Oil Pressure Gauge Stays at 0psi - Jeep Wrangler Forum
Jeep Wrangler Forum

Go Back   Jeep Wrangler Forum > YJ Jeep Wrangler Forum > YJ Tech Forum

Join Wrangler Forum Today


Reply
 
Thread Tools

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on WranglerForum.com
Old 04-11-2013, 09:22 PM   #1
Newb
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 3
Oil Pressure Gauge Stays at 0psi

Hey guys I've got a issue with my oil pressure gauge on my: 1992 YJ, 2.5l, 5 speed manual with the gauge type sending unit.

When i turn the key to the ON position the needle goes from the far left of the gauge and comes up to the 0 line. but when i start the engine the needle does not move, it stays in the same spot all the time.

I have checked the oil pressure with a manual gauge and it is 60psi cold and about 30psi warm at idle. I have also replaced the sending unit and took the gauge cluster out to inspect the back of the gauge. Nothing looks out of the ordinary as far as i can see.

I checked the connector that goes to the sending unit with a test light and it is getting power but makes the light very dim (not a full 12v is going to it) i am not sure if it is supposed to be that way or not.

I don't know what else to do, if anyone has any ideas or has had the same problem please chime in.



thanks guys

-Nate

makingaYJ is offline   Quote
Old 04-12-2013, 10:05 AM   #2
Newb
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 3
Anyone have any ideas???

makingaYJ is offline   Quote
Old 04-12-2013, 10:31 AM   #3
Jeeper
 
Jeeptrd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 87
Ill be watching this thread I have the exact opposite problem with mine. The oil pressure gauge is consistently pinned at 80 psi. Maybe related?
Jeeptrd is offline   Quote
Old 04-12-2013, 10:52 AM   #4
Jeeper
 
OverkillYJ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Philadelphia, PA
Posts: 2,904
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jeeptrd View Post
Ill be watching this thread I have the exact opposite problem with mine. The oil pressure gauge is consistently pinned at 80 psi. Maybe related?
If it is pinned at the top of the gauge I bet your wire is not connected for whatever reason. That is when happens when it is not connected at all.
__________________
Complete rebuild axle/engine/everything swap in progress:
Parts already gathered for assembly: 2001 Ford 302, 1990 Mustang GT 5.0 ECU and wiring, NP435, NP205, Pair of axles from 04' F350 SuperDuty (Sterling 10.5 Posi rear, Dana 60HP Front-Both Disk Brakes 3.73 Gears), 37" H1 Tires, 9" lift TJ Coils for 2 link conversion in front, Stage 2 Clutch Kit, 3 Row Aluminum Radiator, Chevy Astro Steering box (4" front Stretch), XJ Rear Leaf Springs (6" Rear Stretch), and lots more.
OverkillYJ is offline   Quote
Old 04-12-2013, 01:42 PM   #5
Jeeper
 
bigtoysforbigboys's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 252
Check the sensor itself ...switch a multimeter to ohms and check the sensor itself ....not running should have no continuity and running should read continuity ....if not then its bad and needs replaced
bigtoysforbigboys is offline   Quote
Old 04-12-2013, 03:15 PM   #6
Newb
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 3
Quote:
Originally Posted by bigtoysforbigboys View Post
Check the sensor itself ...switch a multimeter to ohms and check the sensor itself ....not running should have no continuity and running should read continuity ....if not then its bad and needs replaced
do you mean the "sending unit itself" i have already replaced the sending unit. and there was nothing wrong with the old one.

the gauge is making a connection and the sending unit is good it just will not sweep away from the 0 and towards the 80. i have actually taken the cluster out and manually moved the needle with my finger to insure that it was not stuck, and it is free.

so what i have is: 1.good sender 2.continuity 3.free gauge needle 4.no reading
makingaYJ is offline   Quote
Old 04-12-2013, 07:01 PM   #7
Jeeper
 
bigtoysforbigboys's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 252
Ok so with the battery unhooked check your wires for continuity to ground...if their is continuity to ground then you have a short in the circuit
bigtoysforbigboys is offline   Quote
Old 04-12-2013, 08:10 PM   #8
Jeeper
 
OverkillYJ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Philadelphia, PA
Posts: 2,904
Still check the sending unit using ohms.
__________________
Complete rebuild axle/engine/everything swap in progress:
Parts already gathered for assembly: 2001 Ford 302, 1990 Mustang GT 5.0 ECU and wiring, NP435, NP205, Pair of axles from 04' F350 SuperDuty (Sterling 10.5 Posi rear, Dana 60HP Front-Both Disk Brakes 3.73 Gears), 37" H1 Tires, 9" lift TJ Coils for 2 link conversion in front, Stage 2 Clutch Kit, 3 Row Aluminum Radiator, Chevy Astro Steering box (4" front Stretch), XJ Rear Leaf Springs (6" Rear Stretch), and lots more.
OverkillYJ is offline   Quote
Old 04-12-2013, 08:15 PM   #9
Jeeper
 
bigtoysforbigboys's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 252
Quote:
Originally Posted by OverkillYJ View Post
Still check the sending unit using ohms.
Very true...new doesn't always mean its good

bigtoysforbigboys is offline   Quote
Reply

Tags
not working , oil pressure gauge

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off




Download our Mobile App

» Featured Product

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:09 PM.


User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging v3.1.0 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2015 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.

Jeep®, Wrangler, Liberty, Wagoneer, Cherokee, and Grand Cherokee are copyrighted and trademarked to Chrysler Motors LLC.
Wranglerforum.com is not in any way associated with the Chrysler Motors LLC