i think my 4x4 actuator isnt working - Jeep Wrangler Forum

Go Back   Jeep Wrangler Forum > YJ Jeep Wrangler Forum > YJ Tech Forum

Join Wrangler Forum Today


Reply
 
Thread Tools

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on WranglerForum.com
Old 01-27-2014, 06:25 PM   #1
Jeeper
 
evo2racer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 27
i think my 4x4 actuator isnt working

Hey guys, so my 4wd isn't working, found that out in a mud hole... I don't think its the tcase cause it shifts fine. Is there any way to check to see if the actuator is working? my vacuum lines are good i checked those Sunday.

evo2racer is offline   Quote
Old 01-27-2014, 06:33 PM   #2
Moderator

::WF Moderator::
 
harleydragon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: south georgia
Posts: 3,929
check your vacuum lines at the front axle..when you have the transfer case in 4x4 the yellow line should have vacuum..when you have taken it out of 4x4 the green line should have vacuum..if it is not doing this then replace the vacuum switch on the transfer case...if the vacuum is as listed above then the actuator on the front axle itself is probably the problem

harleydragon is offline   Quote
Old 01-27-2014, 06:40 PM   #3
Jeeper
 
evo2racer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 27
cool thanks ill check it out
evo2racer is offline   Quote
Old 01-27-2014, 06:40 PM   #4
Jeeper
 
c5wagner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Reno, Nevada
Posts: 1,469
__________________
1989 Base YJ, 4.2l, Motorcraft 2150 carb, CRT HEI ignition, ax15, np231 JB conversions SYE, D30 ARB & Ford 8.8 ARB 4.56, 35x12.5r15 Goodyear MTR's, bds 3.5" springs, 1" body lift, and 1/2" Boom Shackles.
Build Thread: http://www.wranglerforum.com/f330/fi...ld-385106.html
c5wagner is offline   Quote
Old 01-27-2014, 06:44 PM   #5
Jeeper
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Posts: 22
I just had this same problem, I pulled the vacuum line lines on the axle and switched them and got mine to engage just to test the actuator.
MyFirst93yj is offline   Quote
Old 01-27-2014, 06:48 PM   #6
Jeeper
 
evo2racer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 27
its the vacuum switch at the tcase. Im not getting any suction.
evo2racer is offline   Quote
Old 01-27-2014, 07:00 PM   #7
Moderator

::WF Moderator::
 
harleydragon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: south georgia
Posts: 3,929
Quote:
Originally Posted by evo2racer View Post
its the vacuum switch at the tcase. Im not getting any suction.
ok..before you replace the switch,make sure you have vacuum coming to the transfer case switch from the engine via the red line..if not then trace it back and see if it is busted or not connected to get engine vacuum..if you do have vacuum on the red line at the t-case switch then replace the switch..they are only about 10 bucks
harleydragon is offline   Quote
Old 01-27-2014, 09:27 PM   #8
Jeeper
 
evo2racer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 27
Ok I found the problem. Vacuum line was off on the engine. Put it back on and everything works fine. Thanks guys

evo2racer is offline   Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off




Download our Mobile App

» Featured Product

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:20 PM.


User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging v3.1.0 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2015 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.

Jeep®, Wrangler, Liberty, Wagoneer, Cherokee, and Grand Cherokee are copyrighted and trademarked to Chrysler Motors LLC.
Wranglerforum.com is not in any way associated with the Chrysler Motors LLC