Throttle Stuck at high speed - Jeep Wrangler Forum

Go Back   Jeep Wrangler Forum > TJ Jeep Wrangler Forum > TJ Tech Forum

Join Wrangler Forum Today


Reply
 
Thread Tools

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on WranglerForum.com
Old 10-14-2013, 08:18 AM   #1
Newb
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Posts: 2
Throttle Stuck at high speed

I have a 1997 wrangler with a 4.0. When I bought it, used, it had an aftermarket cruise control already installed. It hasn't worked in a while.

I replaced my heater core over the weekend and drove it around the neighborhood. No issues. (Except for an air bag light that just came on)

I drove to work today and once I was on the freeway I could not get the rpms to drop . It was as if cruise control was on. I would take my foot off the gas and there would be no change in my speed. I shift to neutral and the RPMS would be stuck in the 4000+ range. I pumped the gas fast and hard a few times (still in neutral) and it would slowly drop a bit, like down to 3000 rpms. After a bit of driving it seemed to get unstuck and was OK for a while. It got stuck again while I was in traffic. I had to make my way off to the side of the road and shut the car off. I played with the throttle under the hood and it did not seem to be stuck at all. Started the jeep back up and was able to get to work with no issues, but it was all slow speeds from that point.

Anyone have any ideas on what would cause this issue?

mkiss is offline   Quote
Old 10-14-2013, 08:40 AM   #2
Supporting Member

WF Supporting Member
 
jeepers29's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Georgetown, Texas
Posts: 3,909
My guess is something with the computer and/or cruise control. I would not be driving that until your issues are figured out. Hope it is something easy.

jeepers29 is offline   Quote
Old 10-14-2013, 08:54 AM   #3
Knows a couple things...

WF Supporting Member
 
Jerry Bransford's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Escondido, Calif.
Posts: 36,223
There are vacuum lines/hoses under the dash where the heater core is as well as one near where the heater core hoses attach to on the engine side of the firewall. A vacuum leak 'will' cause the engine RPMs to be excessively high so if any of those vacuum lines were broken or accidently disconnected and are now leaking air, your engine RPMs will be excessively high.
__________________
When you have a choice, buy American.

Jerry Bransford is offline   Quote
Old 10-14-2013, 10:31 AM   #4
Newb
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Posts: 2
i will be taking the cruise control off and checking for vacuum leaks, i'm pretty sure its not a computer issue as there are no error codes.
mkiss is offline   Quote
Old 04-23-2014, 05:00 PM   #5
Newb
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 5
You screwed up taking the HVAC box out and reinstalling it. You have wiring or something interfereing with the top of the throttle. You also didn't get the airbag plugged back in.
You took too much of the dash apart. You should have had the dash hanging in 15 minutes of starting the job and not touched any wires under the dash.

The aftermarket cruise would not do this, they are designed to be OFF unless ALL conditions are right for them to operate including the brakelight circuit.
zziggy is offline   Quote
Reply

Tags
high speed , stuck , throttle

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off




Download our Mobile App

» Featured Product

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:15 PM.


User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging v3.1.0 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2015 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.

Jeep®, Wrangler, Liberty, Wagoneer, Cherokee, and Grand Cherokee are copyrighted and trademarked to Chrysler Motors LLC.
Wranglerforum.com is not in any way associated with the Chrysler Motors LLC