Track bar bolt? - Jeep Wrangler Forum
Jeep Wrangler Forum

Go Back   Jeep Wrangler Forum > TJ Jeep Wrangler Forum > TJ Tech Forum

Join Wrangler Forum Today


Reply
 
Thread Tools

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on WranglerForum.com
Old 05-10-2013, 06:31 PM   #1
Jeeper
 
BWolfE84's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 122
Track bar bolt?

So I decided it was time to get into my Jeep. Got the front end lifted up so I could do an oil change and while the oil was draining. I decided to take a look around. Bought Sammie (my jeep) in August 2012 and I haven't really done anything to her. HIDs are the extent of my "upgrades". While I was walking around the Jeep, I came across this little guy:

Oh wait, don't see what I am talking about? Found it sitting just like this.

I haven't removed a bolt, screw or nut from the Jeep other than the rear seat and anything for the HIDs. Looked around the garage to see if it fell out but I couldn't find anything. Looks like I need to go to home depot and get a new bolt and nut.

Question though, with this not being installed for god only knows how long, what would that do? What would that not do? Basically, what should I look for here.....

__________________
"I used to drive 5 MPH over the speed limit. Hell, I used to drive the speed limit. Then I bought a TJ..."
BWolfE84 is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 05-10-2013, 06:58 PM   #2
Jeeper
 
Wattapunk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: North TX
Posts: 1,976
Never thought you would have to lift a Jeep to do an oil change. The factory rear trackbar bolt size is M12x1.75x80. You will have better luck at Ace Hardware vs. HD.

Wattapunk is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 05-10-2013, 07:06 PM   #3
Knows a couple things...

WF Supporting Member
 
Jerry Bransford's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Escondido, Calif.
Posts: 33,116
Images: 2
Make sure the metric bolt you buy is graded at either 10.9 minimum (which is fine) or the stronger 12.9 strength. A conventional bolt is not strong enough.
__________________
When you have a choice, buy American.

Jerry Bransford is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 05-10-2013, 07:17 PM   #4
Jeeper
 
BWolfE84's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 122
Quote:
Originally Posted by Wattapunk View Post
Never thought you would have to lift a Jeep to do an oil change. The factory rear trackbar bolt size is M12x1.75x80. You will have better luck at Ace Hardware vs. HD.
well the lift was to play. I wanted to inspect the ball joints and take a look at the rotors but I had to remove the tires. It also helps with a downward angle for draining the oil. First oil change since I owned the Jeep and let me tell you, that shit looked like dark chocolate!!!

Thanks for the info on Ace. I will have take your advice

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jerry Bransford View Post
Make sure the metric bolt you buy is graded at either 10.9 minimum (which is fine) or the stronger 12.9 strength. A conventional bolt is not strong enough.
Thanks for the info!!!
__________________
"I used to drive 5 MPH over the speed limit. Hell, I used to drive the speed limit. Then I bought a TJ..."
BWolfE84 is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 05-10-2013, 09:56 PM   #5
Jeeper
 
amiller's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 351
Yes, and drive something else to the hardware store. Dont drive the Jeep like that.
__________________
2005 TJ with a few goodies
amiller is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 05-10-2013, 10:15 PM   #6
Jeeper
 
BWolfE84's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 122
Hahaha. I know right. Scary thing is that I don't know how long that has been missing. Honestly, what is the problem? I mean obliviously I am missing a bolt but what does the track bar do?
__________________
"I used to drive 5 MPH over the speed limit. Hell, I used to drive the speed limit. Then I bought a TJ..."
BWolfE84 is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 05-10-2013, 10:21 PM   #7
Creepy Crawler

WF Supporting Member
 
BLK00TJ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 3,194
Quote:
Originally Posted by BWolfE84 View Post
Hahaha. I know right. Scary thing is that I don't know how long that has been missing. Honestly, what is the problem? I mean obliviously I am missing a bolt but what does the track bar do?
It keeps your axles centered. Without it, your axle will float back and forth. Muy dangerous for the front, but can really mess up stuff in the rear (CAs, pinion bearing, etc).
__________________
Wheel. Break/Test. Repair/Upgrade. Repeat
BLK00TJ's YouTube Channel -- BLK00TJ's Build
BLK00TJ is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 05-11-2013, 01:47 AM   #8
Jeeper
 
BWolfE84's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 122
Ok sweet. Got a bolt and got it installed. Thanks everybody!

__________________
"I used to drive 5 MPH over the speed limit. Hell, I used to drive the speed limit. Then I bought a TJ..."
BWolfE84 is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Jeep Wrangler Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off




Download our Mobile App

» Network Links
»Jeep Parts
» Featured Product

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:09 AM.



Jeep®, Wrangler, Liberty, Wagoneer, Cherokee, and Grand Cherokee are copyrighted and trademarked to Chrysler Motors LLC.
Wranglerforum.com is not in any way associated with the Chrysler Motors LLC