engine swap - Jeep Wrangler Forum
Jeep Wrangler Forum

Go Back   Jeep Wrangler Forum > YJ Jeep Wrangler Forum > YJ Tech Forum

Join Wrangler Forum Today


Reply
 
Thread Tools

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on WranglerForum.com
Old 09-21-2013, 01:14 PM   #1
Newb
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: nwflorida
Posts: 14
Send a message via Yahoo to pvarn57
engine swap

hey guys, need some help. I have an 87 wrangler with 4.2, 5 speed...the motor is knockin. will a 4.0 2000 model engine fit in place of the 4.2, I kno the intake will have to be changed but will everything else swap out?? thanks for any help.

pvarn57 is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 09-21-2013, 10:38 PM   #2
Jeeper
 
AllMudd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: SoCal
Posts: 1,350
Quote:
Originally Posted by pvarn57 View Post
hey guys, need some help. I have an 87 wrangler with 4.2, 5 speed...the motor is knockin. will a 4.0 2000 model engine fit in place of the 4.2, I kno the intake will have to be changed but will everything else swap out?? thanks for any help.
Eng mounts may be different. Yes the intake will need to be changed but IMO I would stick with the 4.0s EFI and you will need the harness and ECM. But everything else should work .

AllMudd is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 09-25-2013, 07:47 AM   #3
Newb
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: nwflorida
Posts: 14
Send a message via Yahoo to pvarn57
the engine is in a 2000 Cherokee....I didn't think the wiring harness would interchange...that's why I was going to keep the stock manifold and tb
pvarn57 is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 09-25-2013, 10:12 AM   #4
Jeeper
 
Xpress's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: El Cajon
Posts: 2,585
You can get the wiring harness to work out of the Cherokee with a bit of wire know-how. Not difficult to do, only time consuming.
__________________


2.5L Genius of some sort.
Xpress is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 09-26-2013, 05:15 PM   #5
Newb
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: nwflorida
Posts: 14
Send a message via Yahoo to pvarn57
To make my gauges work, can I swap the sending units from the 4.2 to the 4.0 for the temp and oil gauges without changing the wiring
pvarn57 is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Jeep Wrangler Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



logo carid shop wrangler parts carid fender flares custom wheels store avs deflectors at carid

» Network Links
»Jeep Parts
» Featured Product

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:05 PM.



Jeep®, Wrangler, Liberty, Wagoneer, Cherokee, and Grand Cherokee are copyrighted and trademarked to Chrysler Motors LLC.
Wranglerforum.com is not in any way associated with the Chrysler Motors LLC