89 YJ circuit board - Jeep Wrangler Forum
Jeep Wrangler Forum

Go Back   Jeep Wrangler Forum > YJ Jeep Wrangler Forum > YJ Tech Forum

Join Wrangler Forum Today


Reply
 
Thread Tools

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on WranglerForum.com
Old 07-24-2012, 05:38 PM   #1
Jeeper
 
mudbug89's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: southern cali
Posts: 60
89 YJ circuit board

Hi, i'm obviosly new here and really need some help. I have an 89 wrangler yj 4cyl stick. The gauges dont work except the speedometer. the flimsy circuit board is what i think the problem is. The connectors are all clean and everything. now i was thinking of hardwiring the connectors and just bypassing the board all together since i hear it has loads of problems anyway. just wondering if anyone has done this before and has some tips and possibly pictures? Thank you for your time.

mudbug89 is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 07-24-2012, 07:22 PM   #2
Jeeper
 
90DesertTanYJ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: JAX, FL
Posts: 635
I just asked this same question over on JF not a week ago. From what I was told it isnt all that hard you just have to either have an FSM or follow the pathways to figure out the wiring. Doesnt look all that difficult. He had hard wired his lighting as well by soldering wires to the little copper tabs that stick of the bulb socket. Used 16 gauge wire and the appropriate ring crimp terminals that fit the little posts that stick thru the plastic housingfor the gauges. My ammeter was my culprit but I went back in and cleaned it and its working fine. Still only have one bulb burning so thats pissing me off. Ive already hardwired battery power in to the clock because that copper pathway is right on the edge of the circuit paper and mine was frayed all the way down. I just cant bring myself to say circuit board. The bean counters at Jeep and VDO need their collective arses kicked on that one. I worked all day Sunday on the warning bulbs and directional circuit paper. That one will be a lot more tedious if you need to do it.

Good luck to ya and you can be the first to do the write up on this project! (I think anyway)

90DesertTanYJ is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 07-24-2012, 08:22 PM   #3
kik
Jeeper
 
kik's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 4,336
Images: 1
Or, you can get one of these. Gauge Cluster Circuit Board CB-1
kik is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 07-25-2012, 11:51 AM   #4
Jeeper
 
mudbug89's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: southern cali
Posts: 60
thanks for the info, do you have the link to the original thread you're talking about? i think i might be the first to just totally do away with the circuit paper. i'll try to take pics to make it easier for anyone who wants to do this. i would buy that but #1 it's $80 and #2 i want it to last and this paper circuit just seems to have so many problems. thank you for thelink though. if all else fails, i'll just buy a new one.
mudbug89 is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 07-26-2012, 06:35 AM   #5
Jeeper
 
90DesertTanYJ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: JAX, FL
Posts: 635
There wasnt any link really. I just asked about it and got that response. This inspired me and I snatched my gauge cluster out and worked thru the circuits last night. Its gonna be pretty simple on the gauges and clock. On the gauges, the bottom peg has ignition voltage, the middle is ground and the top peg is the input Tie all the ignition voltage and ground pegs together to one common and individually run each input wire back to the connector. Lighting has power and ground and you could link all of them to one common lead. Somewhere along the way pick up the clock ground off one of the two circuits. Actually you could combine all the grounds but I think I will use two leads. Lastly the power to the clock is a lone battery feed so it will run when the truck is off.

The only weirdness I see is the Volt meter (Ammeter). It has a seperate ignition power feed to the top pin and the normal ign feed to the bottom as well. That is accomplished with the jumper wires at the connector. I dont know enough to say for sure it couldnt be included in a common circuit or it would be affected by the other gauges. Safe way would be to have separate leads.

I am going to find some kind of male and female connector to use so if necessary the dash can be unplugged and removed but you wouldnt have to. It will take a 7, 8 or 9 pins depending on how you set up. The old connector has 12 pins but 3 are blank and two are jumpers for the different sides of the circuit paper.



Heres the connector color code:

Violet- Temp input
W/Bk- Ignition feed
BK - Ground
BRN - Fuel
BLU - Oil
Or/Bk- Lighting
Pink - Battery

Maybe I will work on it tonight but I still have to find a M/F plug to wire it thru.
90DesertTanYJ is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 07-27-2012, 10:55 AM   #6
Jeeper
 
90DesertTanYJ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: JAX, FL
Posts: 635
Didnt find a 10 pin plug but I did find a 6 and a 2 at the local Radio Shack here in BFE Alabama. I am going to use the 6 for the gauge inputs and the 2 pin for common ground and lighting feed. Got the camera out so I will document everything and do a write up in the next day or two.
90DesertTanYJ is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 12-03-2012, 12:32 PM   #7
Jeeper
 
mudbug89's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: southern cali
Posts: 60
srry, havn't been on here in a while, away for work. thanks guys, i ended up buying that circuit board, i know there's another problem with the wiring so out comes the volt meter! time to track it down.
mudbug89 is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 12-03-2012, 07:16 PM   #8
Jeeper
 
90DesertTanYJ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: JAX, FL
Posts: 635
I finished wiring mine and it works great. Well I havent done the lighting but I am gonna put some red LEDs in there.
90DesertTanYJ is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 12-04-2012, 12:53 PM   #9
Jeeper
 
mudbug89's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: southern cali
Posts: 60
you have that thread on it up yet?
mudbug89 is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 12-05-2012, 08:47 AM   #10
Jeeper
 
90DesertTanYJ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: JAX, FL
Posts: 635
Not really but I have pics of what I did and a simple drawing of the wiring set up. Tedious as all electrical can be but pretty simple with great results.

Heres the wiring diagram and a pic of the finished product.




90DesertTanYJ is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Reply

Tags
board , circuit , gauge , hardwire , malfunction

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Jeep Wrangler Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



logo carid shop wrangler parts carid fender flares custom wheels store avs deflectors at carid
» Rates
Get low rates on auto insurance in Canada!

» Network Links
»Jeep Parts
» Featured Product

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:08 AM.



Jeep®, Wrangler, Liberty, Wagoneer, Cherokee, and Grand Cherokee are copyrighted and trademarked to Chrysler Motors LLC.
Wranglerforum.com is not in any way associated with the Chrysler Motors LLC