Wiring KC daylighters and... - Jeep Wrangler Forum
Jeep Wrangler Forum

Go Back   Jeep Wrangler Forum > TJ Jeep Wrangler Forum > TJ Tech Forum

Join Wrangler Forum Today


Reply
 
Thread Tools

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on WranglerForum.com
Old 01-02-2010, 06:32 PM   #1
Jeeper
 
trailrated13's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Williamston, NC
Posts: 73
Images: 5
Send a message via AIM to trailrated13 Send a message via Skype™ to trailrated13
Wiring KC daylighters and...

I got new KC daylighter 130watt lights to go on a maxibar over my windshield. I was running the wire to the switch that is located in my right center air vent. While pulling one of the wires through I saw a spark. I turned the key on and everything worked except for the radio. The fuse was not blown. What am I supposed to do??? The radio is stock so what would be the best way to take it out without doing any damage? What do I need to look for? Any suggestions on what the problem and solution may be would be helpful.

THANKS!!!!

__________________
B-RITT!!
trailrated13 is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 01-02-2010, 07:02 PM   #2
Knows a couple things...

WF Supporting Member
 
Jerry Bransford's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Escondido, Calif.
Posts: 32,765
Images: 2
Simply check all the fuses, it's pretty obvious that a fuse has blown. There are fuses located both behind the glove box and inside the PDC (Power Distrubition Center) in the box that sits in front of the battery on the passenger-side fenderwell.

Hopefully you knew to wire your new lights in using a relay controlled wiring harness. Your 130 watt KC lights draw too many amps to just turn them off with a normal on-off switch. KC makes a pre-wired wiring harness that has the required relay that is very easily connected and installed. You can use other brands of relay equpped wiring harness like PIAA and other offroad light manufacturers make for driving lights too.

Without that type of relay controlled wiring harness, the on-off switch won't last long before melting internally and the lights won't likely run at their full potential brightness either.

__________________
When you have a choice, buy American.

Jerry Bransford is online now   Quote Quick Reply
Old 01-02-2010, 11:56 PM   #3
Jeeper
 
trailrated13's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Williamston, NC
Posts: 73
Images: 5
Send a message via AIM to trailrated13 Send a message via Skype™ to trailrated13
Yes I am using the relay setup that was sent with the KC lights. But while running the wires from the switch to the relay something sparked under the air vents and now the radio display does not light up. The buttons around the radio light up but not the actual display. All the fuses have been checked.
__________________
B-RITT!!
trailrated13 is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 01-03-2010, 09:00 AM   #4
Show Me Your 8008135!

WF Supporting Member
 
s3nt3nc3d's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Piqua, OH
Posts: 3,641
Send a message via AIM to s3nt3nc3d
You may have shorted out your radio internally...not sure though...hopefully it's something simple.

Bet you learned not to hook the wires up to the battery until they're already routed though
__________________
"We don't build great brakes because we think you don't know how to drive, we build them for the guy on the road in front of you that doesn't." - Black Magic Brakes
s3nt3nc3d is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 01-03-2010, 09:29 AM   #5
Jeeper
 
Exl2392's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Lafayette, LA
Posts: 107
Lesson well learned, sucks I know :-/
Exl2392 is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 01-03-2010, 10:28 AM   #6
Jeeper
 
trailrated13's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Williamston, NC
Posts: 73
Images: 5
Send a message via AIM to trailrated13 Send a message via Skype™ to trailrated13
Thats the weird thing they aren't hooked to the battery. I mean I probably should have disconnected the battery before I started anything.... Why would there have been a spark when no there was no power to those wires?
__________________
B-RITT!!
trailrated13 is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 01-03-2010, 10:52 AM   #7
Jeeper
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 226
could it be possible that you have a wire behind the radia that you grounded into?

I wired up some KC's and did not have any problems like that but the little green light on the switch does not work, so the button can be hard to find at night.

Sounds like a good time to ugrade your stereo, or hit Craigs and find a used factory radio,
jwells36 is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 01-03-2010, 11:25 AM   #8
Show Me Your 8008135!

WF Supporting Member
 
s3nt3nc3d's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Piqua, OH
Posts: 3,641
Send a message via AIM to s3nt3nc3d
Quote:
Originally Posted by jwells36 View Post
could it be possible that you have a wire behind the radia that you grounded into?

I wired up some KC's and did not have any problems like that but the little green light on the switch does not work, so the button can be hard to find at night.

Sounds like a good time to ugrade your stereo, or hit Craigs and find a used factory radio,
If you want the light on your switch to work, you need to run a ground to the switch...as long as there is 12v running into the switch, and you ground it (there should be a third connection on the back of the switch for a ground), it'll kick the light on but ONLY when it's in the on position.

Quote:
Originally Posted by trailrated13 View Post
Thats the weird thing they aren't hooked to the battery. I mean I probably should have disconnected the battery before I started anything.... Why would there have been a spark when no there was no power to those wires?
That sucks...you definitely must have bumped into a hot wire somewhere causing it to ground itself out. Yeah, you should have disconnected the battery...that's why a lot of manuals say disconnect the battery before doing any work on the vehicle. Can't blame ya for that though...I wouldn't have disconnected the battery either if my wires weren't even hooked up to it yet.
__________________
"We don't build great brakes because we think you don't know how to drive, we build them for the guy on the road in front of you that doesn't." - Black Magic Brakes
s3nt3nc3d is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 01-03-2010, 11:48 AM   #9
Jeeper
 
kdukes4's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Maine
Posts: 679
i'm feeling your pain my friend. last week i left my battery connected when i did my bl and mml, well, a long story short, blew my voltage regulator! seriously? before i ever do another mod, that battery will always be disconnected.
__________________
'04 tj, d44s & arb's
kdukes4 is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 01-03-2010, 12:29 PM   #10
Knows a couple things...

WF Supporting Member
 
Jerry Bransford's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Escondido, Calif.
Posts: 32,765
Images: 2
Your radio receives +12 volts from two different sources, one switched and one unswitched. The unswitched source keeps the presets alive and clock set when the ignition is off and the switched source is what turns the radio off & on. Check the switched source for power, I'm still thinking you just blew the fuse for the switched side of its power.
__________________
When you have a choice, buy American.

Jerry Bransford is online now   Quote Quick Reply
Old 01-03-2010, 01:52 PM   #11
Jeeper
 
IndyJeepMan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Indianapolis
Posts: 3,387
Only thing I can help you with is dash dissasembly. Take the ash try and fold it down, pull it out. Then take that screw out and lift the dash face off. Then there will be four bolts holding the radio in. Be careful pulling it out the wires could be shorter then mine which were plenty long. (you dont want to rip out a wiring harness!)

Thats simple as that. One thing I've come to love about jeeps.. dissasembly is about as easy as an 1960's vehicle. All nuts and bolts! But, I used to own a Jaguar and that was a PITA!

Hope all is well, you could of shorted the radio out which while it sucks, isnt too expensive to replace.
__________________
1980 CJ7
3.9L Cummins POWER!
Follow my build, its cool and stuff: http://www.wranglerforum.com/f118/project-shake-n-bake-a-cummins-cj-188515.html]
IndyJeepMan is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 01-03-2010, 02:24 PM   #12
Knows a couple things...

WF Supporting Member
 
Jerry Bransford's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Escondido, Calif.
Posts: 32,765
Images: 2
Shorting the radio's power wiring to ground is very unlikely to damage the radio itself.
__________________
When you have a choice, buy American.

Jerry Bransford is online now   Quote Quick Reply
Old 01-03-2010, 02:35 PM   #13
Jeeper
 
Kilroy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Southern California
Posts: 567
Does the radio play but not light up?
__________________
Patience is a waste of time...
Kilroy is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 01-03-2010, 02:40 PM   #14
Knows a couple things...

WF Supporting Member
 
Jerry Bransford's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Escondido, Calif.
Posts: 32,765
Images: 2
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kilroy View Post
Does the radio play but not light up?
Post #3 confirms that the radio knobs light up but doesn't play.
__________________
When you have a choice, buy American.

Jerry Bransford is online now   Quote Quick Reply
Old 01-03-2010, 04:49 PM   #15
Jeeper
 
Kilroy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Southern California
Posts: 567
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jerry Bransford View Post
Post #3 confirms that the radio knobs light up but doesn't play.
...at least the radio knobs light up but the display does not.

__________________
Patience is a waste of time...
Kilroy is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Jeep Wrangler Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
5.7L PCM to YJ wiring harness, need help. cowboy724 YJ Tech Forum 10 04-20-2011 03:21 PM
Off-Road Lights on OEM Fog Wiring: Too Much of A Good Thing? Army Chief TJ Tech Forum 3 11-08-2009 05:20 PM
Engine swap wiring help needed 4.2 to XJ 4.0 89Islander YJ Tech Forum 8 04-05-2008 09:06 PM
Hitch Wiring rcmerlin TJ Tech Forum 1 12-06-2006 10:43 AM
Replace all wiring in 2000 TJ? blueelkwrangler TJ Tech Forum 4 08-24-2006 01:35 PM



Download our Mobile App

» Network Links
»Jeep Parts
» Featured Product

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:01 PM.



Jeep®, Wrangler, Liberty, Wagoneer, Cherokee, and Grand Cherokee are copyrighted and trademarked to Chrysler Motors LLC.
Wranglerforum.com is not in any way associated with the Chrysler Motors LLC