Good site to buy Gauge Cluster - Jeep Wrangler Forum
Jeep Wrangler Forum

Go Back   Jeep Wrangler Forum > YJ Jeep Wrangler Forum > YJ Tech Forum

Join Wrangler Forum Today


Reply
 
Thread Tools

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on WranglerForum.com
Old 03-14-2012, 03:14 PM   #1
Jeeper
 
tjyj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Great Falls, MT
Posts: 43
Good site to buy Gauge Cluster

I need to find a gauge cluster for my 89 Wrangler and would preferably like to use ebay as a last resort. Any help would be appreciated. Thanks

tjyj is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 03-14-2012, 10:50 PM   #2
Jeeper
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 31
Auto Meter 15218 - Auto Meter Instrument Cluster Bezels - Overview - SummitRacing.com

Summit makes these for the YJ as well as the bezel that holds the speedo and tach. They are designed to work with aftermarket gauges though...not sure if you are keeping the factory ones

pschubs17 is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 03-14-2012, 11:36 PM   #3
2xs
Cali Smog Nazi.

WF Supporting Member
 
2xs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Santa Rosa, Ca.
Posts: 2,679
Images: 3
Summit doesnt make them, Autometer makes them, Summit sells them. The cheapest I found was on E-bay:

AUTOMETER 15220 Dual Gauge Pod 87-95 Jeep Wrangler YJ | eBay
__________________
'93 Black YJ, 4.0L AX15 - UNDER CONSTRUCTION!
http://www.wranglerforum.com/f330/2x...ad-490865.html
'04 SV1000s:
http://www.svrider.com/forum/showthread.php?t=280873
Old Jeep that was totaled (and SOLD!):
http://www.wranglerforum.com/f330/2x...ad-101879.html
2xs is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 03-14-2012, 11:58 PM   #4
Jeeper
 
Master4th's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 341
Master4th is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 03-15-2012, 12:01 AM   #5
Jeeper
 
Master4th's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 341
Also the Autometer gauge cluster is designed for aftermarket guages, im not sure it will work with the stock gauages.
Master4th is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 03-15-2012, 04:37 PM   #6
Jeeper
 
tjyj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Great Falls, MT
Posts: 43
I was trying to just replace a stock one. The only place I have found them yet is eBay. I have my mechanic looking around for me as well.
tjyj is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 03-15-2012, 07:08 PM   #7
Jeeper
 
Master4th's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 341
Quote:
Originally Posted by tjyj View Post
I was trying to just replace a stock one. The only place I have found them yet is eBay. I have my mechanic looking around for me as well.
The link above is to a chrysler parts dist. Seems they have nearly everything. On the diagram #8, looks like its 52 bucks.
Master4th is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 03-15-2012, 08:41 PM   #8
Jeeper
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Central Maine
Posts: 275
Quote:
Originally Posted by tjyj View Post
I need to find a gauge cluster for my 89 Wrangler and would preferably like to use ebay as a last resort. Any help would be appreciated. Thanks
What's wrong with yours?
brentd711 is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 03-16-2012, 01:21 PM   #9
Jeeper
 
tjyj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Great Falls, MT
Posts: 43
Quote:
Originally Posted by Master4th

The link above is to a chrysler parts dist. Seems they have nearly everything. On the diagram #8, looks like its 52 bucks.
Correct me if I am wrong but is that for just the housing and not necessarily the gauge cluster itself?
tjyj is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 03-16-2012, 01:23 PM   #10
Jeeper
 
tjyj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Great Falls, MT
Posts: 43
Quote:
Originally Posted by brentd711

What's wrong with yours?
Long story short, my gas gauge is messed up, along with other instruments on it, oil pressure, and temperature. All the wires have been check and replaced as needed as well.
tjyj is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 03-16-2012, 02:32 PM   #11
Jeeper
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Central Maine
Posts: 275
Gas gauges are always a crapshoot on a YJ and it may not be the gauge.

Have you had the gauges out and checked the printed circuit for burn marks? It's kinda rare to have multiple bad gauges, it's usually the sending units or the printed circuit.

I just pulled the gauges out of my '90 and might part with them after I get my new ones up and running.
brentd711 is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 03-16-2012, 02:43 PM   #12
Jeeper
 
Master4th's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 341
Quote:
Originally Posted by tjyj View Post
Correct me if I am wrong but is that for just the housing and not necessarily the gauge cluster itself?
I missunderstood, I thought you where looking for the bezel that covers the guages.

INSTRUMENT PANEL CLUSTER WRANGLER, YJ. Fits: 1988 JEEP WRANGLER 4.2L I6 2BBL GAS - STD COMP, 5SPD MANUAL TRANS A543 | FACTORY CHRYSLER PARTS=
Master4th is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 03-16-2012, 05:24 PM   #13
Jeeper
 
tjyj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Great Falls, MT
Posts: 43
Quote:
Originally Posted by Master4th
Awesome thank you very much! I ended up finding this link off your 1st one as well. Just what I needed.
tjyj is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 03-16-2012, 05:30 PM   #14
Jeeper
 
tjyj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Great Falls, MT
Posts: 43
Quote:
Originally Posted by brentd711
Gas gauges are always a crapshoot on a YJ and it may not be the gauge.

Have you had the gauges out and checked the printed circuit for burn marks? It's kinda rare to have multiple bad gauges, it's usually the sending units or the printed circuit.
Well I'm kind of useless when it comes to fixing shit, so I had my local shop do it. And they found out I would need new gauges.
tjyj is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 03-16-2012, 10:52 PM   #15
Jeeper
 
KLiK3xs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Suisun City, CA
Posts: 132
My 93 also has gauge issues...
The speedo will track fine, for awhile. Then starts to bounce from 0 to all over for awhile.
and the gas gauge fluctuates enough that i dont really know how much gas i have.

so, thanks for the info. It will help me also.
KLiK3xs is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 03-26-2012, 03:31 PM   #16
Jeeper
 
tjyj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Great Falls, MT
Posts: 43
Quote:
Originally Posted by Master4th
Just so everyone knows they no longer make the oil pressure gauge, gas gauge, or the temperature gauge. Even though they are available for purchase. Bummer for me now I'm back to square one. I got a local shop calling around to different states to check their junk yards and things like that.
tjyj is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 03-26-2012, 04:27 PM   #17
Jeeper
 
Shimtampa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 29
I would keep asking on here as well. I had the same issue and when I took mine out and looked at the back the circuit board was all caroaded and green. A guy on here had an extra one and we worked out a deal, I would also keep looking on ebay but beware as most of these old boards have problems.
Shimtampa is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 03-26-2012, 07:27 PM   #18
Jeeper
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Central Maine
Posts: 275
Quote:
Originally Posted by tjyj View Post
....Bummer for me now I'm back to square one. I got a local shop calling around to different states to check their junk yards and things like that.
Don't give up on your gauges until you try this. The cluster is simple to remove, just remember to disconnect the battery first.
brentd711 is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 03-27-2012, 09:35 AM   #19
Jeeper
 
jfbilbro's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Central Alabama
Posts: 749
you might check with Ibuildembig here on the forum...also, alljeepparts on ebay sells tons of used jeep parts
__________________
...huh?...
jfbilbro is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 03-28-2012, 05:26 PM   #20
Jeeper
 
tjyj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Great Falls, MT
Posts: 43
Quote:
Originally Posted by brentd711 View Post
Don't give up on your gauges until you try this. The cluster is simple to remove, just remember to disconnect the battery first.
Thanks dude, I know what I am doing this weekend. HAHA. Just called my mechanic as well and he did not try this yet and still can not find any parts so this might do the trick. I will let you all know how it goes.
tjyj is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 03-28-2012, 05:30 PM   #21
Sponsoring Vendor
 
Ibuildembig's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Fruitland, Missouri
Posts: 8,478
Id try cleaning the pins and see....I dont have any 87-90 clusters right now
Ibuildembig is online now   Quote Quick Reply
Old 03-30-2012, 10:41 AM   #22
Jeeper
 
tjyj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Great Falls, MT
Posts: 43
Quote:
Originally Posted by brentd711

Don't give up on your gauges until you try this. The cluster is simple to remove, just remember to disconnect the battery first.
Genius, worked!! All my gauges are working great, my oil pressure gauge still isn't, but that could be the sending unit or something.

Anyways the connections in the back of the gauges were getting loose and they pretty much just needed to be tightened. But I also cleaned them anyways.

So thanks for the great advice and saving me $150+ on a new gauge cluster.
tjyj is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 03-30-2012, 10:48 AM   #23
Jeeper
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Central Maine
Posts: 275
Dang, I was gonna try to sell you my cluster

Glad to hear it worked.
brentd711 is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 03-30-2012, 11:01 AM   #24
Jeeper
 
tjyj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Great Falls, MT
Posts: 43
Quote:
Originally Posted by brentd711
Dang, I was gonna try to sell you my cluster

Glad to hear it worked.
Haha
tjyj is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 03-30-2014, 03:45 PM   #25
Jeeper
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: aston pa
Posts: 33
guages working with ls swap??

doing i ls swap will my orig guages work and if not what aftermarket ones will?

rocketman17j is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Jeep Wrangler Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Want to see Gecko? Wow! NJeepChic JK General Discussion Forum 162 01-10-2013 09:21 PM
Anyone have to get a new driveshaft with their lift kit? mattdenney07 JK General Discussion Forum 13 04-26-2012 09:43 AM
From Alaska to South America in a Jeep BushWrangler On The Trail 4 03-28-2012 10:32 AM
Questions to someone with a D35 Superkit YjallDay YJ Tech Forum 20 03-17-2012 04:58 PM
I am starting to understand why all of you hate on torx bolts.... Dassquatch YJ Tech Forum 10 03-15-2012 12:14 AM



Download our Mobile App

» Network Links
»Jeep Parts
» Featured Product

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:08 PM.



Jeep®, Wrangler, Liberty, Wagoneer, Cherokee, and Grand Cherokee are copyrighted and trademarked to Chrysler Motors LLC.
Wranglerforum.com is not in any way associated with the Chrysler Motors LLC