you need to. chewy
chewy is offline   Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
how to fix all vacume problems and how to locate the problems. Captaincoop1220 YJ Tech Forum 50 02-23-2013 12:19 PM
CJ-5 electrical problems The Ole Fart CJ Tech Forum 3 09-07-2009 08:55 PM
CJ7 dashboard...& more.. Blide YJ General Discussion Forum 12 03-16-2008 12:57 PM
Gauges zpratt4 TJ General Discussion Forum 3 09-20-2007 06:51 AM



Download our Mobile App

» Featured Product

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:14 AM.


User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging v3.1.0 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2015 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.

Jeep®, Wrangler, Liberty, Wagoneer, Cherokee, and Grand Cherokee are copyrighted and trademarked to Chrysler Motors LLC.
Wranglerforum.com is not in any way associated with the Chrysler Motors LLC