Wiring light bar HELP - Jeep Wrangler Forum
Jeep Wrangler Forum

Go Back   Jeep Wrangler Forum > TJ Jeep Wrangler Forum > TJ Tech Forum

Join Wrangler Forum Today


Reply
 
Thread Tools

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on WranglerForum.com
Old 06-10-2013, 11:38 PM   #1
Jeeper
 
tsteb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: North Carolina coast
Posts: 890
Wiring light bar HELP

Okay so yes I'm awful at electrical stuff but I really want to get this light bar mounted and running. And plus I know I need to learn how to do it now.
Here's my plan. I want to mount it on the hood or cowl piece and wire it to a daystar hd rocker switch. I need to know what wires to buy and what wire goes where and how.

tsteb is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 06-10-2013, 11:52 PM   #2
Knows a couple things...

WF Supporting Member
 
Jerry Bransford's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Escondido, Calif.
Posts: 31,356
Images: 2
To start, you'll need to wire in a relay for each pair of lights. A relay provides the heavy current (power) driving lights draw so the switch doesn't have to... such lights will burn out a switch, even most so-called "heavy duty" switches.

Not to worry, most 4x4 shops that sell driving lights sell pre-wired driving light wiring harness kits with relays already wired into them. They are easily connected & make getting the lights working a relatively easy task. And without electrical experience, trying to get the lights working without using a pre-wired wiring harness is going to be a frustrating experience.

I hope that gets you going & helps a little...

__________________
When you have a choice, buy American.

Jerry Bransford is online now   Quote Quick Reply
Old 06-10-2013, 11:55 PM   #3
Jeeper
 
tsteb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: North Carolina coast
Posts: 890
Well it's a light bar, so only one red and one black wire coming from it.
tsteb is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 06-10-2013, 11:58 PM   #4
Knows a couple things...

WF Supporting Member
 
Jerry Bransford's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Escondido, Calif.
Posts: 31,356
Images: 2
Quote:
Originally Posted by tsteb View Post
Well it's a light bar, so only one red and one black wire coming from it.
Sure, but it still likely draws a heavy amperage load. How many lights on it and what wattage are they?
__________________
When you have a choice, buy American.

Jerry Bransford is online now   Quote Quick Reply
Old 06-11-2013, 04:29 AM   #5
Jeeper
 
Zdrisko's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 172
Pics? The most important thing when wiring is the ground. Ground each light separate.

What are you using for the on/off switch?
Autozone or? sells what's called a dimmer switch (around $7) you can mount to the left of your pedals and can be used to turn them on/off. This is how I mounted my frame lights.
Must've deleted my pics, I'll grab some in a bit.
Zdrisko is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 06-11-2013, 07:00 AM   #6
Jeeper
 
tsteb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: North Carolina coast
Posts: 890
Quote:
Originally Posted by Zdrisko View Post
Pics? The most important thing when wiring is the ground. Ground each light separate.

What are you using for the on/off switch?
Autozone or? sells what's called a dimmer switch (around $7) you can mount to the left of your pedals and can be used to turn them on/off. This is how I mounted my frame lights.
Must've deleted my pics, I'll grab some in a bit.
Here are a few pics


Click image for larger version

Name:	image-2321398549.jpg
Views:	59
Size:	222.0 KB
ID:	260210



Click image for larger version

Name:	image-1494431941.jpg
Views:	57
Size:	217.1 KB
ID:	260211

And I'm wiring this to a daystar rocker switch
tsteb is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 06-11-2013, 07:12 AM   #7
Jeeper
 
Rubi513's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Conroe, Texas
Posts: 1,577
Without knowing the exact wattage I will guess that its a 12" double row led. Most standard leds are 3 watts each. So you would have 72 watts on this light. 72 watts divided by 12 volts would equal 6 amps. So as long as your switch is good for 6 amps your golden, but personally like Jerry said I would wire in a relay. You may decide you want a larger light.
__________________
"I have not failed. I've just found 10,000 ways that won't work."
Rubi513 is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 06-11-2013, 07:26 AM   #8
Jeeper
 
tsteb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: North Carolina coast
Posts: 890
Sorry forgot to say that. Yes it is 72w.
tsteb is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 06-11-2013, 08:04 AM   #9
Jeeper
 
Rubi513's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Conroe, Texas
Posts: 1,577
Well then make sure your switch is good for 6 amps. Your black wire is the ground. You can run it straight to the negative on your battery or to somewhere metal on your jeep. Be sure to clean off any paint where you make this connection. The red wire is your hot. Your switch is just breaking the connection from your source of power to this red wire. So splice a wire to your red wire on your light and run it to one side of your switch. Take another wire from your switch to your positive side of your battery. Be sure to add an inline fuse to the wire that goes to the positive side of the battery.

I would recommend using 12 gauge wire with a 20 amp inline fuse.

Also if your switch is an illuminated type you will have to run a ground to the switch. It would have 3 terminals on it if that is the case. Usually the ground terminal is a different color. If not, it may be labeled showing what is what. PM me if you have any questions.
__________________
"I have not failed. I've just found 10,000 ways that won't work."
Rubi513 is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 06-11-2013, 08:13 AM   #10
Jeeper
 
tsteb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: North Carolina coast
Posts: 890
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rubi513 View Post
Well then make sure your switch is good for 6 amps. Your black wire is the ground. You can run it straight to the negative on your battery or to somewhere metal on your jeep. Be sure to clean off any paint where you make this connection. The red wire is your hot. Your switch is just breaking the connection from your source of power to this red wire. So splice a wire to your red wire on your light and run it to one side of your switch. Take another wire from your switch to your positive side of your battery. Be sure to add an inline fuse to the wire that goes to the positive side of the battery.

I would recommend using 12 gauge wire with a 20 amp inline fuse.

Also if your switch is an illuminated type you will have to run a ground to the switch. It would have 3 terminals on it if that is the case. Usually the ground terminal is a different color. If not, it may be labeled showing what is what. PM me if you have any questions.
Alright thank you
tsteb is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 06-11-2013, 08:47 AM   #11
Jeeper
 
Atthehop's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: NW, NJ
Posts: 3,822
Use relays

Here is a diagram for relays.
__________________
Retired my 94 YJ 4cyl 5spd @ 200K
Now in a 04 TJ 4cyl 5spd CV @120K+
Both as a commuter vehicle in NW, NJ
April 2012.downsized and now a 99er.
Atthehop is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 06-11-2013, 10:56 AM   #12
Knows a couple things...

WF Supporting Member
 
Jerry Bransford's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Escondido, Calif.
Posts: 31,356
Images: 2
Quote:
Originally Posted by tsteb View Post
Sorry forgot to say that. Yes it is 72w.
LED lights don't draw much current (amperes), that LED info made a huge difference so X2 on the above, no relay is needed. The above advice to use 12 gauge wire & a 20 amp fuse with just a good heavy duty switch is good.
__________________
When you have a choice, buy American.

Jerry Bransford is online now   Quote Quick Reply
Old 06-11-2013, 11:41 AM   #13
Jeeper
 
freeskier's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Longmont, CO
Posts: 2,513
I'd still use a relay so you aren't snaking all that 12 gauge wire through the cab. I think it's a lot cleaner too and most high current switches are big ugly things.
__________________
CU Boulder Aerospace Engineering
freeskier is online now   Quote Quick Reply
Old 06-11-2013, 12:33 PM   #14
Knows a couple things...

WF Supporting Member
 
Jerry Bransford's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Escondido, Calif.
Posts: 31,356
Images: 2
Quote:
Originally Posted by freeskier View Post
I'd still use a relay so you aren't snaking all that 12 gauge wire through the cab. I think it's a lot cleaner too and most high current switches are big ugly things.
That's a valid point & my way of thinking too but then wiring a relay in is no big deal to me or you. In this case, unlike most driving light installations that don't use lower current LED lights, either would be fine.
__________________
When you have a choice, buy American.

Jerry Bransford is online now   Quote Quick Reply
Old 06-11-2013, 12:51 PM   #15
Jeeper
 
WeekenderATX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Austin, TX
Posts: 561
If I were to install 2 separate LED lights, like a pair of Rigid Dually's, I run them in parallel, right?
WeekenderATX is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 06-11-2013, 12:56 PM   #16
Knows a couple things...

WF Supporting Member
 
Jerry Bransford's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Escondido, Calif.
Posts: 31,356
Images: 2
Quote:
Originally Posted by WeekenderATX View Post
If I were to install 2 separate LED lights, like a pair of Rigid Dually's, I run them in parallel, right?
Yes. Connecting them in series would only give each light in the pair 6 volts instead of the 12 volts they will receive when they are wired in parallel.
__________________
When you have a choice, buy American.

Jerry Bransford is online now   Quote Quick Reply
Old 06-11-2013, 03:50 PM   #17
Jeeper
 
Zdrisko's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 172
Quote:
Originally Posted by zdrisko View Post
pics? The most important thing when wiring is the ground. Ground each light separate.

What are you using for the on/off switch?
Autozone or? Sells what's called a dimmer switch (around $7) you can mount to the left of your pedals and can be used to turn them on/off. This is how i mounted my frame lights.
Must've deleted my pics, i'll grab some in a bit.


Click image for larger version

Name:	ForumRunner_20130611_164828.jpg
Views:	35
Size:	224.8 KB
ID:	260353



Click image for larger version

Name:	ForumRunner_20130611_164840.jpg
Views:	29
Size:	127.9 KB
ID:	260352

Zdrisko is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Jeep Wrangler Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off




» Network Links
»Jeep Parts
» Featured Product

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:15 AM.



Jeep®, Wrangler, Liberty, Wagoneer, Cherokee, and Grand Cherokee are copyrighted and trademarked to Chrysler Motors LLC.
Wranglerforum.com is not in any way associated with the Chrysler Motors LLC