Throttle posistioning sensor. - Jeep Wrangler Forum
Jeep Wrangler Forum

Go Back   Jeep Wrangler Forum > TJ Jeep Wrangler Forum > TJ Tech Forum

Join Wrangler Forum Today


Reply
 
Thread Tools

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on WranglerForum.com
Old 06-15-2012, 03:39 PM   #1
Jeeper
 
BigGreenMachine's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Parker, CO
Posts: 868
Throttle posistioning sensor.

Where is it located? I think that's why my jeep is chugging. The fault it's throwing is tps high voltage.

BigGreenMachine is online now   Quote Quick Reply
Old 06-15-2012, 03:59 PM   #2
Jeeper
 
Mom sold the Jeepster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Cincinnati
Posts: 247
Firewall side of the throttle body. I got 2 from qtech that didn't work and a good part at the local parts store
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	image-2982222407.jpg
Views:	125
Size:	126.8 KB
ID:	132188  

Mom sold the Jeepster is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 06-15-2012, 04:28 PM   #3
Jeeper
 
BigGreenMachine's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Parker, CO
Posts: 868
Thanks man.
BigGreenMachine is online now   Quote Quick Reply
Old 06-15-2012, 04:41 PM   #4
Jeeper
 
BigGreenMachine's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Parker, CO
Posts: 868
Is it adjustable or do I just have to replace it.
BigGreenMachine is online now   Quote Quick Reply
Old 06-15-2012, 05:12 PM   #5
Jeeper
 
Mom sold the Jeepster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Cincinnati
Posts: 247
Your mailbox is full...you have to replace it there is no adjustment. You'll need a good #20 torx bit to get the two torx screws off. Make sure to depress the tab at the end of the wire harness connector after you slide the red tab back to get the connector off without breaking the lock tab that holds it on. It's best to do it with the hood all the way back to the windshield and when the engine isn't so hot.
Mom sold the Jeepster is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 06-15-2012, 05:30 PM   #6
Jeeper
 
staud11's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: san antonio
Posts: 258
My buddy just replaced his about 2 hours ago and said he can tell a big difference in power.
staud11 is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 06-15-2012, 05:34 PM   #7
Jeeper
 
Mom sold the Jeepster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Cincinnati
Posts: 247
Changes ye ole MPGs a bit too
Mom sold the Jeepster is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 06-16-2012, 04:38 PM   #8
Jeeper
 
BigGreenMachine's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Parker, CO
Posts: 868
I replaced it and Jeep was running a lot smoother, even noticed a power difference and chugging went away. I reset the check engine light (it was showing the fault tps high voltage). Well this morning the check engine light is on and it's back to chugging although not as often. I feel like I lost the power gain I had too. Any suggestions?
BigGreenMachine is online now   Quote Quick Reply
Old 06-16-2012, 08:55 PM   #9
Jeeper
 
Mom sold the Jeepster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Cincinnati
Posts: 247
I had to replace the replacement 3 times, did the engine fault come back?
Mom sold the Jeepster is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 06-16-2012, 08:59 PM   #10
Jeeper
 
BigGreenMachine's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Parker, CO
Posts: 868
Yes.
BigGreenMachine is online now   Quote Quick Reply
Old 06-17-2012, 10:15 AM   #11
Jeeper
 
Mom sold the Jeepster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Cincinnati
Posts: 247
I'd take the part back and get a new one
Mom sold the Jeepster is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 06-20-2012, 07:07 PM   #12
Jeeper
 
BigGreenMachine's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Parker, CO
Posts: 868
Still having same problem!
BigGreenMachine is online now   Quote Quick Reply
Old 06-20-2012, 07:40 PM   #13
Jeeper
 
Atthehop's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: NW, NJ
Posts: 3,828
Are you buying OEM?
__________________
Retired my 94 YJ 4cyl 5spd @ 200K
Now in a 04 TJ 4cyl 5spd CV @120K+
Both as a commuter vehicle in NW, NJ
April 2012.downsized and now a 99er.
Atthehop is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 06-20-2012, 08:05 PM   #14
Jeeper
 
BigGreenMachine's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Parker, CO
Posts: 868
Yes! From autozone.
BigGreenMachine is online now   Quote Quick Reply
Old 06-20-2012, 08:12 PM   #15
Jeeper
 
Atthehop's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: NW, NJ
Posts: 3,828
OEM means from the dealer. Aftermarket, autozone etc., are not very reliable.
__________________
Retired my 94 YJ 4cyl 5spd @ 200K
Now in a 04 TJ 4cyl 5spd CV @120K+
Both as a commuter vehicle in NW, NJ
April 2012.downsized and now a 99er.
Atthehop is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 06-20-2012, 08:36 PM   #16
Jeeper
 
jeepdude2003's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 230
I bought one from
jeepdude2003 is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 06-20-2012, 08:36 PM   #17
Jeeper
 
jeepdude2003's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 230
I bought one from o'reillys and its been good to me for over a year and half so far
jeepdude2003 is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 06-20-2012, 08:54 PM   #18
Jeeper
 
BigGreenMachine's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Parker, CO
Posts: 868
It's still mopar.... Isn't that oem?
BigGreenMachine is online now   Quote Quick Reply
Old 06-20-2012, 09:01 PM   #19
Jeeper
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: 08809
Posts: 144
Just picked mine up from Napa. The guys at my Napa are great! After a bit of searching, we discovered my IAC
Mctim35 is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 06-20-2012, 09:02 PM   #20
Jeeper
 
BigGreenMachine's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Parker, CO
Posts: 868
And i meant advance auto parts not autozone. Not that it matters but I despise autozone.
BigGreenMachine is online now   Quote Quick Reply
Old 06-20-2012, 09:02 PM   #21
Jeeper
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: 08809
Posts: 144
is from a Cherokee.
Mctim35 is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 06-20-2012, 09:02 PM   #22
Jeeper
 
BigGreenMachine's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Parker, CO
Posts: 868
Quote:
Originally Posted by mctim35
just picked mine up from napa. The guys at my napa are great! After a bit of searching, we discovered my iac
iac?
BigGreenMachine is online now   Quote Quick Reply
Old 06-21-2012, 03:26 PM   #23
Jeeper
 
BigGreenMachine's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Parker, CO
Posts: 868
Anyone?
BigGreenMachine is online now   Quote Quick Reply
Old 06-21-2012, 04:23 PM   #24
Jeeper
 
Mom sold the Jeepster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Cincinnati
Posts: 247
Idle air control, there are a lot of threads, but I've never done anything with it. Its right next to the TPS. Are you getting the same engine code ? Did any of the vacuum lines get knocked loose? What happens if you put the original back in?
Mom sold the Jeepster is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 06-21-2012, 08:44 PM   #25
Jeeper
 
BigGreenMachine's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Parker, CO
Posts: 868
I am getting the same code, I'm pretty sure no vacuum lines are loose and idk about putting the old one in, I haven't tried it.
BigGreenMachine is online now   Quote Quick Reply
Old 06-21-2012, 09:03 PM   #26
Jeeper
 
RUBI 4 MY MRS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: California/Nevada
Posts: 1,271
Since its telling you high voltage, why don't you check the voltage? Here is from the FSM

THROTTLE POSITION SENSOR (TPS)—PCM
INPUT
The TPS is mounted on the throttle body (Fig. 7).
The TPS is a variable resistor that provides the Powertrain
Control Module (PCM) with an input signal
(voltage) that represents throttle blade position. The
sensor is connected to the throttle blade shaft. As the
position of the throttle blade changes, the resistance
of the TPS changes.
The PCM supplies approximately 5 volts to the
TPS. The TPS output voltage (input signal to the
PCM) represents the throttle blade position. The
PCM receives an input signal voltage from the TPS.
This will vary in an approximate range of from .26
volts at minimum throttle opening (idle), to 4.49 volts
at wide open throttle. Along with inputs from other
sensors, the PCM uses the TPS input to determine
current engine operating conditions. In response to
engine operating conditions, the PCM will adjust fuel
injector pulse width and ignition timing.

Also:

The TPS can be tested with a digital voltmeter.
The center terminal of the TPS is the output terminal.
With the ignition key in the ON position, check the
TPS output voltage at the center terminal wire of the
connector. Check this at idle (throttle plate closed)
and at Wide Open Throttle (WOT). At idle, TPS output
voltage should be greater than .26 volts but less
than .95 volts. At wide open throttle, TPS output
voltage must be less than 4.49 volts. The output voltage
should increase gradually as the throttle plate is
slowly opened from idle to WOT.
__________________


'05 Rubi TJ Unlimited
'93 Toyota 4Runner
RUBI 4 MY MRS is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 06-22-2012, 01:06 AM   #27
Jeeper
 
reissigree's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 517
MAKE SURE you put it on the right way. When I put mine on, I had it on backwards. It still ran, but it was still rough. Putting it on from the counter clockwise side (or visa-versa) Made all the difference.
reissigree is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 06-22-2012, 05:47 AM   #28
Jeeper
 
BigGreenMachine's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Parker, CO
Posts: 868
Quote:
Originally Posted by reissigree
MAKE SURE you put it on the right way. When I put mine on, I had it on backwards. It still ran, but it was still rough. Putting it on from the counter clockwise side (or visa-versa) Made all the difference.
There is only 2 ways to put it on isnt there?
BigGreenMachine is online now   Quote Quick Reply
Old 06-22-2012, 05:55 AM   #29
Jeeper
 
BigGreenMachine's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Parker, CO
Posts: 868
It looks right to me.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	image-3297823182.jpg
Views:	71
Size:	90.9 KB
ID:	134261  
BigGreenMachine is online now   Quote Quick Reply
Old 06-22-2012, 05:57 AM   #30
Jeeper
 
BigGreenMachine's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Parker, CO
Posts: 868
Quote:
Originally Posted by RUBI 4 MY MRS
Since its telling you high voltage, why don't you check the voltage? Here is from the FSM

THROTTLE POSITION SENSOR (TPS)—PCM
INPUT
The TPS is mounted on the throttle body (Fig. 7).
The TPS is a variable resistor that provides the Powertrain
Control Module (PCM) with an input signal
(voltage) that represents throttle blade position. The
sensor is connected to the throttle blade shaft. As the
position of the throttle blade changes, the resistance
of the TPS changes.
The PCM supplies approximately 5 volts to the
TPS. The TPS output voltage (input signal to the
PCM) represents the throttle blade position. The
PCM receives an input signal voltage from the TPS.
This will vary in an approximate range of from .26
volts at minimum throttle opening (idle), to 4.49 volts
at wide open throttle. Along with inputs from other
sensors, the PCM uses the TPS input to determine
current engine operating conditions. In response to
engine operating conditions, the PCM will adjust fuel
injector pulse width and ignition timing.

Also:

The TPS can be tested with a digital voltmeter.
The center terminal of the TPS is the output terminal.
With the ignition key in the ON position, check the
TPS output voltage at the center terminal wire of the
connector. Check this at idle (throttle plate closed)
and at Wide Open Throttle (WOT). At idle, TPS output
voltage should be greater than .26 volts but less
than .95 volts. At wide open throttle, TPS output
voltage must be less than 4.49 volts. The output voltage
should increase gradually as the throttle plate is
slowly opened from idle to WOT.
Thanks for the write up. Am I checking the voltage on the connector while it's disconnected from the tps or the voltage on the tps while it's mounted into the throttle body? Also better safe then sorry, am I checking ac or dc? And doesn't it matter where I ground the negative terminal?

BigGreenMachine is online now   Quote Quick Reply
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Jeep Wrangler Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off




» Network Links
»Jeep Parts
» Featured Product

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:49 PM.



Jeep®, Wrangler, Liberty, Wagoneer, Cherokee, and Grand Cherokee are copyrighted and trademarked to Chrysler Motors LLC.
Wranglerforum.com is not in any way associated with the Chrysler Motors LLC