Gas Gauge Doesnt work - Jeep Wrangler Forum

Go Back   Jeep Wrangler Forum > YJ Jeep Wrangler Forum > YJ Tech Forum

Join Wrangler Forum Today


Reply
 
Thread Tools

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on WranglerForum.com
Old 07-12-2014, 08:34 PM   #1
Jeeper
 
Redneck Jeep's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Posts: 30
Gas Gauge Doesnt work

I have a 95 Wrangler Sahara edition and the gas gauge doesn't work at all, right now I judge it by the miles (every about 200 miles I fill up) so does anyone have any clue how to fix it?

Redneck Jeep is offline   Quote
Old 07-12-2014, 09:25 PM   #2
Jeeper
 
AllMudd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: SoCal
Posts: 1,610
Most likely its the sending unit. Buy a new one you can get just the sending unit without the pump or with the pump. If you go for the one without, just use your current pump. I would replace both though. Wait till you have gone about 195miles and drop the tank and replace it. Its six bolts to drop the tank and the 9 screws to undo the filler neck from the body and 2 hose clamps from the hoses. Then drop the tank. 8 or so screws to remove the pump/sending unit assembly. And then go in reverse.

AllMudd is offline   Quote
Old 08-05-2014, 01:06 PM   #3
Jeeper
 
Redneck Jeep's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Posts: 30
Thanks I'll do that
Redneck Jeep is offline   Quote
Old 08-05-2014, 05:46 PM   #4
Jeeper
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 137
My 89 has the same problem... I was planning on dropping and replacing the sending unit... should i also replace the pump?
superdiver is offline   Quote
Old 08-05-2014, 06:01 PM   #5
Jeeper
 
SmugglersBlues's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: To close for criminals, too far away for victims.
Posts: 553
Not trying to hijack your thread, My fuel gauge bounces would that still be the sending unit? I was thinking it might be a bad ground.
__________________
I would take an unpleasant truth over a comfortable false hood. You learn nothing from lies, whether someone else is telling them to you, or you are telling them to yourself.

- Me (sometimes I'm pretty deep)
SmugglersBlues is offline   Quote
Old 08-06-2014, 07:11 PM   #6
Jeeper
 
srchief's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Posts: 16
If you want to check to see if it the unit or gauge, unhook the sender wire and ground it with key on, if gauge pegs full it's the sender that's bad.
__________________
"You never have enough time to do it right the first time, but always have enough time to do it over."

"CAN'T never did a damn thing, but TRY always did"
srchief is offline   Quote
Old 08-08-2014, 03:56 AM   #7
Jeeper
 
SmugglersBlues's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: To close for criminals, too far away for victims.
Posts: 553
Thanks
__________________
I would take an unpleasant truth over a comfortable false hood. You learn nothing from lies, whether someone else is telling them to you, or you are telling them to yourself.

- Me (sometimes I'm pretty deep)
SmugglersBlues is offline   Quote
Old 08-08-2014, 07:38 AM   #8
Newb
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Posts: 2
yeah,unhook the sender wire and ground it with key on, if gauge pegs full it's the sender that's bad.thanks
ywedindis is offline   Quote
Old 08-08-2014, 11:09 PM   #9
Jeeper
 
Redneck Jeep's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Posts: 30
Yea my gauge says full
Redneck Jeep is offline   Quote
Old 08-09-2014, 04:13 AM   #10
Newb
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Longview
Posts: 3
Quote:
Originally Posted by superdiver View Post
My 89 has the same problem... I was planning on dropping and replacing the sending unit... should i also replace the pump?
Jeep Wrangler 1989 Base. My fuel gauge is ALWAYS FULL even though i know the tank is empty. What are ALL possible reasons why this is? engine 258 6cyl. everything is stock. Just need my baby running once again. THANKS !!!! - boonew88
boonew88 is offline   Quote
Old 08-09-2014, 07:20 AM   #11
Jeeper
 
Join Date: May 2014
Posts: 139
It is very common for there to be a poor connection at the printed circuit behind the gauge cluster. In most cases this can be cleaned and the gauge will work again. Since cleaning this costs nothing i wouldn't load up the parts shotgun and shoot parts at it. Pull the cluster clean the connections and recheck. This process can be done within 1-2 hours and is very simple. I did mine because the only gauge that worked was the clock. After cleaning, they all work.
JMickey is offline   Quote
Old 08-10-2014, 01:07 AM   #12
Newb
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Longview
Posts: 3
JMicky - thanks for the info will do and check will keep you posted !!! boonew88

boonew88 is offline   Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off




Download our Mobile App

» Featured Product

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:21 AM.


User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging v3.1.0 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2015 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.

Jeep®, Wrangler, Liberty, Wagoneer, Cherokee, and Grand Cherokee are copyrighted and trademarked to Chrysler Motors LLC.
Wranglerforum.com is not in any way associated with the Chrysler Motors LLC