Chevy 350. Where did you place your NOVAK motor mounts on your frame? - Jeep Wrangler Forum
Jeep Wrangler Forum

Go Back   Jeep Wrangler Forum > YJ Jeep Wrangler Forum > YJ Tech Forum

Join Wrangler Forum Today


Reply
 
Thread Tools

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on WranglerForum.com
Old 06-14-2014, 05:55 PM   #1
Jeeper
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Oklahoma where the wind blows everything away
Posts: 50
Chevy 350. Where did you place your NOVAK motor mounts on your frame?

Was just trying to get some feed back on the location to place your Novak motor mounts on the frame like how far back and how high on the frame? Was just wondering so I can get a general idea. Thank you for any feed back.

rockshaker is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 06-15-2014, 03:51 AM   #2
Jeeper
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Adair Co. KY
Posts: 429
Generally you want them close to the front to give you as much driveshaft length as you can, and to be able to remove distributor without having to pull the motor ha. But also need to save room for a fan. the position will vary from application to application to an extent. Also take into consideration air cleaner clearance. I'm having to run a two inch filter to get my hood to clear. I used to MORE mounts and really like them. They dictate the position of the motor and I am quite satisfied. Saved lots of figuring and guess work on my part

__________________
My 305 swap http://www.wranglerforum.com/f8/89-y...ad-256560.html
Debating a Chevy v8 swap? read this thread
http://www.wranglerforum.com/f330/ch...l#post10826122
kywaterman is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 06-15-2014, 10:13 PM   #3
Jeeper
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Oklahoma where the wind blows everything away
Posts: 50
Thank you KY. I already have my Novak motor mounts. I'm waiting on my tranny guy to get my tranny done and I'm going to try to put it all together before putting it in for placement. I will be keeping in touch with ya to see how you wired it all in....
rockshaker is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 06-15-2014, 11:20 PM   #4
Jeeper
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Adair Co. KY
Posts: 429
Just now realized you were the build thread I posted on too. Yeah shoot me a pm any time and I'll try and help. Going with a carb your wiring wont be too tough. I went with a different chassis harness so mines a lil different. Should be able to thin your stock harness down and just retain starter solenoid, and a switched ignition wire to power the coil. and another for your electric choke if your running one. Also depending on if your going to run stock gauges you'll have to keep the wires for those. That all is when a factory service manual comes in real handy, too bad I don't have one. several of the guys on here do though and will prolly help you out
__________________
My 305 swap http://www.wranglerforum.com/f8/89-y...ad-256560.html
Debating a Chevy v8 swap? read this thread
http://www.wranglerforum.com/f330/ch...l#post10826122
kywaterman is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 06-16-2014, 07:25 PM   #5
Jeeper
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 207
Mine were located to provide the minimum firewall clearance Ky commented about.

I also used the Novak mounts and found their adjust ability both fore/aft and up down to be helpful in fine tuning the location when all the various parts came together. Mine are welded in just behind the front shock towers on the frame with the top of the mount about flush with the top of the frame but when you are trying to get down to 1/2" clearance with the firewall you really need to put the parts together and find the right location for your situation.

I have the short water pump which helped on the front end clearance but made alternator mounting options pretty limited.

What transmission and transfer case set up are you using?
WICruiser is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 06-18-2014, 10:14 AM   #6
Jeeper
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Oklahoma where the wind blows everything away
Posts: 50
Thank you for reading and adding input. I am using the jeep 231J TC and the 700r4 tranny with the Novak adapter kit. I bought a champion radiator. I have the long water pump so for just having to adapt a Alt and power steering pump was really no problem. If I need the extra room I can always go with a direct drive fan. No clutch in between. I set the motor in just to get an eye on where things would kinda go and I thought there would be plenty of room from the fan to radiator. Of course I'll have a better idea when I get my tranny back and get it all together and on. I'm not afraid of the drive shafts I already figured I would have to fix them.
rockshaker is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 06-21-2014, 12:03 AM   #7
Newb
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: Arizona
Posts: 3
Recommend MORE mounts.

mooncruiser is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Jeep Wrangler Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off




» Featured Product

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:12 PM.



Jeep®, Wrangler, Liberty, Wagoneer, Cherokee, and Grand Cherokee are copyrighted and trademarked to Chrysler Motors LLC.
Wranglerforum.com is not in any way associated with the Chrysler Motors LLC