Speedo gear - Jeep Wrangler Forum
Jeep Wrangler Forum

Go Back   Jeep Wrangler Forum > TJ Jeep Wrangler Forum > TJ Tech Forum

Join Wrangler Forum Today


Reply
 
Thread Tools

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on WranglerForum.com
Old 08-08-2006, 04:55 PM   #1
Jeeper
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Champaign, IL
Posts: 87
Speedo gear

I bought a new speedo gear since I went up to 33's. I bought one off of quadratec and when I went to get it installed the mechanic said it was to small and wiggled around. So i returned it and went to the dealer and ourdred another one. Of course it was the same size. I asked about it and they all said that was the right size even though I didnt need it b/c I have to reset the computer. I told them I dont have a rubicon, I have an 05 X and they said that they have computers in them. The manager asked two different mechanics and they both said I have a computer. I couldnt believe the Jeep mechanics didnt know that the rubicon has a computer, not an X. So i dont know who to trust anymore, well actually I only trust you guys now. Anyways, should the 32 tooth speedo gear fit a certain way or do I need to get something else to make it fit since it is smaller than a stock one?

BlueBoy is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 08-08-2006, 05:59 PM   #2
Jack Lives Here!!!

WF Supporting Member
 
1BLKJP's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Phoenix, AZ
Posts: 7,764
The only thing I can think of is that maybe the little rubber o-ring isn't with it that should be to make it fit snugly in it's spot.

__________________
Thanks,
Jack Hickman

President - Arizona Off-Highway Vehicle Coalition
Vice-President - ASA4WDC
Arizona Rock Rats
1BLKJP is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 08-08-2006, 06:03 PM   #3
Jeeper
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Champaign, IL
Posts: 87
The O-Ring was there but didnt help. The stock gear is almost 30-40% bigger. Jeep told me this is the only size they have, just different tooth counts. Whats going on!?!
BlueBoy is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 08-08-2006, 09:30 PM   #4
Jeeper
 
Tdad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: NE Pa.
Posts: 148
Read this page.
Does this look like what you're working with?
Tdad is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 08-08-2006, 10:15 PM   #5
Jeeper
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Champaign, IL
Posts: 87
That sure is. The diameter is smaller than stock.
BlueBoy is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 08-09-2006, 02:28 AM   #6
Jeeper
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Charlotte, NC
Posts: 71
Be sure to check out #9 in the directions posted in the link above. With the sending unit aligned in the proper postion, there should be no problem with the new speedo gear.
__________________
99 TJ, with dents
willness33 is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 08-09-2006, 03:39 PM   #7
Jeeper
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Champaign, IL
Posts: 87
I think I am going to just tackle this myself. If you want something done right, you got to do it yourself. Ill let you guys know how it goes.
BlueBoy is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 08-09-2006, 04:04 PM   #8
Jeeper
 
mrbigjeep's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 4,288
do it...it seems pretty easy and you don't need that many tools and you can use the instructions that the link gave if you don't already know how...let us know how it goes
mrbigjeep is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 08-09-2006, 08:15 PM   #9
Jeeper
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Champaign, IL
Posts: 87
Speedo, HELP!

I put the new speedo gear in myself and everything went smoothly. Except now my speedometer DOESNT MOVE! Due to the decrease in size of the new speedo, its not catching anything. HELP! I followed the instructions to the T.
BlueBoy is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 08-09-2006, 08:51 PM   #10
coilovers are damn flexy
 
bluvikng's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Texas
Posts: 3,260
I am by no means an expert on this subject, but I was under the impression, from some mechanics at Chrysler, that the speed was calibrated by the computer on the newer Wranglers. I do not think it is only the Rubicon that is done that way. From what I was told, they calibrate your tire size, with gear ratio, type of tranny, type of t-case.
bluvikng is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 08-09-2006, 08:59 PM   #11
Jeeper
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Champaign, IL
Posts: 87
Is there a way to figure out if i have a computer? Because 1 said I didnt while 2 said I did. Thanks!
BlueBoy is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 08-09-2006, 09:09 PM   #12
coilovers are damn flexy
 
bluvikng's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Texas
Posts: 3,260
Your whole engine is run by a computer, PCM. Any fuel injected engine has to have a computer. The one I put in my YJ, is a ECM, which just controls engine functions. The newer ones have the PCM's which is, Powertrain control Module. That is how I understand it. The OBDII data link connector, should be under your dash on the drivers side.
bluvikng is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 08-09-2006, 09:20 PM   #13
Jeeper
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Champaign, IL
Posts: 87
Well I got some GOOD news!! I had to twist the case just a tad more than I did. I went back and perfectly lined 26-31 with the raised dot and the speedometer moves!! I was off by a tad before. Except when I took ity out again, quite a bit of fluid came out, not a few drops. Do i need to worry about this? It wasnt anything more than a couple sheets of paper towel could clean up. I am quite excited even though this is one of the easiest things to fix I guess. Thanks for all of your help guys.
BlueBoy is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 08-09-2006, 09:24 PM   #14
coilovers are damn flexy
 
bluvikng's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Texas
Posts: 3,260
That is great........take it for a spin, and see if it works. I would like to know if it can still be manually changed like that.
You can check the level of fluid on the side of the case, by removing the bolt near the top, and seeing if you can touch the fluid with your pinky.
bluvikng is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 08-09-2006, 10:45 PM   #15
Jeeper
 
mrbigjeep's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 4,288
yeah let us know how it works...i too would like to know if it is run by computer or if it is still manual
mrbigjeep is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 08-09-2006, 11:31 PM   #16
Jeeper
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: San Antonio TX
Posts: 185
All cars and trucks have computers. they started using computers in the late 80's if i remember correctly. Like blu said if its got fuel injectors it has a computer. I cant think of a car today that is sold new that doesn't have one!!! this is silly! Someone correct me if im wrong...
Wr@ngler00 is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 08-10-2006, 12:26 AM   #17
coilovers are damn flexy
 
bluvikng's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Texas
Posts: 3,260
The thing that concerns me the most is the fact that you said the speedo gears are different in size. Please check out this web page, you will see the gears are the same size. Also, it is a 98 model TJ. See what you think, BlueBoy.

http://stu-offroad.com/engine/speedo/speed1.htm
bluvikng is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 08-10-2006, 12:30 AM   #18
Jeeper
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Champaign, IL
Posts: 87
The stock speedo gear is bigger than the new one I installed, much bigger. You must twist the case to make sure the tooth count on your speedo matched the range on the casing. So far so good, but I havent taken it on the highway to do the 60 mph test yet.
BlueBoy is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 08-10-2006, 12:35 AM   #19
coilovers are damn flexy
 
bluvikng's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Texas
Posts: 3,260
That is good, just hope it works. Will be good to hear back from you, when you have tested it on the highway.
bluvikng is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 08-11-2006, 04:30 PM   #20
Jack Lives Here!!!

WF Supporting Member
 
1BLKJP's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Phoenix, AZ
Posts: 7,764
Fellas, I believe that it's only the 242 case in the Rubicon model that handles speed calibration by the PCM (I could be wrong, but I don't think so). All 231 cases will have the speedo gear on them. Except mine because I run the Tera ESS SYE and it uses a tone ring now that if I should want to calibrate mine I would have to by a control module from Skyjacker for a hundred bucks (not worth it)

__________________
Thanks,
Jack Hickman

President - Arizona Off-Highway Vehicle Coalition
Vice-President - ASA4WDC
Arizona Rock Rats
1BLKJP is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Jeep Wrangler Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Transfer case speedo gear change USBrit TJ Tech Forum 5 06-10-2008 07:32 PM
Super 44 and new speedo gear juspimpin TJ Tech Forum 4 05-26-2008 10:34 AM
Which speedo gear? nicolas-eric TJ General Discussion Forum 12 10-05-2007 12:57 PM
Speedo gear ? 4point TJ General Discussion Forum 3 05-16-2007 09:26 PM
Speedo Gear DocG2828 TJ General Discussion Forum 3 05-11-2007 03:33 PM



» Network Links
»Jeep Parts
» Featured Product

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:08 AM.



Jeep®, Wrangler, Liberty, Wagoneer, Cherokee, and Grand Cherokee are copyrighted and trademarked to Chrysler Motors LLC.
Wranglerforum.com is not in any way associated with the Chrysler Motors LLC