i wanna swap my 4.0 for 350 injection? - Jeep Wrangler Forum
Jeep Wrangler Forum

Go Back   Jeep Wrangler Forum > YJ Jeep Wrangler Forum > YJ Tech Forum

Join Wrangler Forum Today


Reply
 
Thread Tools

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on WranglerForum.com
Old 04-18-2010, 12:41 PM   #1
Jeeper
 
Bobby's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 45
i wanna swap my 4.0 for 350 injection?

i'm looking for how too's on the most compatible 350 fuel injected engine to swap into my 1989 4.0 yj also the wire harness ,computer and power train. i don't wanna go any more than 2" wider than the stock axle.mostly concerned about the wiring and computer. do they sell adapters for this or do i have to start from scratch.I'll see what you guys have to offer and take it from there . thanks

Bobby is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 04-18-2010, 04:20 PM   #2
Jeeper
 
uplifted's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: NY
Posts: 593
I used Novak for my trans adapter, engine mount and clutch needs... Excellent company with knowledge behind them IMHO.. Link V
Chevrolet & GM Engine Conversions in the Jeep YJ Wrangler

With that said as far as the best combo to go with, thats up to whatever your willing to spend or can get your hands on thats complete... There are a bunch of choices

__________________
91 YJ, SBC V8, 5 speed, 8.8, 4" spring, SOA, 35" MT/R ............ Sadly I have sold my Jeep.
uplifted is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 04-18-2010, 07:11 PM   #3
Jeeper
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Mint Hill, North Carolina
Posts: 17
Images: 10
I'm currently doing my swap now. Just got the 350 TBI w/700r4 installed last friday.
I went with Novak on a lot of swap parts and they are very helpful with any and every problem that arrises.
If you can get a friend that welds and a friend that knows the electrical parts of both engines and your good to go!
It is not as easy as everyone says but then again this is my first swap.
z14jc is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 04-21-2010, 11:06 AM   #4
Jeeper
 
Bobby's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 45
what kind of problems did you encounter? did you have to rebuild a new cross-member?any cutting in the motor bay?and most of all did the motor slide right in with the new motor mounts ? i would really like to know any info that you can give me. anything and everything. and is there wire harness adapters and computer adapters ??? thanks
Bobby is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 04-22-2010, 09:01 PM   #5
Jeeper
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Mint Hill, North Carolina
Posts: 17
Images: 10
Well I have just gotten the engine mounted on the novak mounts which worked pretty good. Very adaptable. I have run into several bumps in the road so far. I had to grind the tub near the heater side to allow for the headers. These have to be really close to engine as I used the pacesetter headers. I have also had to have both drive shafts worked on as the swap moved my drive line back a couple of inches. Novak has a good article on the swap. I can send you lots of pictures if you want. Will be glad to help, but do be ready for the expense and changes you will encounter. It is a common and supposed to be an easy swap, just be fully prepared for it.
wayne
z14jc is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 04-22-2010, 09:02 PM   #6
Jeeper
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Mint Hill, North Carolina
Posts: 17
Images: 10
I am not sure how to post pictures here???
z14jc is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 04-04-2011, 08:51 PM   #7
Jeeper
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 13
i am getting ready to swap and L98 into my 92 wangler.I have the motor and using the ax15 trans with the 231 transfer case.just waiting on my bell housing and flywheel to come in.looking for information on the wiring from the L98 factory harness to the jeep harness.the emc is out right now having the new chip put in it.so if anyone has made the change to fuel injected and can help would be great thanks steve
sclose55 is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 04-04-2011, 09:43 PM   #8
Jeeper
 
kboles89's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: elon, nc
Posts: 451
What did you guys do to get your factory gauges to work with the gm drivetrain?
kboles89 is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 04-04-2011, 11:50 PM   #9
Genius!

WF Supporting Member
::WF Moderator::
 
Coyote_94YJ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Germany
Posts: 20,867
Send a message via ICQ to Coyote_94YJ Send a message via Yahoo to Coyote_94YJ
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bobby View Post
i don't wanna go any more than 2" wider than the stock axle.
An 8.8 rear end out of a Ford Exploder will work out great. It's about 5/8" narrower, has the same wheel bolt pattern as the Jeep, and if you get a 96 or newer it will have disc brakes.

Quote:
Originally Posted by z14jc View Post
I had to grind the tub near the heater side to allow for the headers. These have to be really close to engine as I used the pacesetter headers.
With a set of SBC ram horn manifolds you won't have to grind anything.

Quote:
Originally Posted by z14jc View Post
I am not sure how to post pictures here???
How To Post A Picture
Quote:
Originally Posted by kboles89 View Post
What did you guys do to get your factory gauges to work with the gm drivetrain?
I installed Autometer gauges rather than attempting to get the stock gauges to work.
Coyote_94YJ is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 04-05-2011, 12:20 AM   #10
Newb
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 8
I have a 350/th350/np205 combination in my ride. I did the hard swap to full size chevy axles and I like the added stability of having a wider rig. I also like the ability to run a 40 inch tire for the fun stuff. I still feel a bit top heavy, but I dont want to lower it any more than it is. Just find yourself a tbi full size k5 as a donor and have fun. I would get a pre 75 front axle for the swap if you want to use the stock steering configuration. Pre 75 has a flat top knuckle on the passenger side that can be machined for a high steer kit. I am building a 400/th350/np205 XJ Cherokee now. I made sure to find a pre 75 flat top 10 bolt so I dont have to do all the hunting I had to do with the YJ. I will try to post some pics of both builds.
scatterbrained is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 04-05-2011, 01:01 AM   #11
Jeeper
 
kboles89's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: elon, nc
Posts: 451
I installed Autometer gauges rather than attempting to get the stock gauges to work.[/QUOTE]

Can you put a pic on here or give me a link so I can figure out how to mount the gauges? Thanks!
kboles89 is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 04-05-2011, 06:18 AM   #12
Jeeper
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 13
i am using aftermarket gauges but if you get on the novak web site they sell a box to use the factory cauges. i have not set my motor in yet still waiting on flywheel and bell housing. coyote on the axle swap did you have to do any mob to the housing
sclose55 is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 04-05-2011, 09:40 AM   #13
Genius!

WF Supporting Member
::WF Moderator::
 
Coyote_94YJ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Germany
Posts: 20,867
Send a message via ICQ to Coyote_94YJ Send a message via Yahoo to Coyote_94YJ
Quote:
Originally Posted by kboles89 View Post
Can you put a pic on here or give me a link so I can figure out how to mount the gauges? Thanks!
Ya, but I don't think they will help you too much.





In the original install I bought some cheap Sunpro or what ever that brand that is and carefully cut up the circuit board so I could mount them in the factory location. I don't have any pictures of the dash back then.
Quote:
Originally Posted by sclose55 View Post
i am using aftermarket gauges but if you get on the novak web site they sell a box to use the factory cauges. i have not set my motor in yet still waiting on flywheel and bell housing. coyote on the axle swap did you have to do any mob to the housing
I'm not totally sure I know what you're asking so I hope this answers it. When installing the 8.8 you will need to remove the old spring perches and shock mounts and weld on new ones. I had to get a little creative with the parking brake cables but it wasn't very difficult, and if I remember right the brake line just hooked up.

Coyote_94YJ is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Jeep Wrangler Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
transmission swap question chad085 YJ Tech Forum 0 11-26-2009 11:47 AM
intresting info on the 4.0L TB swap... foxinthemudd General Jeep Discussion 10 03-10-2008 11:37 PM
motor swap question!!! please help. toddsandiego YJ Tech Forum 3 01-29-2008 09:08 AM
Swap your auto tranny for my 5-speed AX-15 tranny Jerry Bransford Classifieds Archive 1 02-15-2007 05:46 PM
Swap your auto tranny for my 5-speed AX-15 tranny Jerry Bransford Classifieds Archive 2 02-15-2007 04:15 PM



» Network Links
»Jeep Parts
» Featured Product

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:25 AM.



Jeep®, Wrangler, Liberty, Wagoneer, Cherokee, and Grand Cherokee are copyrighted and trademarked to Chrysler Motors LLC.
Wranglerforum.com is not in any way associated with the Chrysler Motors LLC