need help wiring lightbar - Jeep Wrangler Forum
Jeep Wrangler Forum

Go Back   Jeep Wrangler Forum > YJ Jeep Wrangler Forum > YJ Tech Forum

Join Wrangler Forum Today


Reply
 
Thread Tools

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on WranglerForum.com
Old 10-18-2010, 12:18 PM   #1
Jeeper
 
carlyj's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Las Vegas, NV
Posts: 177
need help wiring lightbar

Bought a Maxi Light Bar by Olympic with 4 Hella off-road lights. The lights come with relays and switches. I wanted to wire the lights to my "fog light switch" that comes onboard in my 4.2 Laredo.

Can I run 2 relays off of one switch or would I need to run a seperate switch for each relay?

How have people out there with light bars wired their lights?


carlyj is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 10-18-2010, 12:51 PM   #2
Jeeper
 
Wrangler Haven's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 310
I don't think there would be any problem running two relays from one switch since relays switch over with just the tiniest amount of power. Simply run a jumper wire between the two.
A more elegant solution would be to obtain a double-throw relay which will operate two separate circuits from one switch.

Wrangler Haven is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 10-18-2010, 01:55 PM   #3
Jeeper
 
carlyj's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Las Vegas, NV
Posts: 177
Quote:
Originally Posted by Wrangler Haven View Post
I don't think there would be any problem running two relays from one switch since relays switch over with just the tiniest amount of power. Simply run a jumper wire between the two.
A more elegant solution would be to obtain a double-throw relay which will operate two separate circuits from one switch.
sounds great. i'm all up for more elegant. if i go with the DT relay, would I also have to double up on the amperage?

the relays i have now are rated at 40A, would the new DT relay have to be 80A?
carlyj is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 10-18-2010, 02:11 PM   #4
Hardcore Jeeper
 
Peepers's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Windsor, CT
Posts: 3,320
I have 6 lights and 5 switchs for my light bar. A master ON/OFF switch where the load from this switch goes to the supply of the other four switches. Then the other 4 switches each go to a relay. Left flood light, outer lights, inner lights, Right flood light. F...O...I...I...O...F
__________________
What have we got?
We have one heavily armed Recreational Vehicle


ΣΧ
The Power Tech 6
Peepers is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 10-18-2010, 02:13 PM   #5
Jeeper
 
89JEEPYJ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 967
well putting 4 lights on one switch might be bad because it might over load it and blow fuses and things like that. and usually you dont want all 4 on at the same time, at least i dont. and if u have stock alternator you will be constantly blowing it. i tryed powering 2 amps and 6 lights and it blew in like a day.
89JEEPYJ is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 10-18-2010, 02:18 PM   #6
Sponsoring Vendor
 
Ibuildembig's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Fruitland, Missouri
Posts: 8,386
It will never overload the switch if its done right. You can even run 4 lights off one relay and one switch if the load isn't super high. What is the wattage of each light and I will tell you how to do it
Ibuildembig is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 10-18-2010, 02:41 PM   #7
Jeeper
 
89JEEPYJ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 967
i got 6 100 watt lights and when i first installed it, i had a lot of melted wires, and had to make multiple adjustments.
You should have a power wire for a max of 2 lights. you cannot have one wire for ALL 4 lights. I have 2 wires going up in the front with it grounded to the light bar, and than one wire for the back lights on top
89JEEPYJ is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 10-18-2010, 02:54 PM   #8
Jeeper
 
carlyj's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Las Vegas, NV
Posts: 177
i have 2 kits from Hella. They are the Hella 500 series that bring a relay + harness with a switch. They are 55w h3 bulbs.
carlyj is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 10-18-2010, 03:01 PM   #9
Sponsoring Vendor
 
Ibuildembig's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Fruitland, Missouri
Posts: 8,386
Ok thats easy....

Formula:

amps = watts/voltage
amps = 55/12
amps = 4.59

so 4 would be 18.36 amps

You can run all 4 off one 30 amp relay or if you wanna be super duper safe you can run two off one relay and two off another. Your trigger wire from your switch can go to both relays to turn them all on at one time no problem.
Ibuildembig is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 10-18-2010, 03:11 PM   #10
Jeeper
 
carlyj's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Las Vegas, NV
Posts: 177
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ibuildembig View Post
Ok thats easy....

Formula:

amps = watts/voltage
amps = 55/12
amps = 4.59

so 4 would be 18.36 amps

You can run all 4 off one 30 amp relay or if you wanna be super duper safe you can run two off one relay and two off another. Your trigger wire from your switch can go to both relays to turn them all on at one time no problem.
sweet, thanks big. thanks everyone who chimed in. i think i'll go the super duper safe route.

carlyj is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Jeep Wrangler Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Wiring management under the hood GA_TJ TJ Tech Forum 2 10-15-2010 06:51 PM
05 Hardtop wiring install...NEED HELP ASAP OffRDer TJ Tech Forum 1 07-08-2010 09:10 PM
hard top wiring question bandj524 YJ Tech Forum 0 01-24-2010 12:51 PM
Engine swap wiring help needed 4.2 to XJ 4.0 89Islander YJ Tech Forum 8 04-05-2008 08:06 PM
Replace all wiring in 2000 TJ? blueelkwrangler TJ Tech Forum 4 08-24-2006 12:35 PM



» Featured Product

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:16 PM.



Jeep®, Wrangler, Liberty, Wagoneer, Cherokee, and Grand Cherokee are copyrighted and trademarked to Chrysler Motors LLC.
Wranglerforum.com is not in any way associated with the Chrysler Motors LLC