Gettin Upto Speed on Hiway Sputters @ 50mph - Page 2 - Jeep Wrangler Forum
Jeep Wrangler Forum

Go Back   Jeep Wrangler Forum > YJ Jeep Wrangler Forum > YJ Tech Forum

Join Wrangler Forum Today


Reply
 
Thread Tools

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on WranglerForum.com
Old 01-02-2011, 11:11 AM   #31
Jeeper
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Eastern Ohio
Posts: 29
Well the problem is back after replacing the CTS, coolant temp sensor. It lasted about 2 weeks.
At 40-55 when I let off the gas a little to cruise at that speed it starts chocking. If i totally let off the gas to slow down it's fine. If I have let off the gas to cruise and it starts actin up and I give it more gas to go, it sounds fine. Now it's just when I let up a little to cruise at that speed. Ugh.
--ray--

ray1111 is offline   Quote
Old 01-03-2011, 05:39 PM   #32
Jeeper
 
RandomThoughts's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Arthur's apt., or Barry's Tick Cave
Posts: 36
Just a quick thought: When the fellow changed out my cat, he said I had gotten lucky that the cat hadn't blown chunks into my muffler, which would block it as well and cause back-pressure to create the same problem. It would be occasional as the crud bounced around. Probably not, but thought I'd mention it just the same.


Take care... RT


Quote:
Originally Posted by ray1111 View Post
Well I just took off the exhaust system and totally wiped out the inside of the cat. It still does it. I'm gonna have to go google the fuel return line pics and see if I can't find it and do that last test with the fuel line pressure. If anything, I'll go and open up my 8x8 inch hole I made in the back above my fuel pump just in case it did go out and pinch it off there.
Thanx for the help gang.
--ray--

__________________
"You're pretty uppity for a sidekick, pal. Watch it, or I'll start calling you Artie or... or Something-Lad!"
-The Tick (The Tick #10)

SPOOOOOOOOOON!!!
RandomThoughts is offline   Quote
Old 01-03-2011, 06:49 PM   #33
Jeeper
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Eastern Ohio
Posts: 29
Quote:
Originally Posted by RandomThoughts View Post
Just a quick thought: When the fellow changed out my cat, he said I had gotten lucky that the cat hadn't blown chunks into my muffler, which would block it as well and cause back-pressure to create the same problem. It would be occasional as the crud bounced around. Probably not, but thought I'd mention it just the same.


Take care... RT
Thanx Random but I did take off my whole exhaust to clean out the cat and it was all intact. I just replaced the TPS, throttle position sensor and it did no good.
--ray--
ray1111 is offline   Quote
Old 01-04-2011, 03:28 PM   #34
Jeeper
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Eastern Ohio
Posts: 29
What can a bad oxygen sensor do? That is one of my codes.
--ray--
ray1111 is offline   Quote
Old 01-05-2011, 11:14 PM   #35
Jeeper
 
armadillo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Texas Hill Country
Posts: 62
Images: 5
Same issues here. Let us know if or when you figure it out. Just bought the chilton manual and a digital ohm meter. Intermitent electrical problems are not easy to find.New TPS,FPR,ASR,FF,IC and FP. The TPS did cure a dead spot in the throtel but the "stumble" is still there, some times.
armadillo is offline   Quote
Old 01-05-2011, 11:31 PM   #36
Jeeper
 
armadillo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Texas Hill Country
Posts: 62
Images: 5
Hey rey1111, sounds like you may have affected the problem when you changed the CTS. Check the terminals for any sines of a lose or bad conection / wires .
Did you mess any other plugs when you did the CTS ?
armadillo is offline   Quote
Old 01-06-2011, 04:20 PM   #37
Jeeper
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Eastern Ohio
Posts: 29
Quote:
Originally Posted by armadillo View Post
Hey rey1111, sounds like you may have affected the problem when you changed the CTS. Check the terminals for any sines of a lose or bad conection / wires .
Did you mess any other plugs when you did the CTS ?
I have changed the CTS, fuel filter, distibutor cap and rotor cap, TPS and now the O2Sensor. I just changed that O2Sensor and took it down the highway.
I ran a code test when I got back. Now it is coming up 21, 02Sensor and 52, O2 Sensor Rich condition. Any ideas? Or is it that I didn't drive it far enough for the puter to reset?
I never had the 52 before I changed the O2Sensor...

--ray--
ray1111 is offline   Quote
Old 01-06-2011, 07:41 PM   #38
Jeeper
 
armadillo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Texas Hill Country
Posts: 62
Images: 5
Not a clue about the O2 sensor. Checked the ohm on my cts and it was out of spec. Instaled new on.... no change. I've noticed that when its acting up the idle is at 1300-1500 rpm. Normally 800. Wonder if this is a cause or effect of the real problem?
armadillo is offline   Quote
Old 01-07-2011, 04:30 PM   #39
Jeeper
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Eastern Ohio
Posts: 29
I made it to work fine just keepin it at 50-55. I decided to change the oil and clean the plugs. While I was doin this I disconnected the battery negative for bout an hour. I took the jeep for a drive on the highway then up town and back home the highway route. I checked my codes and all is clean. The O2S sensor codes are gone.
I'm hopin this will do it.
Thanks for all your help gang. It is greatly appreciated.
--ray--
ray1111 is offline   Quote
Old 01-22-2011, 10:34 PM   #40
Jeeper
 
louie72's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 51
just wondering.do you think it was the temp. sensor and you just needed to reset the computer or do you think it was the o2 sensor.mine does the exact same thing and after all you have been through i am glad i ran across this post.and i thank you for being very desriptive.this helps me a bunch.
louie72 is offline   Quote
Old 01-23-2011, 04:03 AM   #41
Jeeper
 
armadillo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Texas Hill Country
Posts: 62
Images: 5
O2 sensor on mine. Replaced it and it's running great. mpg went from 10 to 13!! 13 sucks, but not as bad as 10. Going to regear soon. Hopefully get a couple more mpgs out of her.
armadillo is offline   Quote
Old 01-23-2011, 12:15 PM   #42
Jeeper
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Eastern Ohio
Posts: 29
Quote:
Originally Posted by louie72 View Post
just wondering.do you think it was the temp. sensor and you just needed to reset the computer or do you think it was the o2 sensor.mine does the exact same thing and after all you have been through i am glad i ran across this post.and i thank you for being very desriptive.this helps me a bunch.
I'm sure it was the O2 Sensor. I did a search on the net and found out that with a bad O2 sensor, they can cause havoc. After I disconnected the battery all the codes went back to normal.

All I did on my YJ was turn the key on and off 3 times, without starting it, and the 3rd time leave it on. The "Check Engine" light will begin to blink a series of codes. Write them down and see what ya have.

--ray--
ray1111 is offline   Quote
Old 01-11-2015, 10:04 PM   #43
aridling
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Hello ray1111! My 2003 Jeep is doing the same exact thing. Was it expensive to fix, yourself? How much was the CTS? I got a quote from a local mechanic of around $500 to remove the gas tank, just to figure out what it is.
I'd like to replace it myself, to make sure that's indeed to answer. Any suggestions you might help would be greatly appreciated.
Thanks very much!
A. Ridling

  Quote
Reply

Tags
fuel , power , pressure , sputter , tps

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off




Download our Mobile App

» Network Links
»Jeep Parts
» Featured Product

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:02 PM.



Jeep®, Wrangler, Liberty, Wagoneer, Cherokee, and Grand Cherokee are copyrighted and trademarked to Chrysler Motors LLC.
Wranglerforum.com is not in any way associated with the Chrysler Motors LLC