TPS problems - Jeep Wrangler Forum
Jeep Wrangler Forum

Go Back   Jeep Wrangler Forum > TJ Jeep Wrangler Forum > TJ Tech Forum

Join Wrangler Forum Today


Reply
 
Thread Tools

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on WranglerForum.com
Old 10-04-2012, 03:58 PM   #1
Newb
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 10
TPS problems

Hey guys new to the forum and i need some help. Little over a year and a half ago while driving down the interstate my jeep a 03 wrangler sport I6 4.0 acted like I lost power and seemed to be cutting in and out, then the check engine light came on. I quickly went and got it checked. P122 code. Got a new sensor put it on but its never been back to the same ol jeep I had in the past. I still have the code showing, changed the sensor twice now with no real improvement. Had it in the shop a few times and they say they can't find anything wrong with it. it always acts like it cuts in and out at around 45-55mph. With winter coming if I can't get this fixed I'm screwed

Krol is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 10-06-2012, 08:33 PM   #2
Newb
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 10
anyone?

Krol is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 10-06-2012, 11:09 PM   #3
Jeeper
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 1,606
It would be a good idea to inspect the TPS connector and associated wiring. If possible, round up a OBD2 scanner the provides real-time sensor data.
tangofox007 is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 10-07-2012, 04:43 PM   #4
Jeeper
 
Mom sold the Jeepster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Cincinnati
Posts: 255
I had to get 3 different replacement TPS til I got one that works. Lots of guys on the forum recommend original equipment TPS from the dealer
Mom sold the Jeepster is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 02-17-2013, 05:53 AM   #5
Jeeper
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Ventura County
Posts: 166
So what ever was the solution?
Offrd is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 02-17-2013, 08:40 AM   #6
Jeeper
 
Herbie424's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: South Shore MA
Posts: 66
Sort of the same issue here. I went straight to the dealer for this one. Little nore expensive but atleast I knew the part would work and if it didn't they would replace it again.
Herbie424 is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 02-17-2013, 09:48 AM   #7
Jeeper
 
C.L.'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: North NJ
Posts: 2,055
Get one from the dealer. It will cost more for ONE sensor, but less than buying 5 from auto-zone... The forums are full of people reporting out-of-the-box failures on parts store TPS. Also, leave your negative battery cable off overnight after changing it to reset the computer. It'll clear the code, and then "relearn" the new sensor within a couple hours of driving.
C.L. is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 02-17-2013, 10:46 AM   #8
Jeeper
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 1,606
Quote:
Originally Posted by C.L. View Post
Get one from the dealer. It will cost more for ONE sensor, but less than buying 5 from auto-zone...
Considering that a TPS from Autozone comes with a lifetime warranty, buying more than one would reasonably be unnecessary. Considering that a TPS is very easy to replace, doesn't usually fail catastrophically and that the Mopar TPS has only a one-year warranty, Autozone might not be such a bad bet.
tangofox007 is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 02-17-2013, 12:30 PM   #9
Jeeper
 
clint98's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 88
Images: 6
Are you getting low voyage tps code ,it mite not be the tps at all it maybe the clockspring I know sound crazy but that was the problem with mine but you can unplug clockspring to check
clint98 is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 02-17-2013, 12:54 PM   #10
Jeeper
 
Atthehop's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: NW, NJ
Posts: 3,899
Quote:
Originally Posted by tangofox007 View Post
Considering that a TPS from Autozone comes with a lifetime warranty, buying more than one would reasonably be unnecessary. Considering that a TPS is very easy to replace, doesn't usually fail catastrophically and that the Mopar TPS has only a one-year warranty, Autozone might not be such a bad bet.
That's how they suck you in, lifetime warranty to get you to come back in to replace something that is made poorly. I bet if they had to cover the labor they would not offer that warranty. But then there's a sucker born every minute.
__________________
Retired my 94 YJ 4cyl 5spd @ 200K
Now in a 04 TJ 4cyl 5spd CV @120K+
Both as a commuter vehicle in NW, NJ
April 2012.downsized and now a 99er.
Atthehop is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 02-17-2013, 01:17 PM   #11
Jeeper
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 1,606
Quote:
Originally Posted by Atthehop View Post
That's how they suck you in, lifetime warranty to get you to come back in to replace something that is made poorly. I bet if they had to cover the labor they would not offer that warranty. But then there's a sucker born every minute.
If the OE TPS was such a high quality part, they would not be failing so often.

In the case of the TPS, failure is more a matter of when, not if. The OE part will likely last long enough to outlive its 12 month warranty. Then you get to pay all over again. Been there, done that. Don't do it any more. When my TPS fails, I'll put it on the counter and walk out the door with a new one. For that matter, my parts store TPS has already outlasted the OE part.
tangofox007 is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 02-17-2013, 03:56 PM   #12
Jeeper
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Idabel, Ok
Posts: 76
Tps problem

Well contrary to popular belief disconnecting the neg battery cable to reset the computer
only works on 91-95 models. 1997 and later models codes must be cleared from the pcm memory using a scan tool, after the new tps is installed that is. Your throwing a PO122. throttle position sensor input below the minimum acceptable voltage. Get your pcm cleared By a scan tool then go from there. If you've bought more than one tPS and your still throwing that code then either the pcm needs resetting or its in the wiring/connector. Good luck.
Dac7529 is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 02-17-2013, 04:02 PM   #13
Jeeper
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 1,606
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dac7529 View Post
If you've bought more than one tPS and your still throwing that code then either the pcm needs resetting or its in the wiring/connector.
That undoubtedly explains a lot of those alleged "out of the box" TPS failures.
tangofox007 is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 02-17-2013, 04:20 PM   #14
Jeeper
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Idabel, Ok
Posts: 76
You got my point exactly. But I wasn't Gonna argue that auto zone sells crap.
Dac7529 is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 02-17-2013, 04:39 PM   #15
Jeeper
 
Atthehop's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: NW, NJ
Posts: 3,899
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dac7529 View Post
You got my point exactly. But I wasn't Gonna argue that auto zone sells crap.
A lot of the electrical parts in the aftermarket stores are from china and we all know cheap equals crap. At least the OEM parts need to meet some quality controls and not just price.
__________________
Retired my 94 YJ 4cyl 5spd @ 200K
Now in a 04 TJ 4cyl 5spd CV @120K+
Both as a commuter vehicle in NW, NJ
April 2012.downsized and now a 99er.
Atthehop is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 02-17-2013, 04:59 PM   #16
Jeeper
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Idabel, Ok
Posts: 76
aftermarket stores

Yessir aftermarket parts are very inconsistent even when claimed to meet OEM specs. I personaly prefer true OEM parts mopar dahlmer chrysler. not aftermarket parts that claim to be oem.
Dac7529 is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 02-17-2013, 09:25 PM   #17
Jeeper
 
C.L.'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: North NJ
Posts: 2,055
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dac7529 View Post
Well contrary to popular belief disconnecting the neg battery cable to reset the computer only works on 91-95 models. 1997 and later models codes must be cleared from the pcm memory using a scan tool
I can't speak for popular belief, but i've cleared my '04 by pulling the battery cable more than once...
C.L. is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 02-18-2013, 04:58 PM   #18
Jeeper
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: North Georgia Mountains
Posts: 115
Quote:
Originally Posted by C.L. View Post
I can't speak for popular belief, but i've cleared my '04 by pulling the battery cable more than once...
The code is still there, it's just stored in the computer. If the condition is no longer there, the cel will stay off, until the condition is tripped again. The old OBD1 would not store it.
Hillbilly1 is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 02-18-2013, 05:03 PM   #19
Jeeper
 
mrpotatohead's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Happy Valley
Posts: 782
Definitely check the wiring. I went through a TPS every time it rained (it took me a few times to finally get suspicious) or I washed my Jeep and found a few chaffed wires on the connector
mrpotatohead is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 02-20-2013, 01:08 PM   #20
Jeeper
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Idabel, Ok
Posts: 76
Either way. always clear the codes from the pcm before Starting the engine after a new electroniccontrol component is installed. You must reset the computer it will force your computer to relearn the new operating Parametrs. "The pcm may set a trouble code if a new sensor is allowed to operate before the paramaters from the old sensor have been erase electronic
Dac7529 is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 03-01-2014, 06:18 PM   #21
Newb
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 10
Well I know is been way too long since I posted. Since my original a few things have occurred.
1 I finally broke down after repeated tps sensors and took it to a mechanic (drum roll). Mice had apparently eaten the wiring under the dash so a brand new harness put in.

2 I know have another issue that I am working on. It no longer idles at all let my foot off the gas engine just stops. No sputtering or anything RPMs just drop to 0. At first I was thinking fuel filter. Now I'm thinking its a bad battery. I'm gonna replace it tomorrow and see if that works.

After I had the wiring harness replaced it ran like I remember it.
Krol is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 03-02-2014, 06:59 AM   #22
Jeeper
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Iowa
Posts: 237
The battery doesn't keep your jeep running after start up, that's the alternators job. You might be having TPS problems again. Idle problems also can point to your AIC. Do a search, really easy to clean. Good Luck
ljjp10 is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 03-02-2014, 07:33 AM   #23
Jeeper
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Iowa
Posts: 237
Sorry not AIC, should have said IAC. Good Luck
ljjp10 is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 03-05-2014, 08:04 PM   #24
Newb
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 10
We'll I did change the battery and lo and behold it fixed all my issues. She now idles fine and runs like she did prior.

As a side note the battery that I pulled out was the one put in from the factory. I can only hope this one last as long.

Krol is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Reply

Tags
2003 jeep wrangler , cutting in and out , loss of power , tps

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Jeep Wrangler Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off




Download our Mobile App

» Featured Product

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:23 PM.



Jeep®, Wrangler, Liberty, Wagoneer, Cherokee, and Grand Cherokee are copyrighted and trademarked to Chrysler Motors LLC.
Wranglerforum.com is not in any way associated with the Chrysler Motors LLC