Front axle swap - Jeep Wrangler Forum

Go Back   Jeep Wrangler Forum > YJ Jeep Wrangler Forum > YJ Tech Forum

Join Wrangler Forum Today


Reply
 
Thread Tools

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on WranglerForum.com
Old 03-21-2014, 02:54 PM   #1
Jeeper
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Posts: 213
Front axle swap

How hard would it be to swap out the front axle on my yj for a axle with lock out hubs. I want to get rid of the posi lock and just do lockout hubs. Are they any axles that just bolt right in place

Mv7fd is offline   Quote
Old 03-21-2014, 03:05 PM   #2
Supporting Member

WF Supporting Member
 
simonclay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Preston County, WV
Posts: 554
As far as I know the only axle that will bolt in is out of another yj. Nothing else has the correct spring perches or shock mounts. So some modification will be needed on anything other than a yj axle. Plus it needs to be drivers side drop.

__________________
"No matter what anyone says, it's YOUR Jeep, do what YOU want"

'95 YJ http://www.wranglerforum.com/f290/si...ad-371922.html
simonclay is offline   Quote
Old 03-21-2014, 07:32 PM   #3
Jeeper

WF Supporting Member
 
nmill5321's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Newburyport MA
Posts: 511
Quote:
Originally Posted by simonclay View Post
As far as I know the only axle that will bolt in is out of another yj. Nothing else has the correct spring perches or shock mounts. So some modification will be needed on anything other than a yj axle. Plus it needs to be drivers side drop.
Sounds about right
__________________
"Some days you eat the bear, and some days the bear eats you"

My Build: '92 YJ 4.0, AX15 with 4" RC lift, SYE, Tom Woods drive shaft, 33x12.50 Hankook Dynapro MT, 4.10's

-Nick
nmill5321 is offline   Quote
Old 03-21-2014, 07:45 PM   #4
IITYWTMWYBMAB

WF Supporting Member
::WF Administrator::
 
4Jeepn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Florence, KY
Posts: 10,788
What is it that you don't like about the posi lock that you feel the locking hubs will correct or provide?
__________________
79.96.85.00.01.97.00.97.93.97.95.94
CJ.XJ.CJ. TJ. TJ.ZJ. TJ.TJ. ZJ.ZJ.YJ. XJ
4Jeepn is offline   Quote
Old 03-21-2014, 08:07 PM   #5
Jeeper

WF Supporting Member
 
nmill5321's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Newburyport MA
Posts: 511
I plan on doing the posi lock over the summer to get away from the failure prone CAD. But if you really don't like it (posi lock), you could always pick up TJ axle shafts..
__________________
"Some days you eat the bear, and some days the bear eats you"

My Build: '92 YJ 4.0, AX15 with 4" RC lift, SYE, Tom Woods drive shaft, 33x12.50 Hankook Dynapro MT, 4.10's

-Nick
nmill5321 is offline   Quote
Old 03-21-2014, 09:09 PM   #6
Jeeper
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Posts: 213
I just like the lock out hubs and I figured if I could do a bolt and play stronger axle with lock out hubs that would be nice. With my posi lok the front driveshaft still turns while driving. So I guess I just need to adjust it somehow
Mv7fd is offline   Quote
Old 03-22-2014, 08:09 AM   #7
Jeeper
 
Jkilbert's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: McKeesport,Pa
Posts: 204
Send a message via Yahoo to Jkilbert
You can do it but you also will either need to change the entire rear axle or buy new axles with bolt patterns to match the front. CJ axles would be your best bet. So you would need both axles, new spring/shock mounts, 4 new wheels, etc. the best bet to eliminate the CAD is to just put a TJ right shaft in it. If you're thinking of gas mileage it's not noticeable. I have a 92 YJ 2.5j my buddy has an 01 TJ 2.5l I get about 1mpg better. I'm guessing due to the 5spd over his auto.
Jkilbert is offline   Quote
Old 03-22-2014, 08:32 AM   #8
Supporting Member

WF Supporting Member
 
simonclay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Preston County, WV
Posts: 554
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mv7fd View Post
I just like the lock out hubs and I figured if I could do a bolt and play stronger axle with lock out hubs that would be nice. With my posi lok the front driveshaft still turns while driving. So I guess I just need to adjust it somehow
It sounds like you have PERMA-lock. Or some homemade version of it. POSI-lock is selectable. You can engage or disengage the disconnect. Can you explain your set up? Maybe we can help
__________________
"No matter what anyone says, it's YOUR Jeep, do what YOU want"

'95 YJ http://www.wranglerforum.com/f290/si...ad-371922.html
simonclay is offline   Quote
Old 03-23-2014, 07:41 AM   #9
Jeeper
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Posts: 213
It's got what looks like a throttle cable you push in the red button and pull out and then do the same to disengage but you push in and then turn clock wise to lock it but it doesn't ever go flush with the dash so I think it doesn't disengage completely and that's why my front driveshaft still spins
Mv7fd is offline   Quote
Old 03-23-2014, 07:56 AM   #10
Supporting Member

WF Supporting Member
 
simonclay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Preston County, WV
Posts: 554
That's the same thing I have. Mine doesn't go completely flush when disengaging either, it sticks out about 1/8" or so. But my front driveshaft doesn't always spin like yours.

Has your posi lock ever worked correctly?
__________________
"No matter what anyone says, it's YOUR Jeep, do what YOU want"

'95 YJ http://www.wranglerforum.com/f290/si...ad-371922.html
simonclay is offline   Quote
Old 03-23-2014, 08:41 AM   #11
Jeeper
 
indirocz28's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Fort Hood/ BCS, TX
Posts: 1,069
You need to "disengage" it on the dash end, then pull the CAD cover off to see where your fork has the collar aligned on the axle. Once you do that, you may be able to see about adding a different spring or some type of shim inside the fork retaining housing.

I have had a 1 piece axle shaft set up for a long time now and it DOES make the front DS spin, not too noticeable on the mileage vs the 3.07 gearing and 35" tires.... Lol
__________________
MY1990 "Little YJ" Build: http://www.wranglerforum.com/f8/brou...ay-242064.html
Come wheel with us at Brazos Valley Off Road Ranch! http://www.wranglerforum.com/f53/bra...tx-237657.html
indirocz28 is offline   Quote
Old 03-23-2014, 04:25 PM   #12
Jeeper
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Posts: 213
I don't think it'll change gas milage really and that's not a big concern I just want it to stop spinning so things don't wear out as fast
Mv7fd is offline   Quote
Old 03-23-2014, 04:26 PM   #13
Jeeper
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Posts: 213
And I bought the jeep with it on there. Can I loosen the threads going into the cover or something to adjust it
Mv7fd is offline   Quote
Old 03-23-2014, 04:54 PM   #14
Jeeper
 
0III0forlife's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Ridgway, Pa.
Posts: 3,951
Sounds to me like you need to screw the cable deeper into the housing on the CAD.

I put the Posi Lock on mine a couple years ago, and it took me about 4 tries to get it adjusted properly.

You have to take the housing off the axle, and spin the housing while holding the cable with the wrench.
__________________
'87 YJ, 4.2L built and bored, 8.5" of lift, 8.8 rear, AX15/NP 231, Tom Woods drive shafts, Flat fenders, 12,000LB winch, Custom bumpers, Rattle can paint job. Never completed...
0III0forlife is offline   Quote
Old 03-23-2014, 06:32 PM   #15
Jeeper
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Posts: 213
I've give that a try thanks

Mv7fd is offline   Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off




Download our Mobile App

» Featured Product

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:59 PM.


User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging v3.1.0 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2015 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.

Jeep®, Wrangler, Liberty, Wagoneer, Cherokee, and Grand Cherokee are copyrighted and trademarked to Chrysler Motors LLC.
Wranglerforum.com is not in any way associated with the Chrysler Motors LLC