Would this switch work for Hella Black Magic Driving lights? - Jeep Wrangler Forum
Jeep Wrangler Forum

Go Back   Jeep Wrangler Forum > TJ Jeep Wrangler Forum > TJ Tech Forum

Join Wrangler Forum Today


Reply
 
Thread Tools

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on WranglerForum.com
Old 04-15-2013, 06:40 PM   #1
Jeeper
 
Jwolfer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 864
Would this switch work for Hella Black Magic Driving lights?

The switch the lights came with is pretty weak in my opinion so I want to get something better. Would this be an option? Would it be relatively easy to make work?

Pilot PLSW26 Safety Cover Racing Toggle Switch : Amazon.com : Automotive

Jwolfer is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 04-15-2013, 06:50 PM   #2
Jeeper
 
Atthehop's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: NW, NJ
Posts: 3,698
Any switch will work but you should run the lights through relays. I have those lights with 100 watt bulbs through relays and a wireless switch.

__________________
Retired my 94 YJ 4cyl 5spd @ 200K
Now in a 04 TJ 4cyl 5spd CV @120K+
Both as a commuter vehicle in NW, NJ
April 2012.downsized and now a 99er.
Atthehop is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 04-15-2013, 06:51 PM   #3
Jeeper
 
Jwolfer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 864
I have the 55w version that comes with a wiring harness. I think it should be plug and play (of sorts) but I am a little bit electronically challenged.
Jwolfer is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 04-15-2013, 09:15 PM   #4
Jeeper
 
Jwolfer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 864
Anyone else have any idea or input?
Jwolfer is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 04-15-2013, 09:20 PM   #5
Knows a couple things...

WF Supporting Member
 
Jerry Bransford's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Escondido, Calif.
Posts: 29,137
Images: 2
Does that wiring harness have a relay (clicks when it turns on/off) embedded somewhere in it?
__________________
When you have a choice, buy American.

Jerry Bransford is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 04-15-2013, 09:32 PM   #6
Jeeper
 
Jwolfer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 864
Yes it does.
Jwolfer is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 04-15-2013, 09:35 PM   #7
Knows a couple things...

WF Supporting Member
 
Jerry Bransford's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Escondido, Calif.
Posts: 29,137
Images: 2
That it has a relay means the on-off switch doesn't have be especially heavy duty. Any good quality switch will work fine since all the switch does is to turn the relay on & off. The relay is what provides the power to the lights. Think of a relay as a remote-controlled heavy-duty on-off switch.
__________________
When you have a choice, buy American.

Jerry Bransford is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 04-15-2013, 09:41 PM   #8
Jeeper
 
Jwolfer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 864
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jerry Bransford View Post
That it has a relay means the on-off switch doesn't have be especially heavy duty. Any good quality switch will work fine since all the switch does is to turn the relay on & off. The relay is what provides the power to the lights. Think of a relay as a remote-controlled heavy-duty on-off switch.
Good info, thanks. The only thing is when I said weak I meant not cool enough for me I think this switch just looks better.
Jwolfer is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 04-15-2013, 09:51 PM   #9
Knows a couple things...

WF Supporting Member
 
Jerry Bransford's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Escondido, Calif.
Posts: 29,137
Images: 2
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jwolfer View Post
Good info, thanks. The only thing is when I said weak I meant not cool enough for me I think this switch just looks better.
Here's another pretty cool switch that would definitely work.
Attached Images
 
__________________
When you have a choice, buy American.

Jerry Bransford is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 04-15-2013, 09:55 PM   #10
Jeeper
 
n00g7's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Bay Area, CA // Western Wisconsin
Posts: 1,634
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jerry Bransford View Post
Here's another pretty cool switch that would definitely work.

Guy 1: Jerry, I think it's missing something, like maybe insulation to keep you from zapping yourself.
Jerry: HELL NAW, IT'S GOT A 2ND FUSE!! TWO FUSES!!!! TOTALLY SAFE!!
Guy 1: Whatever.
n00g7 is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 04-15-2013, 10:03 PM   #11
Jeeper
 
SecretAgentMan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 175
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jerry Bransford View Post
Here's another pretty cool switch that would definitely work.
Quote:
Originally Posted by n00g7 View Post
Guy 1: Jerry, I think it's missing something, like maybe insulation to keep you from zapping yourself.
Jerry: HELL NAW, IT'S GOT A 2ND FUSE!! TWO FUSES!!!! TOTALLY SAFE!!
Guy 1: Whatever.
If you're worried about zapping yourself, just switch the ground!!!
__________________
04 TJ
- - - -
Has anybody seen Amir???
SecretAgentMan is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 04-15-2013, 10:12 PM   #12
Knows a couple things...

WF Supporting Member
 
Jerry Bransford's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Escondido, Calif.
Posts: 29,137
Images: 2
Quote:
Originally Posted by n00g7 View Post
Guy 1: Jerry, I think it's missing something, like maybe insulation to keep you from zapping yourself.
Jerry: HELL NAW, IT'S GOT A 2ND FUSE!! TWO FUSES!!!! TOTALLY SAFE!!
Guy 1: Whatever.
Take two humor pills & call me in the morning.
Attached Images
 
__________________
When you have a choice, buy American.

Jerry Bransford is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 04-15-2013, 10:40 PM   #13
Jeeper
 
n00g7's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Bay Area, CA // Western Wisconsin
Posts: 1,634
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jerry Bransford View Post
Take two humor pills & call me in the morning.
I didn't intentionally name the hypothetical guy Jerry, lol, unconscious decision. I simply found it amusing that it had two fuses. Perhaps for a negative supply, which in addition to the positive voltage of the lightning, was the secret to bringing Frankenstein to life.
n00g7 is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 04-16-2013, 12:22 AM   #14
Jeeper
 
Jwolfer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 864
Seems legit. So would that original switch work??
Jwolfer is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 04-16-2013, 12:37 AM   #15
Jeeper
 
n00g7's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Bay Area, CA // Western Wisconsin
Posts: 1,634
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jwolfer View Post
Seems legit. So would that original switch work??

Yeah it'll work no problem, just hook it up like the directions tell you for the original one.
n00g7 is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 04-16-2013, 12:37 AM   #16
Knows a couple things...

WF Supporting Member
 
Jerry Bransford's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Escondido, Calif.
Posts: 29,137
Images: 2
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jwolfer View Post
Seems legit. So would that original switch work??
That switch on Amazon you gave the link to would be a very good choice, it'd work very well for that job.
__________________
When you have a choice, buy American.

Jerry Bransford is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 04-16-2013, 12:51 AM   #17
Jeeper
 
Jwolfer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 864
That's what I figured but I was just making sure before I placed the order. Thanks for the help (and jokes) guys!
Jwolfer is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 04-16-2013, 09:24 AM   #18
Jeeper
 
sparky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Phila
Posts: 1,616
Jerry, where do you get the knife switch?
sparky is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 04-16-2013, 09:34 AM   #19
Knows a couple things...

WF Supporting Member
 
Jerry Bransford's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Escondido, Calif.
Posts: 29,137
Images: 2
Quote:
Originally Posted by sparky View Post
Jerry, where do you get the knife switch?
I have a local Frankenstein owners electrical parts store I use for parts like those.
__________________
When you have a choice, buy American.

Jerry Bransford is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 04-16-2013, 09:51 AM   #20
Jeeper
 
OhSixTJ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 1,009
Quote:
Originally Posted by sparky View Post
Jerry, where do you get the knife switch?
I think I've seen that at radio (cellphone) shack
OhSixTJ is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 04-17-2013, 09:42 AM   #21
Jeeper
 
sparky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Phila
Posts: 1,616
Not like that one. RS has little plastic ones, not the serious stuff.

sparky is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Jeep Wrangler Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off




» Network Links
»Jeep Parts
» Featured Product

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:52 AM.



Jeep®, Wrangler, Liberty, Wagoneer, Cherokee, and Grand Cherokee are copyrighted and trademarked to Chrysler Motors LLC.
Wranglerforum.com is not in any way associated with the Chrysler Motors LLC