fuel level gauge(gas gauge) problem! - Jeep Wrangler Forum
Jeep Wrangler Forum

Go Back   Jeep Wrangler Forum > YJ Jeep Wrangler Forum > YJ Tech Forum

Join Wrangler Forum Today


Reply
 
Thread Tools

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on WranglerForum.com
Old 08-16-2010, 03:41 PM   #1
Newb
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 14
fuel level gauge(gas gauge) problem!

my fuel level gauge(gas gauge) aint working on my 95 jeep wrangler.. it stays on full.. what could be the problem??

rockcrawler808 is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 08-16-2010, 03:49 PM   #2
Jeeper
 
UABYJ94's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Panama City
Posts: 210
It has no ground for the gauge. When you loose a ground on the gauge it pegs out full. check your ground at the e-brake(most common location) or find the blk.yel wire from the sending unit and ohm it out to ground. Simple fix if you can't find the loose ground is to tie into the ground wire and attach it to a solid ground location.

UABYJ94 is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 08-16-2010, 04:13 PM   #3
Newb
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 14
there's alot of black & yellow wires which one is it??

is it bolted on to the body or on a wire harness??
rockcrawler808 is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 08-16-2010, 04:19 PM   #4
Jeeper
 
UABYJ94's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Panama City
Posts: 210
It will be coming from the sending uint at the fuel tank..
blk with a yellow stripe. The one under the dash should be under one of the bolts holding the e-brake assy. to the sidewall.
UABYJ94 is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 08-16-2010, 04:26 PM   #5
Jeeper
 
UABYJ94's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Panama City
Posts: 210
I'm about to get away from work and will check back this evening when I get home to see if you were able to find the ground at the fuel sending unit..Find a meter if you dont have one . it is an invaluable tool with our jeeps.
UABYJ94 is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 08-16-2010, 04:33 PM   #6
Newb
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 14
i think i found it.. do i cut that wire & ground it somewhere else??
rockcrawler808 is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 08-16-2010, 04:38 PM   #7
Jeeper
 
wasomma's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Baltimore, MD
Posts: 925
im having a similar problem I think, not sure yet i just gassed up went 70 miles and the tank is still pinged at full. I'll try this fix out.
__________________
http://i.imgur.com/hboF5oU.jpg
wasomma is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 08-16-2010, 04:54 PM   #8
Jeeper
 
UABYJ94's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Panama City
Posts: 210
just tap into it not cut it. And run it to the frame or clean body part that is getting metal to metal contact with the wire.
UABYJ94 is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 08-16-2010, 09:52 PM   #9
Newb
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by UABYJ94 View Post
just tap into it not cut it. And run it to the frame or clean body part that is getting metal to metal contact with the wire.
aight! imma try it out. ill let u know how it goes
rockcrawler808 is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 08-17-2010, 03:12 AM   #10
Newb
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 14
i disconnect my wire harness from my gauges & my fuel gauge still reads full

could my gauge be broken??
rockcrawler808 is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 08-17-2010, 04:48 AM   #11
Jeeper
 
chensley's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Mississippi
Posts: 444
Dude if your gas gauge stays on full then count yourself as lucky.

Listen to this..


*check some wires and some sending units*

Enjoy.
chensley is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 08-17-2010, 06:49 AM   #12
Newb
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 14
power & ground is good. so i open up the gauge, turn the needle to empty, plugged it back in & the needle went back up to full
rockcrawler808 is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 08-17-2010, 06:50 AM   #13
Jeeper
 
UABYJ94's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Panama City
Posts: 210
It will go to full as long as there is no ground. All of your sensors that require a ground will do that.
UABYJ94 is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 08-17-2010, 06:55 AM   #14
Jeeper
 
UABYJ94's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Panama City
Posts: 210
Don't move needles ,lol that is not a good habit to get into. They are old but still sensitive and I have seen a few times where they stopped working because the pressure spring is stretched when moved by hand.
Did grounding the blk/yel wire not work?
Did you find the ground coming from the gauge cluster connection to ground under the dash?
UABYJ94 is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 08-17-2010, 07:01 AM   #15
Newb
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 14
there was a lot of blk/ylw wires. i didnt know which one for pick lol

so i open up the dash to look if there's a blk/ylw wire on the harness for the gauges but there was nothing

rockcrawler808 is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 08-17-2010, 07:09 AM   #16
Jeeper
 
chensley's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Mississippi
Posts: 444
Quote:
Originally Posted by rockcrawler808 View Post
there was a lot of blk/ylw wires. i didnt know which one for pick lol

so i open up the dash to look if there's a blk/ylw wire on the harness for the gauges but there was nothing

98% of your electrical problems come from a faulty ground.
chensley is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 08-17-2010, 07:16 AM   #17
Jeeper
 
UABYJ94's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Panama City
Posts: 210
If you have the gauge cluster out then look at the circuit card that feeds the cluster ,find the ground strip in there and follow it to the connection plug the pin it coordinates with is the ground wire. I didn't bring my manual to work today so I dont have a reference to look at now,sorry.
UABYJ94 is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 08-17-2010, 02:42 PM   #18
Newb
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 14
i found 2 blk/ylw wire but one wire goes to my taillight & the other goes to my light switch

so... i took my gauge cluster out & tap the ground wires from there but gas gauge still aint workin.

if i remove my wire harness from the gas gauge the needle supposed to go down to empty right? cause mines stays on full.
rockcrawler808 is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 08-17-2010, 03:01 PM   #19
Newb
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 14
& i also found a gry/ylw ground that goes to my gauges..

am i not getting enough ground for my gas gauge or my sending unit?
rockcrawler808 is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 08-17-2010, 03:58 PM   #20
Jeeper
 
UABYJ94's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Panama City
Posts: 210
If you follow the ground wire to the tub then take it loose and scrap the paint til its bare metal to ensure a good ground connection from the gauge.
Not it will not go to empty aslong as there is no ground present..
No ground underneath then everything is up..
No ground connection gauge will read full(up).
What kind of shape was the circuit card in?? was there any corrosion built up on it??
Take it off of the cluster and verify you dont have any burnt spots in the traces. You may have burnt the ground trace from moisture or corrosion eating thru it..
It may take us a few things to trouble shoot before we find the problem but it will be found.
UABYJ94 is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 08-17-2010, 03:59 PM   #21
Jeeper
 
UABYJ94's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Panama City
Posts: 210
Are the lights in the cluster working??
UABYJ94 is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 08-17-2010, 04:03 PM   #22
Newb
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 14
circuit card is clean no corrosion or burnt spots.. everything works but the gas gauge
rockcrawler808 is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 08-17-2010, 04:11 PM   #23
Jeeper
 
UABYJ94's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Panama City
Posts: 210
Ok then lets try this. Take a jumper wire and run it from the ground side of the fuel gauge to a clean spot on the tub and see if it reads out.
UABYJ94 is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 08-17-2010, 04:17 PM   #24
Jeeper
 
UABYJ94's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Panama City
Posts: 210
Leave the gauge in the cluster ofcourse,,lol just run a jumper for the ground to see if it comes down....hmmm another ,maybe dumb question, how much gas is in the jeep last you know of?
UABYJ94 is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 08-17-2010, 05:57 PM   #25
Jeeper
 
UABYJ94's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Panama City
Posts: 210
Quote:
Originally Posted by rockcrawler808 View Post
power & ground is good. so i open up the gauge, turn the needle to empty, plugged it back in & the needle went back up to full
Here you said the power and ground are good... How did you verify it?? Did you ohm out the ground wire to the chasis/tub to get continuity?
Did you read 12v across the blk/yel(-) and org/blk(+) at the sending unit?
Ohm between the blk/yel and the tan/blk(sends signal to the gas gauge) wires?
I'm just trying to see waht all you have done so far as for trouble shooting..
UABYJ94 is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 08-18-2010, 02:13 AM   #26
Newb
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 14
i test my wires w/ this tool its all i got



power is good cause the tester lights up & i know ground is good cause i tap the two ground wires behind my cluster gauges & ground it somewhere else where ders good connection


i should have half tank of gas or a little bit less right now.


my wires on send unit colors are green/black, black/red, & blue
rockcrawler808 is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 08-18-2010, 07:03 AM   #27
Jeeper
 
UABYJ94's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Panama City
Posts: 210
Ok if this is the case then the only suggestion I have from here is to drop the tank and see if the arm on the sending unit is hung up. I was hoping that wouldn't be the case cause it can be a pita sometimes.
You need to stop by parts house, lowes, home depot or such and get a $10-$15 meter. Ohm the wires to ground to verify that you absalutely have ground at gauge cluster and sending unit then proceed to dropping the tank.
Once you get the tank dropped then you can see if the sending unit arm is hanging up not allowing it to drop with the gas level. You can ohm out the sending unit as you raise and lower the arm to make sure it is good.
UABYJ94 is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 10-08-2010, 01:49 PM   #28
Jeeper
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 18
I'm having the same problems as rockcrawler on my 91. Sending unit is out. Going to try some of your suggestions this weekend. Just wanted to thank you all for the info.
sjsnyder226 is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 12-05-2010, 09:05 AM   #29
JRB
Newb
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Oak Grove, Missouri
Posts: 8
Images: 1
I think I woud like to join this thread...mine has read empty for a while now. Developed a fuel hose leak, so went ahead and dropped the tank. Replaced the fuel pump/sender with new, and new gasket. New hoses. Reinstalled and the gauge still reads empty. I have a ground indication on the gauge cluster wire? Thanks
JRB is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 12-05-2010, 11:59 AM   #30
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: 4wheel heaven
Posts: 211
hey man theres nothing u can do because my yj is doinng the same thing there a place behind all the gauges were the wires connect from to gauges to were ever the other wiers come from well were they connec jeep did a very por desinge they are connected somwat like takimg ur hand and putting it in a baseball glove very por connection it wiggesls and then the gauge doesnt read pissed me off when that happen cause i replace everything thAt had to do with fuel or electrical even a new harness :o

yjforlife is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Jeep Wrangler Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Fuel problem bcrumbley YJ Tech Forum 0 01-18-2010 11:25 AM
Gas gauge problem irontom YJ Tech Forum 2 05-27-2009 04:18 PM
gas tank or fuel gauge frenchtic39 YJ General Discussion Forum 3 03-21-2006 11:41 PM
fuel gauge question gypsyjeep YJ General Discussion Forum 5 09-14-2005 04:56 PM
TJ Error codes khenderson TJ Tech Forum 3 08-19-2005 01:36 AM



Download our Mobile App

» Network Links
»Jeep Parts
» Featured Product

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:31 AM.



Jeep®, Wrangler, Liberty, Wagoneer, Cherokee, and Grand Cherokee are copyrighted and trademarked to Chrysler Motors LLC.
Wranglerforum.com is not in any way associated with the Chrysler Motors LLC