throttle position cable / sensor - Jeep Wrangler Forum
Jeep Wrangler Forum

Go Back   Jeep Wrangler Forum > TJ Jeep Wrangler Forum > TJ Tech Forum

Join Wrangler Forum Today


Reply
 
Thread Tools

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on WranglerForum.com
Old 10-03-2010, 08:42 AM   #1
Jeeper
 
BCowley's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Jessup PA
Posts: 58
throttle position cable / sensor

I did a search nothing returned, so don't shoot if I missed something.

02 4.0 with roughly 65k, all stock. A few weeks ago my check engine light came on, being mechanically inclined I stopped by autozone had them scan and was told it was the throttle position cable or sensor, got the impression he didn't know much either.

Lights been on and off since then, no noticable problems.

Yesterday going about 75 on highway, felt a slight "cutout" then back to normal, lights been on since.

Would appreciate any advice before heading back to autozone.

Thanks!

Brian

BCowley is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 10-03-2010, 08:53 AM   #2
Jeeper
 
meyers's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Dover, New Hampshire
Posts: 738
Sounds like it could be the TPS best bet is to check it with multimeter.. Here is a how to on it.. Good Luck

How to Diagnose a Jeep Throttle Position Sensor | eHow.com

meyers is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 10-03-2010, 11:36 AM   #3
Knows a couple things...

WF Supporting Member
 
Jerry Bransford's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Escondido, Calif.
Posts: 29,185
Images: 2
The throttle position sensor is what tells the computer the position of the accelerator pedal... or more accurately, the position of the butterfly valve plate on top of the throttle body that is opened by stepping on the accelerator pedal. The computer uses that information to help manage the engine's timing, air fuel mixture, etc.

The TPS gets dirty inside from normal wear and when it gets dirty, it starts sending out eratic signals to the computer which can cause idle or acceleration problems, as well as lighting the Check Engine light. The TPS is only held onto the throttle body with two small torx-head bolts, it is easily changed.
__________________
When you have a choice, buy American.

Jerry Bransford is online now   Quote Quick Reply
Old 10-03-2010, 01:36 PM   #4
Show Me Your 8008135!

WF Supporting Member
 
s3nt3nc3d's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Piqua, OH
Posts: 3,643
Send a message via AIM to s3nt3nc3d
Also...replace it with a dealership sensor not a cheaper sensor from places like Autozone, Advance Auto, etc. The cheaper sensors are frequently found to be quirky because while they are designed to "work" on our vehicles they are not designed to work PROPERLY.

You can get one from a dealership for around $50-60...that's most likely what your problem is too. Mine used to be really jerky in between shifts...no matter how smoothly I clutched it, it would buck and stuff. Then one day I was cruising and it jerked a couple times and lit up my CEL. Pulled the code and it was a TPS code. Replaced TPS and cleared the code (it'll clear on its own after about a day or two of normal operation without any TPS problems) and it never came back...but I found out that my shifts were suddenly smooth as butter compared to how they were before I replaced it. It just took 8 MONTHS before it finally illuminated the light telling me I had a problem. I had just figured I sucked with a stick shift. lol
__________________
"We don't build great brakes because we think you don't know how to drive, we build them for the guy on the road in front of you that doesn't." - Black Magic Brakes
s3nt3nc3d is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 10-03-2010, 02:17 PM   #5
Knows a couple things...

WF Supporting Member
 
Jerry Bransford's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Escondido, Calif.
Posts: 29,185
Images: 2
Quote:
Originally Posted by s3nt3nc3d View Post
Also...replace it with a dealership sensor not a cheaper sensor from places like Autozone, Advance Auto, etc. The cheaper sensors are frequently found to be quirky because while they are designed to "work" on our vehicles they are not designed to work PROPERLY.
X2, sensors are one of those items where OE sensors are a better choice. Aftermarket sensors, usually made in China, can and often do cause problems soon after installing them.
__________________
When you have a choice, buy American.

Jerry Bransford is online now   Quote Quick Reply
Old 10-21-2010, 05:13 PM   #6
Jeeper
 
jeeptester's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Nankipoo, Tn
Posts: 331
tps trouble

2.5 1997 TJ
I have TPS problem also, Dont mean to hijack but it seems to go on topic.

Scan tool gives code of PO123 TPS volts too high.


1. New rebuilt ECU, It gives the same TPS error on two ECU's tried two new TPS's

2. I have the pinout of the ECU harness and Im goin to check the wires tonight. (long shot but I have to check I guess)

3. I checked the volts at the sensor. 5.4 volts to sensor. 1.15 volts at closed butterfly. 4.25 at WOT (tested to ground in plug) The autozone print out diagnostic says the range of the TPS is .26 to 4.49

So is the 1.15 the problem????? Whats the fix?

Also I went to the show all data screen and the TPS shows 98% and open throttle and it goes to 100%, sometimes it is at 100% all the time. Im not sure what it should be.

Other note the TPS error will trip very soon without starting engine.

Any ideas would be appreaciated
Thanks
Lowell
jeeptester is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 10-21-2010, 05:49 PM   #7
Show Me Your 8008135!

WF Supporting Member
 
s3nt3nc3d's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Piqua, OH
Posts: 3,643
Send a message via AIM to s3nt3nc3d
jeeptester...few things to try.

First, start with a clean slate. Unhook the negative terminal on your battery and let it sit like that overnight to completely reset your computer.

Make sure all your connections are good and solid and put it whatever sensor you have that SHOULD be good.

Also, while you're at it...check to make sure the shaft on the throttle body (that the throttle plate(s) are screwed onto and the TPS sensor is attached to one end of it) is good and tight. If you notice a lot of play in the shaft, it can cause TPS errors.

When I talked to the service manager at the Chrysler dealership I work for...he said there are typically 3 causes for a TPS code.

1.) Bad TPS sensor
2.) Bad computer
3.) Bad throttle body shaft (not sure if the shaft alone would need replaced or if you'd need to replace the throttle body if that's the problem)

He said they had a car in there that was a lot like your issue...they replaced the TPS sensor twice, replaced the computer twice, and then found out the throttle shaft had been wallowed out and was loose and giving odd readings.

Worst part was...they had to cover everything as it was warranty work...cost them a fortune in money and time wasted. lol
__________________
"We don't build great brakes because we think you don't know how to drive, we build them for the guy on the road in front of you that doesn't." - Black Magic Brakes
s3nt3nc3d is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 10-21-2010, 06:11 PM   #8
Jeeper
 
jeeptester's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Nankipoo, Tn
Posts: 331
Quote:
Originally Posted by s3nt3nc3d View Post
jeeptester...few things to try.

First, start with a clean slate. Unhook the negative terminal on your battery and let it sit like that overnight to completely reset your computer.

Make sure all your connections are good and solid and put it whatever sensor you have that SHOULD be good.

Also, while you're at it...check to make sure the shaft on the throttle body (that the throttle plate(s) are screwed onto and the TPS sensor is attached to one end of it) is good and tight. If you notice a lot of play in the shaft, it can cause TPS errors.

When I talked to the service manager at the Chrysler dealership I work for...he said there are typically 3 causes for a TPS code.

1.) Bad TPS sensor
2.) Bad computer
3.) Bad throttle body shaft (not sure if the shaft alone would need replaced or if you'd need to replace the throttle body if that's the problem)

He said they had a car in there that was a lot like your issue...they replaced the TPS sensor twice, replaced the computer twice, and then found out the throttle shaft had been wallowed out and was loose and giving odd readings.

Worst part was...they had to cover everything as it was warranty work...cost them a fortune in money and time wasted. lol
Good advice thanks
I have not thought of the shaft itself. This is a Jeep I bought not running and I have rebuilt the engine. ( so no idea whats good and whats not) Im also not sure if the intake is a 95 or 97. ( I have tried both as they both have diff part numbers)

I think a local salvage yard may have a 2.5 if I can get the throttle body off it then that might narrow things a bit furthur.

What do you think of 1.15 vers .26 volts?

jeeptester is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Jeep Wrangler Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Symptoms of bad Throttle Position Sensor? 92wranglerofmine YJ Tech Forum 14 11-10-2013 01:25 PM
check engine light came on and speedo stopped working @ the same time. eric TJ General Discussion Forum 14 10-14-2013 12:05 PM
4.0 Throttle Body On A 2.5 R.P.M. YJ Tech Forum 10 04-24-2013 02:48 PM
throttle position sensor voltage problem scout800 YJ Tech Forum 0 07-21-2010 09:09 PM
Throttle Position Sensor Weller YJ Tech Forum 2 10-09-2009 11:05 AM



» Network Links
»Jeep Parts
» Featured Product

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:21 PM.



Jeep®, Wrangler, Liberty, Wagoneer, Cherokee, and Grand Cherokee are copyrighted and trademarked to Chrysler Motors LLC.
Wranglerforum.com is not in any way associated with the Chrysler Motors LLC