Wiring switches - Jeep Wrangler Forum
Jeep Wrangler Forum

Go Back   Jeep Wrangler Forum > TJ Jeep Wrangler Forum > TJ Tech Forum

Join Wrangler Forum Today


Reply
 
Thread Tools

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on WranglerForum.com
Old 12-03-2012, 11:24 AM   #1
Jeeper
 
Salem50001's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 365
Wiring switches

I will try to explain this to the best of my ability:

I want to wire in switches (Like the ARB style) and I wanted to check if this will work.

First to power the switches I will do a "Add-A-Circuit" and this will be done using the fuse box behind the glove box. Then using the pigtail from that "Add-A-Circuit" I will run my wires to the switches.

Then I will take the load wires from the switches and run them to the engine bay and put them on a fuse block. I want to do this because I do not have any lights yet but I want to wire everything up now.

So when I do add lights I will take the load wire from the light's circuit relay and hook it up the the fuse block where the load wires from the switched are in place.

I really hope I didn't confuse everyone, but I just wanted to see if my idea will work.

__________________
1998 Wrangler Sahara Moss Green and a work in progress!

Mods so far: Zone 3" Lift, Zone Nitro Shocks, JKS Front Adjustable Track-bar, JKS Disco's, 31"x10.5 AT, Cragar Soft 8's, OR-FAB Front Stubby Stinger Bumper, HighRock 4x4 Rear Bumper.
Salem50001 is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 12-03-2012, 11:39 AM   #2
Jeeper
 
Sherpa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Lehi, UT
Posts: 1,049
That's one way you can do it. I prefer to have my cockpit-mounted toggle switch control only the ground wire--this keeps all power wires out of the passenger compartment. But that's just a personal preference.

Your proposed way:


My preferred way:


As a recommendation, I wouldn't run hot wires without actually connecting them to their intended use (ie: fog lights, or whatever). If you won't install the lights for a while, I wouldn't install the wires, either.

__________________
Dempsey Bowling
My fleet: 91 Miata, 98 Wrangler Sport, 06 Mustang GT, 01 Suburban 8.1L, 14 Forte EX
Jeep mods: 4" longarm + 1" BL, 35" KM2s, 4.56s with dual ARBs... and lots of scratched armor
Sherpa is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 12-03-2012, 11:48 AM   #3
Jeeper
 
Salem50001's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 365
Ok I know my picture is not a proper wiring diagram but I hope this is kinda clear it up. The only hot wires running would be ran to the added in fuse block in the engine bay. And they would only be hot when I flip the switch since they are the load wires coming off of the switches.

Therefore when I want to add in another light I just do the same thing but add it to the second placement on my added fuse block.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	image-721968352.jpg
Views:	37
Size:	119.7 KB
ID:	184123  
__________________
1998 Wrangler Sahara Moss Green and a work in progress!

Mods so far: Zone 3" Lift, Zone Nitro Shocks, JKS Front Adjustable Track-bar, JKS Disco's, 31"x10.5 AT, Cragar Soft 8's, OR-FAB Front Stubby Stinger Bumper, HighRock 4x4 Rear Bumper.
Salem50001 is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 12-03-2012, 11:53 AM   #4
Jeeper
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 425
Good wiring practice says that all circuits get a fuse no more than 18" from the (+) battery connection, including the relay low power side. This protects the entire remaining length of wire against a short circuit.

Both of the stock fuse panels (in the glovebox and under the hood) comply with the 18" rule. If you are mounting a remote fuse panel (which I did in my Jeep in the Instatrunk) then you use a main fuse of 100A or more to protect the main feed to the new fuse panel.

Under my hood I use inline fuses to protect the lighting circuits, placed near the battery, within 18".

If you are going to use a fuse tap for relay power, then use an inline 3A fuse in the red wire that feeds the relays.
__________________
Gary
1967 Kaiser Commando
2001 Grand Cherokee WJ
2003 Rubicon TJ
KaiserJeep is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 12-03-2012, 11:56 AM   #5
Jeeper
 
Salem50001's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 365
I should have added but yes I plan to. The wire running from the battery to the relay for the lights will have an inline fuse.
__________________
1998 Wrangler Sahara Moss Green and a work in progress!

Mods so far: Zone 3" Lift, Zone Nitro Shocks, JKS Front Adjustable Track-bar, JKS Disco's, 31"x10.5 AT, Cragar Soft 8's, OR-FAB Front Stubby Stinger Bumper, HighRock 4x4 Rear Bumper.
Salem50001 is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Jeep Wrangler Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



logo carid shop wrangler parts carid fender flares custom wheels store avs deflectors at carid

» Network Links
»Jeep Parts
» Featured Product

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:02 AM.



Jeep®, Wrangler, Liberty, Wagoneer, Cherokee, and Grand Cherokee are copyrighted and trademarked to Chrysler Motors LLC.
Wranglerforum.com is not in any way associated with the Chrysler Motors LLC