Question on replacing sway bar link - Jeep Wrangler Forum

Go Back   Jeep Wrangler Forum > TJ Jeep Wrangler Forum > TJ Tech Forum

Join Wrangler Forum Today

Thread Tools

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on
Old 12-03-2009, 05:28 PM   #1
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 16
Question on replacing sway bar link

1st of all, I have an 04 X. I just found out I have a broken front sway bar link on the drivers side. OK, no biggie, looks pretty easy to replace. I head over to Quadratec to find the replacement sway bar link and i see that they rated the jobs difficulty as "experts only." What am I missing? Am i going to tear it apart only to realize I cant do it?

CJ'sTJ is offline   Quote
Old 12-03-2009, 05:58 PM   #2
BomberJeep's Avatar
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Va Beach
Posts: 17
Send a message via AIM to BomberJeep Send a message via Yahoo to BomberJeep
You shouldnt have a hard time with it. You could always drive around without the swaybar disconnected and not really hurt anything.

BomberJeep is offline   Quote
Old 12-03-2009, 07:53 PM   #3
Atthehop's Avatar
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: NW, NJ
Posts: 4,034
It's very easy but much easier with a floor jack.
Retired my 94 YJ 4cyl 5spd @ 200K
Now in a 04 TJ 4cyl 5spd CV @120K+
Both as a commuter vehicle in NW, NJ
April 2012.downsized and now a 99er.
Atthehop is offline   Quote
Old 12-03-2009, 08:25 PM   #4
Schmo's Avatar
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: SoCal
Posts: 1,588
Experts only??? Geez I'd guess you'd better be a master mechanic before attempting an oil change then!!! That will be one of the easiest things you'll ever do. If you're not on level ground you might need a jack to get things to line up easily . . . sometimes opening a door or the tailgate is enough.
Bite the hand that feeds you . . . you've had more than enough to eat already.
Schmo is offline   Quote
Old 12-03-2009, 09:33 PM   #5
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 16
thanks for the replies guys. I thought it looked easy but quadratec threw me off with that experts only. Now I just have to decide if I just want the factory replacement or get a quick detach link. I'll probably go the cheap route now just because its only $20.
CJ'sTJ is offline   Quote
Old 12-03-2009, 11:15 PM   #6

WF Supporting Member
Jp90Talon's Avatar
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: CT
Posts: 3,191
#1 Just bite the bullet and go with the JKS discos. IMO well worth it so far.

#2 Do not drive with only one link attached. Trust me it can get down right scary on the highway. Disconnect the 2nd one but still take it easy. Remember they are there for a reason.
Jp90Talon is offline   Quote
Old 12-04-2009, 03:03 AM   #7
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: south jersey
Posts: 501
^yeah, to be removed or broken lol.

350chevrolet is offline   Quote

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Incline -sway bar question shmuel JK General Discussion Forum 0 11-28-2009 06:29 AM
Sway Bar Link Question johnmre TJ General Discussion Forum 3 10-27-2009 02:40 PM
Sway Bar Link? Scooby TJ Tech Forum 15 12-03-2006 02:55 PM

Download our Mobile App

» Featured Product

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:27 PM.

User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging v3.1.0 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2015 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.

Jeep®, Wrangler, Liberty, Wagoneer, Cherokee, and Grand Cherokee are copyrighted and trademarked to Chrysler Motors LLC. is not in any way associated with the Chrysler Motors LLC