locking hubs on a YJ? - Jeep Wrangler Forum

Go Back   Jeep Wrangler Forum > YJ Jeep Wrangler Forum > YJ Tech Forum

Join Wrangler Forum Today


Reply
 
Thread Tools

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on WranglerForum.com
Old 01-09-2011, 10:37 AM   #1
Jeeper
 
YJman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 988
locking hubs on a YJ?

Is it possible to put locking hubs on a YJ to surpass the whole vacuum system? I'll probably be doing this sometime soon because I don't feel that the vacuum is very reliable. What do you guys think? Is there a write up on locking hubs?
Thanks guys,
YJman
__________________
Use Locktite, Or Kiss Your Nuts Goodbye!
Small like a CJ, better than a TJ!
☼ YJ â○⌐ EVER ☼
YJman is offline   Quote
Old 01-09-2011, 03:41 PM   #2
Jeeper
 
jeepinmichguy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 287
What do locking hubs have to do with the vacuum system? If you install manually locking hubs and dont do a vacuum disco delete you will still need the vacuum system to engage 4WD. Just get a used set of TJ shafts (both so you can run 760x ujoints on both sides), a plate to block off where you remove the actuator from, an inner axle seal (this will require removing the carrier to install), and get your front DS balanced and you are done. No more vacuum system and you can add outer axle seals to both sides to keep crap out of the tubes.

__________________
"Rent this space!"
jeepinmichguy is offline   Quote
Old 01-09-2011, 05:21 PM   #3
Jeeper
 
YJman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 988
Ohhhh sorry I'm still learning about 4x4 systems. That sounds like a good idea. So the TJ shafts fit into the D30 in the YJ?
__________________
Use Locktite, Or Kiss Your Nuts Goodbye!
Small like a CJ, better than a TJ!
☼ YJ â○⌐ EVER ☼
YJman is offline   Quote
Old 01-10-2011, 01:27 AM   #4
Supporting Vendor
 
JeepAddOns-Chris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Lexington, KY
Posts: 1,095
Yes they do. You can also take this opportunity to go with chromoly shafts as well. For the record, there is a manual hub conversion kit, but you can go to chromoly and eliminate the vac disconnect for about half the price.

I will tell you that installing the inner axle seal is an absolute pain in the butt. I used a long threaded rod and large washers as a "tool" to set it and messed up two seals before I finally got it right.
__________________
We are currently away from the forums and unavailable for quotes. Please contact our sales team at 800-388-8637.
JeepAddOns-Chris is offline   Quote
Old 01-10-2011, 01:33 AM   #5
Jeeper
 
Jeep_Geek's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Omaha NE
Posts: 402
If you are just wanting to get rid of the vacuum system you can replace it with a cable type like the posi lock for $175 or so. I know some have made home made versions of it also for cheaper.
Jeep_Geek is offline   Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Rubicon locking hubs RdKing3 TJ General Discussion Forum 9 05-17-2012 05:36 PM
Locking Hubs? and lockers? gotpepsi TJ Tech Forum 14 02-11-2011 06:23 PM
Locking hubs vs lockers? TJDiver TJ General Discussion Forum 25 08-15-2010 09:52 PM
Warn hubs adkjoe TJ General Discussion Forum 4 07-10-2010 11:25 AM
Manual Locking Hubs SPITFIRE YJ General Discussion Forum 7 04-13-2008 01:30 PM



Download our Mobile App

» Featured Product

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:54 AM.


User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging v3.1.0 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2016 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.

Jeep«, Wrangler, Liberty, Wagoneer, Cherokee, and Grand Cherokee are copyrighted and trademarked to Chrysler Motors LLC.
Wranglerforum.com is not in any way associated with the Chrysler Motors LLC