too overpowered? help me out - Page 2 - Jeep Wrangler Forum
Jeep Wrangler Forum

Go Back   Jeep Wrangler Forum > TJ Jeep Wrangler Forum > TJ Tech Forum

Join Wrangler Forum Today


Reply
 
Thread Tools

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on WranglerForum.com
Old 03-08-2013, 05:24 PM   #31
Jeeper
 
mike25's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 79
The jl is cooled with vents the wcc is not. And what do you mean cap

mike25 is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 03-08-2013, 05:30 PM   #32
Jeeper
 
Motowithy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Valley Cottage NY
Posts: 143
Capacitor .... Basically stores extra voltage and will replenish from the battery for a more even flow to the subs. I had one when I was running the dual 12's in my last vehicle. Without the cap I could see the battery gauge drop on the cluster and lights would dim when subs hit hard. Had no issues after I installed the cap.

Motowithy is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 03-08-2013, 05:47 PM   #33
Jeeper
 
mike25's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 79
Oh. Yeah know I was thinking about one because I don't want my headlights flashing and stuff.
mike25 is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 03-08-2013, 05:55 PM   #34
Jeeper
 
Motowithy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Valley Cottage NY
Posts: 143
A pic of a cheap one I got at Walmart some years ago. Just to give you an idea of size.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	image-2946981470.jpg
Views:	25
Size:	153.4 KB
ID:	219835  
Motowithy is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 03-08-2013, 06:54 PM   #35
Jeeper
 
mike25's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 79
Thanks I was curious of the size, I just ordered up a 35 dollar power acoustik 1.2 farad cap
mike25 is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 03-08-2013, 07:37 PM   #36
Jeeper
 
jgorm's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: San Diego
Posts: 1,683
Quote:
Originally Posted by Motowithy View Post
Had no issues after I installed the cap.
Lucky you. Most of the times I've seen a cap added it did little to nothing. These were the big 1F ones, not the little one in the picture above. My friend put in a industrial 25F and that did the trick.
__________________
my 06 LJ rubicon
2.5" SL, 1" BL, DIY highline, 35s with double beadlocks.
jgorm is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 03-08-2013, 07:43 PM   #37
Jeeper
 
mike25's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 79
If u need a 25 farad cap you have to have insane power one farad equals 1000 watts
mike25 is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 03-08-2013, 07:53 PM   #38
Jeeper
 
Motowithy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Valley Cottage NY
Posts: 143
Yeah I used the 1F for my 12's. The one on the pic
Motowithy is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 03-08-2013, 07:54 PM   #39
Jeeper
 
Motowithy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Valley Cottage NY
Posts: 143
Sorry the one in the pic was one I used for my sisters old car.
Motowithy is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 03-08-2013, 08:27 PM   #40
Jeeper
 
mike25's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 79
Doesn't matter gennerally unless your pushing 2000 watts ur gunna use a 1f 25 f literally means 25,000 watts.... If u had that much bass your car would be doing jumping jacks
mike25 is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 03-11-2013, 01:04 PM   #41
Jeeper
 
mike25's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 79
im going to start doing some before and after pics of the components. my last stuff comes in tomorrow then it's install time
mike25 is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 03-12-2013, 01:47 PM   #42
Jeeper
 
Motowithy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Valley Cottage NY
Posts: 143
You can also get some polyfill from any art store and stuff the soundbar with it. Any high end speaker enclosure usually polyfill behind the speakers. I did my soundbar, dash speakers, skypod, and kick panels with the fill. Art and craft stores sell it to fill pillows and whatnot common in sleeping bags as well.
Motowithy is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 03-21-2013, 11:36 AM   #43
Jeeper
 
mike25's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 79
guys great news everything is in and it sound FANTASTIC. i was so suprised with the sound truly. ill be taking pictures of the setup today and posting it on a new thread
mike25 is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 03-21-2013, 03:02 PM   #44
Jeeper
 
BreckenridgeYJ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Breckenridge, CO
Posts: 605
Glad to hear it! Looking forward to the pictures
BreckenridgeYJ is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 03-22-2013, 10:49 AM   #45
Jeeper
 
mike25's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 79
wellllll. it's gunna be a second for the pictures.... i should have heeded the warnings i've successfully overdrwan my alternator so now i have that problem to contend with. i think the stock alternator was weak because my headlights would dim in and out before the system so adding the system made it kick the bucket. i plan on getting a durango alternator it's a 160a instead of the 117a and i've heard its a direct bolt so thats what ill be going with. but ill take pictures today and post them today.
mike25 is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 03-22-2013, 10:55 AM   #46
Jeeper
 
mike25's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 79
does anyone know anything about the swap like things ill need? i've read a good deal about it in the last 24 hours but i just want to cover all the bases. just a little backstory here- picked the jeep up from install tuesday drove it around started it 3 times-wednsday started it 5 times no problems - thursday started it 4 times in my driveway while detailing it thurday night went out to start it and it had no juice p.s. brand new interstate battery. i jumped it and let it idle for 40 minuetes and it still wouldnt start after that, jumped it again drove to autozone for a free alternator test and it was putting out 12.9 to 13.4 aparrantly it's supposed to be at 13.5 to 14.5. so this does sound like an alternator porblem right???
mike25 is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 03-22-2013, 01:43 PM   #47
Jeeper
 
Motowithy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Valley Cottage NY
Posts: 143
I would test the connections to sub,amp,cap etc to make sure nothing is drawing power while the jeep is off. If a shop did the install I can't see them messing it up but you never know.
Motowithy is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 03-24-2013, 08:12 AM   #48
Jeeper
 
mike25's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 79
well the good news is that the guy who installed everything at the shop is a mechanic on thhe side so i hired him to put in the alternator and check everything else should be done today

mike25 is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Reply

Tags
audio upgrade , speaker replacement , sub woofer

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Jeep Wrangler Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off




» Network Links
»Jeep Parts
» Featured Product

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:15 PM.



Jeep®, Wrangler, Liberty, Wagoneer, Cherokee, and Grand Cherokee are copyrighted and trademarked to Chrysler Motors LLC.
Wranglerforum.com is not in any way associated with the Chrysler Motors LLC