Stereo and Amp.. Keep blowing Fuse - Jeep Wrangler Forum
Jeep Wrangler Forum

Go Back   Jeep Wrangler Forum > TJ Jeep Wrangler Forum > TJ Tech Forum

Join Wrangler Forum Today


Reply
 
Thread Tools

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on WranglerForum.com
Old 06-26-2013, 04:42 PM   #1
Newb
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Miami FL
Posts: 13
Stereo and Amp.. Keep blowing Fuse

Recently installed a new alpine head unit and amplifier to my 99 tj. Works beautifully. However, once i crank the volume to about 2/3 and try to push any base at the same time, i end up blowing the 10 amp fuse under the hood which also runs all of my gauges in the dash (speedometer, tachometer, fuel, etc). I know the head unit can handle higher amperage than that but if i put a 15 amp fuse in, do i run the risk of frying any of the other gauges?

coreydye is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 06-26-2013, 04:47 PM   #2
Jeeper
 
Baja1's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Oklahoma
Posts: 47
I wouldnt wire an amp like that. You should have an inline fuse straight off the battery to the amp so you dont risk your jeeps stock wiring system.

__________________
Think we can make it...
Baja1 is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 06-26-2013, 05:04 PM   #3
Jeeper
 
SpringRubiconTJ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Spring, TX
Posts: 65
Quote:
Originally Posted by Baja1 View Post
I wouldnt wire an amp like that. You should have an inline fuse straight off the battery to the amp so you dont risk your jeeps stock wiring system.
This +1
SpringRubiconTJ is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 06-26-2013, 06:14 PM   #4
Jeeper
 
Wattapunk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: North TX
Posts: 1,928
Like others have stated, you should always run the amplifier power source straight to battery using a minimum 8-10gauge wire with an inline fuse. You should never under any circumstance replace a recommended fuse with a larger fuse which can result in an electrical short/fire.
Wattapunk is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 06-27-2013, 12:27 PM   #5
Newb
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Miami FL
Posts: 13
great advice. the instructions said to just run the power wire directly from the receiver output but it makes sense that i should just run it straight from the battery w an inline fuse. thanks again.
coreydye is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 06-27-2013, 12:49 PM   #6
Jeeper
 
T2000J's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: PA
Posts: 893
Quote:
Originally Posted by coreydye View Post
great advice. the instructions said to just run the power wire directly from the receiver output but it makes sense that i should just run it straight from the battery w an inline fuse. thanks again.
Should have 2 lines 1 from the radio to amp and 1 bat. to amp (W/inline fuse)
The one to the head unit tells the amp to turn on then the main line from bat. Runs the amp .
__________________


JEEP WRANGLER
T2000J is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 06-27-2013, 12:55 PM   #7
Jeeper
 
BigCrave's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: TN
Posts: 281
The smallest amp Alpine has that fits behind the dash is designed to wire into the factory wiring but it uses a 15amp fuse. The 10amp in your fuse box can't handle that amp and radio combo. Wire the amp power to the battery like the others have stated!
BigCrave is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 06-27-2013, 04:27 PM   #8
Jeeper
 
ebilek231's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: lasalle on.
Posts: 80
Run it with a separate wire comming off positive terminal on batt. The bigger the wire the better and run either a 40amp fuse or 60amp fuse on that power wire the small fuse under the hood connected to ur gauges is not good to run an amp off of your very lucky u only popped the fuse u could of seriously fried somthing
__________________
keep buildin
ebilek231 is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 11-13-2013, 01:06 PM   #9
Newb
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Miami FL
Posts: 13
Ok... FINALLY rewired the AMP directly from the battery but now something strange. My receiver never turns off when I turn my jeep off! I didn't add a relay or switch to my Amp - so the wiring is always live but as long as no signals were coming in from the receiver - it shouldn't be draining any power. All I did was cut the power wire from the wiring harness that was going from the receiver to the Amp and then crimped the half going into the Amp with the wire directly off the battery. I didn't change any of the power wiring that was going to the receiver - so I don't understand why what I did is keeping the radio on. Any ideas????

coreydye is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Jeep Wrangler Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off




Download our Mobile App

» Network Links
»Jeep Parts
» Featured Product

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:46 PM.



Jeep®, Wrangler, Liberty, Wagoneer, Cherokee, and Grand Cherokee are copyrighted and trademarked to Chrysler Motors LLC.
Wranglerforum.com is not in any way associated with the Chrysler Motors LLC