Help me please my dash stopped working - Jeep Wrangler Forum
Jeep Wrangler Forum

Go Back   Jeep Wrangler Forum > YJ Jeep Wrangler Forum > YJ Tech Forum

Join Wrangler Forum Today


Reply
 
Thread Tools

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on WranglerForum.com
Old 02-23-2013, 05:00 PM   #1
Newb
 
Chuckieb yj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 10
Help me please my dash stopped working

Hey so I installed a new pioneer head unit in and when I was installing it I blew radio fuse twice and since then all my gauges just stopped working but they light up any ideas on what happend I checked every fuse 5 times please someone help me

Chuckieb yj is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 02-23-2013, 05:07 PM   #2
Jeeper
 
ThePhantomPatriot's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Delta, PA
Posts: 259
If you unplug the power to your head unit do the gauges work again?

__________________
1995 - 2.5L Low Output Wrongler
ThePhantomPatriot is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 02-23-2013, 06:07 PM   #3
Newb
 
Chuckieb yj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 10
Nope
Chuckieb yj is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 02-23-2013, 06:18 PM   #4
Newb
 
Chuckieb yj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 10
Any other suggestions any 1????
Chuckieb yj is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 02-23-2013, 06:21 PM   #5
Jeeper
 
Defcon 1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: South New Jersey
Posts: 728
There's another fuse you blew somewhere. Check the ones under the dash by the driver door, I forget which # controls the dash circuitry, maybe you could find it in your Chilton/Haynes. One of the main power wires that power the entire gauge cluster is fused upstream somewhere.
Defcon 1 is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 02-23-2013, 06:22 PM   #6
Jeeper
 
jonathan75's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Raleigh, NC
Posts: 124
The gauge cluster is right above the head unit. Maybe the connector to the gauge cluster came loose while you were installing the radio. I would remove the six screws for the instrument shroud and check the connector.
jonathan75 is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 02-23-2013, 06:25 PM   #7
Jeeper
 
jonathan75's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Raleigh, NC
Posts: 124
Also check fuse 4 in the PDC and fuse 9 in the fuse block.
jonathan75 is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 02-23-2013, 06:25 PM   #8
Newb
 
Chuckieb yj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 10
Checked all the fuses under the hood and right by the drivers door pulled out the dash and cleaned the male and female adapter and reconnected it still no luck it's driving me crazy
Chuckieb yj is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 02-23-2013, 06:28 PM   #9
Jeeper
 
jonathan75's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Raleigh, NC
Posts: 124
If they are numbered double check the numbers I listed above fuse 4 in the PDC and fuse 9 in the fuse block. Also test them with a meter. You can't always trust visual identification.
jonathan75 is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 02-23-2013, 06:32 PM   #10
Jeeper
 
jonathan75's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Raleigh, NC
Posts: 124
Circuit A1 from fuse 4 in the Power Distribution Center connects to circuit A21. Circuit A21 powers fuse 9 in the fuse block. Fuse 9 powers circuit G5. One branch of circuit G5 splices to power the gauges, speedometer, tachometer, voltmeter, indicator lamps, and warning lamps in the instrument cluster. Also check circuit Z1 since it provides ground for the instrument cluster illumination lamps, gauges and warning lamps.


img, #cubbies-overlay{ -moz-transition-property: margin, box-shadow, z-index; -moz-transition-duration: 0.1s; -webkit-transition-property: margin, box-shadow, z-index; -webkit-transition-duration: 0.1s; } .cubbies-selected{ z-index: 9999; box-shadow: 3px 3px 8px -1px blue !important; cursor: pointer !important; margin: -3px 3px 3px -3px; } .cubbies-selected:active{ box-shadow: 2px 2px 5px -1px darkblue !important; margin: -1px 1px 1px -1px; } #cubbies-overlay{ position: fixed; z-index: 9999; bottom: 30px; left: 30px; box-shadow: 0 2px 3px rgba(0,0,0,0.8); border: none; } #cubbies-overlay:hover{ box-shadow: 0 2px 3px rgb(0,0,0); }
jonathan75 is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 02-23-2013, 06:37 PM   #11
Newb
 
Chuckieb yj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 10
I have no idea where any of those are gonna be honest
Chuckieb yj is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 02-23-2013, 06:47 PM   #12
Jeeper
 
jonathan75's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Raleigh, NC
Posts: 124
Check pin 13 and 6. Those should be your ground. Make sure they are not loose in the connector. Do you have an electrical meter or anything that can test continuity? You should make sure that those wires are making it to ground.
jonathan75 is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 02-23-2013, 06:50 PM   #13
Newb
 
Chuckieb yj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 10
Yes I. Testing all fuses with a tester
Chuckieb yj is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 02-23-2013, 06:54 PM   #14
Jeeper
 
jonathan75's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Raleigh, NC
Posts: 124
Go to continuity buzzer mode. Connect one end of the meter to pin 13 and the other end to a chassis ground and see if it will beep at you. Do the save for pin 6.
jonathan75 is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 02-23-2013, 06:57 PM   #15
Newb
 
Chuckieb yj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 10
What. Is pin 13 and pin 6 ?
Chuckieb yj is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 02-23-2013, 07:03 PM   #16
Jeeper
 
jonathan75's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Raleigh, NC
Posts: 124
On your instrument cluster connector.
jonathan75 is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 02-23-2013, 07:04 PM   #17
Jeeper
 
jonathan75's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Raleigh, NC
Posts: 124
I think they should be numbered. Might be a little small or will only show pin 1 and the rest you have to count out. I don't have a YJ or I could check for you.
jonathan75 is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 02-23-2013, 08:09 PM   #18
Jeeper
 
jonathan75's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Raleigh, NC
Posts: 124
If you do have a good ground check voltage for the volt meter with the ignition switch set to run or start. You should have around 12v between pin 12 and 13 on the connector. If you have 12v and the instrument cluster volt meter shows no reading then it is the meter that is shot.
jonathan75 is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 02-23-2013, 09:02 PM   #19
Jeeper
 
jonathan75's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Raleigh, NC
Posts: 124
Also to help you pin 12 is white and pin 13 should be black.
jonathan75 is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 02-23-2013, 09:29 PM   #20
Jeeper
 
jonathan75's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Raleigh, NC
Posts: 124
This might help. Look at C225.

jonathan75 is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 02-24-2013, 06:21 PM   #21
Jeeper
 
ThePhantomPatriot's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Delta, PA
Posts: 259
When you installed your new system did you unplug the battery? You should ALWAYS unplug your bat so you don't accidentally short circuit anything, especially when working on electronics.

__________________
1995 - 2.5L Low Output Wrongler
ThePhantomPatriot is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Jeep Wrangler Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off




» Network Links
»Jeep Parts
» Featured Product

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:03 PM.



Jeep®, Wrangler, Liberty, Wagoneer, Cherokee, and Grand Cherokee are copyrighted and trademarked to Chrysler Motors LLC.
Wranglerforum.com is not in any way associated with the Chrysler Motors LLC