gauge problems!! help!! - Jeep Wrangler Forum
Jeep Wrangler Forum

Go Back   Jeep Wrangler Forum > YJ Jeep Wrangler Forum > YJ Tech Forum

Join Wrangler Forum Today


Reply
 
Thread Tools

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on WranglerForum.com
Old 09-29-2011, 10:41 PM   #1
Jeeper
 
YjMudslinger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: machesney park illinois
Posts: 93
gauge problems!! help!!

ok so heres the story,its a 89 yj and my gauges worked perfect until one day i replaced my blower motor fuse, and now my tach, fuel, oil, bat., and temp gauges dont work .also all my indicator lights(shift, check engine,seat belt, lights) dont work, but my turn signal lights work. all the fuses are good, and all my wires seem to be good. iv been bangin my head against the wall tryin to figure this out. if anyone had any ideas please let me know

YjMudslinger is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 09-29-2011, 11:01 PM   #2
Jeeper
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: philadelphia
Posts: 200
electrical problems suck. Had an 89 legacy everytimei turned on the left turn signs the car would shut off completely. Never figured it out.

quadrophine is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 09-29-2011, 11:54 PM   #3
Jeeper
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Viola,Idaho
Posts: 60
That happend on my 95. The dash cluster gauge blew. Replaced fuse and it blew as quick as I could put it in. I disconnected the seat belt plug under the drivers seat and put in a bigger amp fuse and all worked fine.Then I replaced the fuse with the correct size fuse and all is still good. I think when I took out the seats and unplugged the seat belt connection I might have a pinched wire at that location. If it blows again I will just keep that connection unplugged. So take a close look at that fuse again. Good luck.
__________________
95muddog
88muddog is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 09-30-2011, 12:08 PM   #4
Jeeper
 
YjMudslinger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: machesney park illinois
Posts: 93
The weird thing is no fuses blew, my gauges and stuff just stopped working, someone said its a relay but idk what one it would be
YjMudslinger is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 09-30-2011, 12:23 PM   #5
Jeeper
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: north of St.Franisville La.
Posts: 2,368
Send a message via Yahoo to Nubby55
check for a good ground
Nubby55 is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 10-01-2011, 11:23 AM   #6
Newb
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 4
yjmudslinger,
PLEASE post when you fix it.
I have a 94 yj with 2.5 that is currently doing the exact same thing.
I replaced the blower motor fuse and all guages, tach, speedo etc. became inop.
No other fuses are blown.

I have only had the jeep for a few months, so I'm not sure if it has other issues.
I downloaded a very good wiring diagram from scribd, but I still can't find the problem.
cg94yj is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 10-01-2011, 11:54 AM   #7
Newb
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 4
OK, I got mine fixed.

I got carried away and started ripping things out, dead wires, etc. - no help.
Finally i removed the fuse block. Fuse #9 (IGN/LPS) feeds the instrument cluster and other items. Although the fuse was good, there was quite a bit of corrosion in the slot that holds the fuse. I reassemled everything and installed a new fuse, wiggling it back and forth a bunch of times to clean it up some (also gave it a shot of WD-40). ALL of the guages are working now.

It would be a major coincidence if this is your problem, but it fixed mine.
cg94yj is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 10-01-2011, 01:08 PM   #8
Jeeper
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 22
Start looking for bad grounds.

Recently in my recovery effort on my 1990 yj. The instrument cluster worked oddly. I disassembled it down to the flexible traces discovered that it was covered in corrosion and chunks of rust. Cleaned it up and everything worked fine except the clock (im not going there) and 1 bad ground for the gas gauge. Which I traced over to the driver side up on top of the parking brake. Odd spot but that's where it was.

And in the event of not finding anything obvious. Add a good one. you can never go wrong by adding a new good ground wire.
Nhaz is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 10-01-2011, 11:29 PM   #9
Newb
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: missouri
Posts: 12
ok, i had the same thing on my 93 , checked everything, nothing seemed to be bad, then i went back to the fuse box and the fuse for the cluster looked good, checked it with my meter and yep, its bad . you may try just changing the fuse or take a meter to see if yours is good,
chaseme68 is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 10-02-2011, 09:03 PM   #10
Jeeper
 
YjMudslinger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: machesney park illinois
Posts: 93
thanks for the help so far im gonna have to try some of these optiions this week ill let everyone know if anything works
YjMudslinger is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 10-03-2011, 07:59 PM   #11
Jeeper
 
YjMudslinger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: machesney park illinois
Posts: 93
Can't thank you guys enough, I checked the fuse and it was corroded, now everything works perfect!
YjMudslinger is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 10-03-2011, 10:39 PM   #12
Newb
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: missouri
Posts: 12
glad to help
chaseme68 is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 11-12-2011, 11:39 AM   #13
Newb
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 10
i have the same annoying problem! a mechani looked at the fuses to check if they were blown and he got the tachometer gas gauge( which is not accurate at all it always reads full) and the volts gauge(which reads 18 volts all the time hah.) the only gauge i trust is the tachometer. i dont think the mechanic checked for corrsion he just checked for blown fuses. but what would cause half the gauges to work and not the others??? would the corrosion be inside the slot of the ign/lps fuse slot??would wd-40 help if a little is sprayed in there? i will try wiggling the fuse around in the slot to break any corrsion but if that dosnt work whats my next step?
yjrider88 is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 05-18-2012, 07:13 PM   #14
Jeeper
 
divialips's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: millis, mass
Posts: 62
Quote:
Originally Posted by cg94yj View Post
OK, I got mine fixed.

I got carried away and started ripping things out, dead wires, etc. - no help.
Finally i removed the fuse block. Fuse #9 (IGN/LPS) feeds the instrument cluster and other items. Although the fuse was good, there was quite a bit of corrosion in the slot that holds the fuse. I reassemled everything and installed a new fuse, wiggling it back and forth a bunch of times to clean it up some (also gave it a shot of WD-40). ALL of the guages are working now.

It would be a major coincidence if this is your problem, but it fixed mine.
I have the same exact problem and am running out to the garage to check that fuse
divialips is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 09-16-2013, 04:06 PM   #15
Jeeper
 
BigJKRed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: Quakertown, PA
Posts: 19
I have the same problem in my 87. Tried pulling the cluster and cleaning the crappy paper card. Still no luck. Bought a new replacement instrument cluster and same problem. Didn't realize the tach was on the same fuse! Now I see the possibilities in this website and I think I wasted $200! Oh well, you live and learn. Going out to check it out now.
BigJKRed is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 09-16-2013, 09:31 PM   #16
Jeeper
 
87 Florida YJ's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 742
Quote:
Originally Posted by BigJKRed View Post
I have the same problem in my 87. Tried pulling the cluster and cleaning the crappy paper card. Still no luck. Bought a new replacement instrument cluster and same problem. Didn't realize the tach was on the same fuse! Now I see the possibilities in this website and I think I wasted $200! Oh well, you live and learn. Going out to check it out now.
Did the cluster come with a new circuit board?
__________________
Driving a jeep with a top is like screwing wearing a prophylactic. Maybe a little safer but doesn't feel nearly as good.
87 Florida YJ is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 10-01-2013, 02:28 PM   #17
Jeeper
 
BigJKRed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: Quakertown, PA
Posts: 19
Quote:
Originally Posted by 87 Florida YJ View Post
Did the cluster come with a new circuit board?
No. Each gauge is wired directly.

BigJKRed is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Jeep Wrangler Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
My Clutch Problems and How I Resolved Them linz TJ Tech Forum 7 08-30-2014 07:36 AM
Severe Steering Problems Fnx14 TJ General Discussion Forum 23 02-26-2011 06:28 PM
Fuel gauge and temp gauge not working? BrandonG TJ General Discussion Forum 4 12-10-2010 09:44 PM
Bade gauge or serious problem? JeeperRob YJ Tech Forum 15 12-07-2010 08:48 AM



Download our Mobile App

» Network Links
»Jeep Parts
» Featured Product

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:23 PM.



Jeep®, Wrangler, Liberty, Wagoneer, Cherokee, and Grand Cherokee are copyrighted and trademarked to Chrysler Motors LLC.
Wranglerforum.com is not in any way associated with the Chrysler Motors LLC