Throttle Position Sensor? - Jeep Wrangler Forum
Jeep Wrangler Forum

Go Back   Jeep Wrangler Forum > TJ Jeep Wrangler Forum > TJ Tech Forum

Join Wrangler Forum Today


Reply
 
Thread Tools

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on WranglerForum.com
Old 06-28-2010, 05:01 PM   #1
Newb
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 11
Throttle Position Sensor?

Hello all. I'm new to the site and hail from Independence, MO. I have a 2005 Wrangler Unlimited with the 4.0 IL6. I bought the Jeep in 2007 and have relatively few problems with it. However, a few days ago, it started surging upon braking at stops, then idling way down...even dying a couple of times if the A/C was running. It would also stumble during takeoff and the "check engine" light came on. I pulled up the trouble codes (in-vehicle process....no scanner) and it threw me P0122. I found this referred to low voltage issues related to the TPS. So off I went to get a new one, my $34.95 in hand. Installed it a couple of days ago, reset the computer and guess what? The check engine came back on after a couple of minutes and it still runs poorly. My questions are these:

1. Is there some sort of calibration/setting I need to address?
2. Am I looking in the wrong place to correct this trouble code?

Thanks in advance for your help.

05JW is offline   Quote
Old 06-28-2010, 05:05 PM   #2
Jeeper
 
Pontiackid87's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: downingtown pa
Posts: 661
Quote:
Originally Posted by 05JW View Post
Hello all. I'm new to the site and hail from Independence, MO. I have a 2005 Wrangler Unlimited with the 4.0 IL6. I bought the Jeep in 2007 and have relatively few problems with it. However, a few days ago, it started surging upon braking at stops, then idling way down...even dying a couple of times if the A/C was running. It would also stumble during takeoff and the "check engine" light came on. I pulled up the trouble codes (in-vehicle process....no scanner) and it threw me P0122. I found this referred to low voltage issues related to the TPS. So off I went to get a new one, my $34.95 in hand. Installed it a couple of days ago, reset the computer and guess what? The check engine came back on after a couple of minutes and it still runs poorly. My questions are these:

1. Is there some sort of calibration/setting I need to address?
2. Am I looking in the wrong place to correct this trouble code?

Thanks in advance for your help.
My jeep was doing this same thing a week after i bought it i have an 02 apex eddition that i went and off roaded it and such.. for a while it was throwing the light but it went off stayed off for a while came back on and is now off again and has been for almost a month. could have somthing to do with driving habbits but who knows.

__________________
2000 wrangler
06 Pontiac solstice
84 IMSA fiero
2002 300M special
Pontiackid87 is offline   Quote
Old 06-28-2010, 05:36 PM   #3
Jeeper
 
flatline's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: pinole ca.
Posts: 680
Images: 3
I hear that jeeps don't like the cheap tps(autozone, kragen) a few people have said the dealer ship ones work better.
flatline is offline   Quote
Old 06-28-2010, 06:48 PM   #4
Jeeper
 
G-Pur's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Lowell, MA
Posts: 1,645
I just replaced mine with a OEM dealer part today. Engine light is still on, but the folks at AutoZone said that the code should clear itself after either 100 miles or so, or a few days. Don't know if its true.
__________________
Check us out at NorthShoreJeeps.com

G-Pur is offline   Quote
Old 06-28-2010, 06:55 PM   #5
Knows a couple things...

WF Supporting Member
 
Jerry Bransford's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Escondido, Calif.
Posts: 35,173
Images: 2
Check out post #10 at a current post going on at http://www.wranglerforum.com/f5/shit...ump-53990.html.
__________________
When you have a choice, buy American.

Jerry Bransford is online now   Quote
Old 06-28-2010, 11:09 PM   #6
Show Me Your 8008135!

WF Supporting Member
 
s3nt3nc3d's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Piqua, OH
Posts: 3,641
Send a message via AIM to s3nt3nc3d
To answer your questions--return that sensor if you can and go buy one from the dealership. Yes, it will cost more...but the parts house sensors doesn't work quite right whereas the dealer ones do. Don't know why this is, but trust me, I'm speaking from experience.

If the TPS is operating properly, the check engine light will kick off within a day or so...for me, I changed my sensor, started it and shut it off about 5 times (letting it idle a few minutes each time). Gave up getting the light to kick off...and then at lunch, it turned off after only about 5 miles of driving and one more startup. The code was still there if I did the key on-off-on-off-on trick, but the CEL was off while driving. I'm assuming the code will clear after 100 miles or so without it being set off again.

When I talked to our service manager at the dealership he said there's 3 things that normally cause the TPS codes...

1.) Bad TPS sensor
2.) Loose throttle shaft in the throttle body (check it for play...if it has a lot of play, it may be moving around inside the TPS sensor causing faulty readings)
3.) Bad PCM
__________________
"We don't build great brakes because we think you don't know how to drive, we build them for the guy on the road in front of you that doesn't." - Black Magic Brakes
s3nt3nc3d is offline   Quote
Old 06-28-2010, 11:27 PM   #7
Jeeper
 
Jiffydarren's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 530
Send a message via AIM to Jiffydarren
I put a borg warner part in mine and it worked just fine.
__________________
Losing hours at work? Taxes up on your paycheck? Having trouble finding a doctor? Your kids trashy?

You voted for it... Stop complaining.
Jiffydarren is offline   Quote
Old 06-29-2010, 05:55 AM   #8
Jeeper
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 2,473
Isn't it funny how sub-quality never works right?

When the TPS code sets it's been defective for a period of time - that throws off other readings in the ECM. When you put on a new one, those other readings didn't get reset. You have to reset them all.

A Jeep dealer can do it with his DRB scanner - or a few aftermarket scanners might. Most won't.

The easy way - leave the battery disconnected overnight - the deep memory erases, everything goes back to default - original specs. Called "Deep Cleaning."

When you reconnect and start it, take it for a drive - don't just let it sit and idle. You are "retraining" the computer. It may not run the best for the first couple of minutes, but will soon learn.
CEL should be off - unless there is another problem - but that may take a few miles - up to 100 - to set another CEL (all 3 portals must reset.) Then look at that new code, if any.
__________________
It's no wonder the country is falling apart - stupidity abounds!
rrich is offline   Quote
Old 06-29-2010, 07:55 AM   #9
Newb
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 11
I think I will try the "deep cleaning" method first. If that doesn't do it, then I guess I'll eat the $34.95 and get one from the dealer. I did drive it under various conditions after installing the new sensor. The light went out after the first day, but came back on about 30 minutes later. It has never run right at any point since replacing the TPS. Runs the same as it did before replacing it.

This thing is driving me nuts.

Thanks for all the good info. I'll keep you posted on what solves this. I'll also check out the hyperlink related to a current post on this subject.
05JW is offline   Quote
Old 06-29-2010, 12:09 PM   #10
Jeeper
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 2,473
He He - liken it to a slow leak in a left front tire. As it leaks you learn to compensate for the pulling to the left by holding the steering wheel to the right. You don't even realize you are doing it.

Now after the tire's pretty soft and you've gotten used to it - inflate the tire back up. But your brain still is trying to compensate - you still hold the wheel to the right. You end up thinking it's pulling to the right now until you get used to it. It takes awhile to "relearn."

Sometimes we need to deep clean ourselves too!
__________________
It's no wonder the country is falling apart - stupidity abounds!
rrich is offline   Quote
Old 07-02-2010, 08:25 AM   #11
Newb
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 11
Okay, so I did the "deep cleaning", which means I pulled the batt. cable for 24 hours. Started it up this morning and before I was out the driveway.....light back on again, and running like crap.

Think I'm going to have it looked at by someone who knows more about these things than I (hopefully). Anybody on this site from the Kansas City, MO metro area that can recommend a good Jeep mechanic?

Thanks.
05JW is offline   Quote
Old 07-02-2010, 10:28 AM   #12
Newb
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by G-Pur View Post
I just replaced mine with a OEM dealer part today. Engine light is still on, but the folks at AutoZone said that the code should clear itself after either 100 miles or so, or a few days. Don't know if its true.
But does it run better?
05JW is offline   Quote
Old 07-02-2010, 10:30 AM   #13
Newb
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by s3nt3nc3d View Post
To answer your questions--return that sensor if you can and go buy one from the dealership. Yes, it will cost more...but the parts house sensors doesn't work quite right whereas the dealer ones do. Don't know why this is, but trust me, I'm speaking from experience.

If the TPS is operating properly, the check engine light will kick off within a day or so...for me, I changed my sensor, started it and shut it off about 5 times (letting it idle a few minutes each time). Gave up getting the light to kick off...and then at lunch, it turned off after only about 5 miles of driving and one more startup. The code was still there if I did the key on-off-on-off-on trick, but the CEL was off while driving. I'm assuming the code will clear after 100 miles or so without it being set off again.

When I talked to our service manager at the dealership he said there's 3 things that normally cause the TPS codes...

1.) Bad TPS sensor
2.) Loose throttle shaft in the throttle body (check it for play...if it has a lot of play, it may be moving around inside the TPS sensor causing faulty readings)
3.) Bad PCM
The PCM is very expensive. How common is it for these to fail?
05JW is offline   Quote
Old 07-02-2010, 10:51 AM   #14
Knows a couple things...

WF Supporting Member
 
Jerry Bransford's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Escondido, Calif.
Posts: 35,173
Images: 2
Quote:
Originally Posted by 05JW View Post
The PCM is very expensive. How common is it for these to fail?
It's not very common at all but they do fail once every great while. But instead of buying a new PCM from the dealer, you can find them on places like eBay for a lot less $$$. Someone I know bought one for $150 on eBay within the last week or two.
__________________
When you have a choice, buy American.

Jerry Bransford is online now   Quote
Old 07-02-2010, 12:19 PM   #15
Newb
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 11
I heard the PCM's have to be flashed by a dealer based on VIN and mileage. Is that correct?

I also found a website called All Computer Resources, Inc. They have remanufactured PCM's for all vehicles. They state that all they need is your VIN and mileage and they will ship you the unit ready to install. Price is $289.00 for my '05 Wranger 4.0.

Anyone ever heard of/used them before?
05JW is offline   Quote
Old 07-02-2010, 01:21 PM   #16
Knows a couple things...

WF Supporting Member
 
Jerry Bransford's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Escondido, Calif.
Posts: 35,173
Images: 2
Quote:
Originally Posted by 05JW View Post
I heard the PCM's have to be flashed by a dealer based on VIN and mileage. Is that correct?

I also found a website called All Computer Resources, Inc. They have remanufactured PCM's for all vehicles. They state that all they need is your VIN and mileage and they will ship you the unit ready to install. Price is $289.00 for my '05 Wranger 4.0.
The dealer doesn't have to do anything to an aftermarket PCM. The provider of the aftermarket PCM will send you a PCM that is pre-programmed and ready to plug in after you send them your VIN #.
__________________
When you have a choice, buy American.

Jerry Bransford is online now   Quote
Old 07-09-2010, 07:14 AM   #17
Newb
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 11
Thanks for the info Jerry.

Okay, so I'm headed up to the dealership to pick up my new OEM TPS and I decide to check the codes again. Now it is throwing an additional code. Beside the P0122, now I'm also getting P2098. I think this is relates to POST CATALYST FUEL TRIM SYS TOO LEAN BANK2, whatever that means.

Could this new code be due to the P0122 TPS problem, or is P2098 causing the P0122 problem? Not sure what to do here. About to give up and take it in and let someone else figure it out. The thing is running awful.

All thoughts are appreciated as always.
05JW is offline   Quote
Old 07-12-2010, 07:15 AM   #18
Newb
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 11
Problem is fixed. Took it to the dealer and found out the problem was bad wiring in the TPS harness just a few inches behind the plug. Hard to believe that this Jeep has wiring issues after just 5 years of use. This along with the climate control issues has me very disappointed in Jeep. I have had cars 35 years old that had the same wiring/switches installed when they were built and all worked fine. I suppose as long as people keep buying them with the current problems, they will never get any better.

Again, a bit disappointing........this time to the tune of $369.00.

05JW is offline   Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Symptoms of bad Throttle Position Sensor? 92wranglerofmine YJ Tech Forum 14 11-10-2013 01:25 PM
check engine light came on and speedo stopped working @ the same time. eric TJ General Discussion Forum 14 10-14-2013 12:05 PM
Replacing the Throttle Position Sensor jconway TJ Tech Forum 15 12-04-2009 03:58 PM
2nd Throttle Position Sensor in 2 months PiTRiFF YJ Tech Forum 0 11-02-2009 02:56 PM
Throttle Position Sensor Weller YJ Tech Forum 2 10-09-2009 11:05 AM



Download our Mobile App

» Featured Product

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:33 PM.


User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging v3.1.0 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2015 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.

Jeep®, Wrangler, Liberty, Wagoneer, Cherokee, and Grand Cherokee are copyrighted and trademarked to Chrysler Motors LLC.
Wranglerforum.com is not in any way associated with the Chrysler Motors LLC