Electrical Problems - Jeep Wrangler Forum
Jeep Wrangler Forum

Go Back   Jeep Wrangler Forum > YJ Jeep Wrangler Forum > YJ Tech Forum

Join Wrangler Forum Today


Reply
 
Thread Tools

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on WranglerForum.com
Old 11-14-2012, 08:07 AM   #1
Jeeper
 
bmmiller's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Germantown, TN
Posts: 162
Electrical Problems

Oddly enough I had a battery die and right after my lighter socket would not work, horn, extra lights I have added, or my radio would also not work. I have check all the fuses. Anyone have any advice on what this problem could be?

bmmiller is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 11-14-2012, 09:22 AM   #2
Sponsoring Vendor
 
Ibuildembig's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Fruitland, Missouri
Posts: 8,390
Believe it or not, I have seen several lighter sockets that had a penny stuck in them and shorted out.

Will it start and run still?

Ibuildembig is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 11-14-2012, 09:41 AM   #3
Jeeper
 
bmmiller's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Germantown, TN
Posts: 162
Yeah. It runs fine. Ever since the battery went dead I replaced the battery with cable connectors and I haven't had any problem with it running. Just can't get some things to work and they haven't ever since my battery died. Also I just installed a new lighter and nothing.
bmmiller is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 11-14-2012, 09:44 AM   #4
Sponsoring Vendor
 
Ibuildembig's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Fruitland, Missouri
Posts: 8,390
You check the fuses under the hood too right? Seems odd that some stuff works while others do not.
Ibuildembig is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 11-14-2012, 09:51 AM   #5
Jeeper
 
bmmiller's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Germantown, TN
Posts: 162
Yeah. I have checked all the fuses
bmmiller is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 11-14-2012, 09:54 AM   #6
Sponsoring Vendor
 
Ibuildembig's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Fruitland, Missouri
Posts: 8,390
well I would start with the radio, put it out and see if you have power on both the feed wires...then if you do, move on to the next thing not working
Ibuildembig is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 11-14-2012, 10:11 AM   #7
Newb
 
izulookin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 13
I understand you say you checked the fuses but what I would suggest based on my experience is to check the fuses with a digital multi meter with the jeep running and make sure they are good. I have seen them look fine to the naked eye yet be blown. to do this ground one side of the meter to the Fran then with the other lead check both small metal tabs on the top of the fuse.
izulookin is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 11-14-2012, 10:28 AM   #8
Jeeper
 
bmmiller's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Germantown, TN
Posts: 162
What kind of meter would I need?
bmmiller is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 11-14-2012, 10:32 AM   #9
Jeeper
 
Xpress's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: El Cajon
Posts: 2,585
It's pretty easy to check a use using the Ohm setting on a multi-meter. You can pick one up for about $20 at a local parts store. If the fuse is good it should read 0 Ohms.
__________________


2.5L Genius of some sort.
Xpress is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 11-14-2012, 10:36 AM   #10
Jeeper
 
bmmiller's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Germantown, TN
Posts: 162
Thanks express. I have pulled out my ac unit to take out the radio and there are wires spliced every direction. Shouldn't the radio be grounded somewhere?
bmmiller is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 11-14-2012, 10:37 AM   #11
Jeeper
 
Xpress's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: El Cajon
Posts: 2,585
It should, usually it would be through the harness though. Unless you have an aftermarket stereo.
__________________


2.5L Genius of some sort.
Xpress is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 11-14-2012, 10:39 AM   #12
President, ThumbJeeps

WF Supporting Member
 
sevenservices's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Mid-Michigan/Thumb
Posts: 3,947
Yes, but if you didn't unground it, how could it just happen at the same time?

Is there an accessory wire attached at the + side of the battery that maybe didn't get hooked back up along with the standard thick cable when replaced?
__________________
-Chris
President, ThumbJeeps
CB Callsign "AirForce One"


1994 Wrangler YJ I6 4.0 H/O Auto 3 spd. 4" RC (33x12.5) (15x8) 3:54 Gears
sevenservices is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 11-14-2012, 10:41 AM   #13
Jeeper
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Central Washington
Posts: 1,207
Yes the radio should be grounded, but sometimes the ground is through the chassis or the antenna connection. Most of the time the ground is the black wire.

Yes, check the fuses with an ohm meter, but since there are so many things out I would look for a fusable link or something common between those things before I would think several fuses would go bad.

Look for loose, broken connections, what else is out? Do you have dash and or headlights? How about brake lights?

there may also be a common ground, but I suspect you lost the 12v feed from somewhere.
__________________
Gotta stand by all you cool guys... Maybe it'll rub off?!
camarozz is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 11-14-2012, 10:42 AM   #14
Jeeper
 
bmmiller's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Germantown, TN
Posts: 162
Express it is after market and various colored wires and electric tape is everywhere. I'm already about to lose patience. This is the most ridiculous wiring job ever. I'll post a pic and there is a wire coming straight off my battery that is spliced with a wire that runs to the radio and lighter and toggle switches. It's all starting to make sense but how to fix it is now the issue.
bmmiller is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 11-14-2012, 10:43 AM   #15
Newb
 
izulookin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 13
like express said they are not expensive but I would go to either Home Depot lowes or menards to get one. they would be cheaper. and to use it you are checking for DC voltage and to so you you don't even have to pull the fuse.

as far as wires sliced in every direction who ever installed the radio instead of a 20 buck adapter the cut and spliced the wired. so your looking at speakers and power!! should be a green wire that goes to a ground! they probably used the ground from the radio harness. I'm sure you can find a wiring diagram or list of what's what on here or the Internet easily
izulookin is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 11-14-2012, 10:44 AM   #16
Jeeper
 
bmmiller's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Germantown, TN
Posts: 162
Nothing else is out. Just added lights and horn which oddly enough are connected to two switches. Lighter and radio is out too. Now that I look at it all these are somehow wired together.
bmmiller is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 11-14-2012, 10:46 AM   #17
Sponsoring Vendor
 
Ibuildembig's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Fruitland, Missouri
Posts: 8,390
cut it all out and start over IMO, everyone is a wiring genius but most go dumb at the wrists. I've wired cars for 30 years and it never ceases to amaze me what I see on a daily basis.
Ibuildembig is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 11-14-2012, 10:47 AM   #18
Jeeper
 
bmmiller's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Germantown, TN
Posts: 162
Click image for larger version

Name:	image-4255974227.jpg
Views:	39
Size:	147.4 KB
ID:	178335

Here is what I'm dealing with from the radio. I tried to spread out the wires as much as possible
bmmiller is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 11-14-2012, 10:50 AM   #19
Jeeper
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Central Washington
Posts: 1,207
Quote:
Originally Posted by bmmiller View Post
Express it is after market and various colored wires and electric tape is everywhere. I'm already about to lose patience. This is the most ridiculous wiring job ever. I'll post a pic and there is a wire coming straight off my battery that is spliced with a wire that runs to the radio and lighter and toggle switches. It's all starting to make sense but how to fix it is now the issue.
electric tape is not a bad idea, I use it but Im an electronic technician.

A meter will really help, I would start with following the 12v line. Doesnt matter which way, from the battery or from the equipment, but again I think you lost a common connection somewhere and chances are from the sounds of what you are describing its probably one of those black tape installs.
__________________
Gotta stand by all you cool guys... Maybe it'll rub off?!
camarozz is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 11-14-2012, 10:50 AM   #20
Newb
 
izulookin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 13
I see a small in line fuse you can check
izulookin is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 11-14-2012, 10:52 AM   #21
Jeeper
 
bmmiller's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Germantown, TN
Posts: 162
By inline fuse you mean the black box coming off an orange wire?
bmmiller is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 11-14-2012, 10:52 AM   #22
Jeeper
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Central Washington
Posts: 1,207
Quote:
Originally Posted by bmmiller View Post
Attachment 178335

Here is what I'm dealing with from the radio. I tried to spread out the wires as much as possible
Yeah, that is a poor use of black tape.

Ideally, crimp connectors, or even wire nuts would be better.

I usually, depending on how "ideal" I want the install, try and keep all the wires together so when the black tape falls off things wont short out.
__________________
Gotta stand by all you cool guys... Maybe it'll rub off?!
camarozz is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 11-14-2012, 10:53 AM   #23
Jeeper
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Central Washington
Posts: 1,207
Quote:
Originally Posted by bmmiller View Post
By inline fuse you mean the black box coming off an orange wire?
could be, but it doesnt explain the other problems.

oh, looking at the picture again, that black line is your antenna connection.
__________________
Gotta stand by all you cool guys... Maybe it'll rub off?!
camarozz is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 11-14-2012, 10:53 AM   #24
Jeeper
 
bmmiller's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Germantown, TN
Posts: 162
Scratch that. I think I found it. The inline fuse is in the clear casing coming off the orange wire.
bmmiller is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 11-14-2012, 10:54 AM   #25
Sponsoring Vendor
 
Ibuildembig's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Fruitland, Missouri
Posts: 8,390
^^^and it will fall off eventually
Ibuildembig is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 11-14-2012, 10:55 AM   #26
Jeeper
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Central Washington
Posts: 1,207
Quote:
Originally Posted by bmmiller View Post
Scratch that. I think I found it. The inline fuse is in the clear casing coming off the orange wire.
Still doesnt necessarily address the loss of power at the other accessories.
__________________
Gotta stand by all you cool guys... Maybe it'll rub off?!
camarozz is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 11-14-2012, 10:58 AM   #27
Jeeper
 
bmmiller's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Germantown, TN
Posts: 162
Camarozz they have wires tying in to each other
bmmiller is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 11-14-2012, 11:05 AM   #28
Jeeper
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Central Washington
Posts: 1,207
Quote:
Originally Posted by bmmiller View Post
Camarozz they have wires tying in to each other
For stereo installations, all wires should only have one connection. That is a general rule, although from a technical aspect there can be some that have another connection; but the systems are not designed for that.

Im looking at the picture again to see what if any help I can be.
__________________
Gotta stand by all you cool guys... Maybe it'll rub off?!
camarozz is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 11-14-2012, 11:06 AM   #29
Jeeper
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Central Washington
Posts: 1,207
Unless you mean there is one feed with several wires for power, thats not uncommon, but gives you a single point of failure.
__________________
Gotta stand by all you cool guys... Maybe it'll rub off?!
camarozz is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 11-14-2012, 11:12 AM   #30
Jeeper
 
bmmiller's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Germantown, TN
Posts: 162
Camarozz, that's what I am seeing. There is an orange wire that runs from the radio over to two added switches. One switch goes to lights on front bumper and other switch is the horn. There is another wire that is attached to these wires and it runs directly to the battery

bmmiller is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Jeep Wrangler Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off




» Featured Product

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:10 AM.



Jeep®, Wrangler, Liberty, Wagoneer, Cherokee, and Grand Cherokee are copyrighted and trademarked to Chrysler Motors LLC.
Wranglerforum.com is not in any way associated with the Chrysler Motors LLC