Rocker switch won't light up. What did I do wrong??? - Jeep Wrangler Forum
Jeep Wrangler Forum

Go Back   Jeep Wrangler Forum > TJ Jeep Wrangler Forum > TJ Tech Forum

Join Wrangler Forum Today


Reply
 
Thread Tools

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on WranglerForum.com
Old 04-27-2010, 08:50 PM   #1
Jeeper
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 449
Rocker switch won't light up. What did I do wrong???

I have connected both the wires from each fog light to eachother to make one wire and connected it to the switch and one wire to the fuse panal. And one ground... Why won't it illuminate like it says?
It is a contura v series.

97'wrangler is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 04-27-2010, 08:57 PM   #2
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 2,775
Sorry for the basic questions but you didn't specify.

What fuse did you connect too? Always powered, ignition powered?

Is it not lighting when the jeep is off or running? Will it not light when you turn the switch on? Do the fogs come on when you throw the switch?

If you've checked it when the fuse has power and the lights work, either the switch isn't grounded or the light itself is blown.

If something else isn't happening (lights won't come on etc) describe what does and does not work.

stevens243 is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 04-28-2010, 08:25 AM   #3
Jeeper
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 449
The switch works, I turns the fog lights on when he jeep is on and off... It just won't illuminate at all. The car on or off.
I connected it to the fog lamp fuse.
97'wrangler is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 04-28-2010, 08:27 AM   #4
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 2,775
Well, knowing that I believe that either the switch isn't grounded or more likely the light is burnt out.
stevens243 is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 04-28-2010, 12:48 PM   #5
Jeeper
 
erickpl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Alabama
Posts: 2,305
Send a message via AIM to erickpl
This is the wiring for an ARB Contura switch and I think it is the same. Change ARB Solenoid to lighting relay, and you have what you need.

__________________
-Paul

-97 TJ with a few mods. PM with questions.
http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v3...reenjeep2a.jpg
erickpl is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 04-28-2010, 03:39 PM   #6
Jeeper
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 449
I am going to try adding a relay and changing the ground, because i think the ground was in a bad spot to begin with, so i will see how that turns out..
Thanks
97'wrangler is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 04-28-2010, 03:57 PM   #7
Jeeper
 
mrcarcrazy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Midland/Odessa, TX
Posts: 3,549
I use a test light to test grounds (attach one end to a known power source, and touch probe to potential ground. if it glows nicely no worries.).

Saves you from having to take things apart more than once.
__________________
#2 Jeep http://www.wranglerforum.com/f322/99...ld-819418.html
99 Sahara, automatic.
mrcarcrazy is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 04-28-2010, 04:42 PM   #8
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 2,775
Quote:
Originally Posted by 97'wrangler View Post
I am going to try adding a relay and changing the ground, because i think the ground was in a bad spot to begin with, so i will see how that turns out..
Thanks
Wait, you don't have a relay?

Yeah, the light is probably burnt. I don't know what lights or how much wattage they are pulling but do not use them until you get a relay in there or you may find yourself afire.

Use the wiring diagram above! Buy a new switch. I'm sure you'll see some heat damage when you pull it out.
stevens243 is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 04-28-2010, 05:21 PM   #9
Jeeper
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 449
Does it make a difference if I have a soloniod in there or not?
What is the main purpose of it?

Also on the diagram, mine is different, meaning the number 6 is the lower light negitave, number 3 is out going to relay, number 7 is upper light negitive, number 8 port is upper light positive..
Do they mean that the upper light is the upper light on the switch and the lower light on the switch? If so do I need to ground those wire or what?
Sorry for all the stupid questions, I am new at this and my dad Which is an electrician is also a little confused by the upper light and lower light ports on the diagram that came with the switch...
97'wrangler is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 04-28-2010, 07:10 PM   #10
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 2,775
No, you don't need a solenoid. I'll post a better diagram when I get home. That one is specific to that ARB system.

You won't have some of that stuff. And if you have a 3 pole switch, you won't be running to "dash illumination power" either.

From the switch, you'll have power from the fuse block, out to the relay and a ground.

The relay will have a ground, connection from the switch, power and out to the lights.

If you didn't put a relay in you must not have run the lights very long or you used heavy wire to wire everything...
stevens243 is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 04-28-2010, 10:04 PM   #11
Jeeper
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 32
Quote:
Originally Posted by 97'wrangler View Post
Does it make a difference if I have a soloniod in there or not?
What is the main purpose of it?

Also on the diagram, mine is different, meaning the number 6 is the lower light negitave, number 3 is out going to relay, number 7 is upper light negitive, number 8 port is upper light positive..
Do they mean that the upper light is the upper light on the switch and the lower light on the switch? If so do I need to ground those wire or what?
Sorry for all the stupid questions, I am new at this and my dad Which is an electrician is also a little confused by the upper light and lower light ports on the diagram that came with the switch...
If the switch is a V1D1F or V1DAF,
Terminal number 6 and terminal number 7 both need to be grounded.
Terminal number 8 is normally attached into your dash light circuit.
otrattw is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 04-28-2010, 10:42 PM   #12
Jeeper
 
01bud's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: nocal
Posts: 164
Images: 2
solenoid isnt needed.just the relay

01bud is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Jeep Wrangler Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
? Multi-funcion fog light turn signal switch issue. Mudquest TJ General Discussion Forum 6 04-23-2012 08:11 AM
Daystar Rocker Switch fits in stock TJ switch location ryanhewitt TJ General Discussion Forum 1 01-16-2010 10:13 AM
Fog light rocker switch rwhooker JK Tech Forum 1 01-04-2010 03:27 PM
Fog light switch question DANIMAL TJ Tech Forum 18 12-07-2009 05:17 PM
fog light question... Jaydogg25 YJ General Discussion Forum 17 08-05-2009 03:49 PM



» Network Links
»Jeep Parts
» Featured Product

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:41 PM.



Jeep®, Wrangler, Liberty, Wagoneer, Cherokee, and Grand Cherokee are copyrighted and trademarked to Chrysler Motors LLC.
Wranglerforum.com is not in any way associated with the Chrysler Motors LLC