Speedometer not working. - Jeep Wrangler Forum
Jeep Wrangler Forum

Go Back   Jeep Wrangler Forum > YJ Jeep Wrangler Forum > YJ Tech Forum

Join Wrangler Forum Today


Reply
 
Thread Tools

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on WranglerForum.com
Old 05-19-2013, 01:42 AM   #1
Mr Jeepy of California

WF Supporting Member
 
ChicoJeepy's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Chico, CA.
Posts: 466
Speedometer not working.

I bought my 1993 Jeep Wrangler April of this year, the owner before me sold it as Speedometer and Odometer not working and the problem "might" be a cable running from the Speedometer unit to the transmission. Well there was no cable and I ended up replacing the old sensor with a new one and noticed that the gear was not connected to the unit itself. So after fixing that it still didn't work so I checked EVERY fuse in the rig and found a little Mini 10 fuse under the hood that was for I.O.D. Changed that and my panel lights work great now! But Speedometer and Odometer are not in working order.

To add onto this, my RPM gauge works amazingly well along with my other gauges.

If anyone can help me out I would be extremely grateful.

If y'all need pictures or any other information on the Jeep by all means let meh know (:

ChicoJeepy is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 05-19-2013, 03:08 AM   #2
Newb
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 8
Have you pulled the dash out and checked the connections back there?

maiello22690 is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 05-19-2013, 07:34 AM   #3
Mr Jeepy of California

WF Supporting Member
 
ChicoJeepy's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Chico, CA.
Posts: 466
Quote:
Originally Posted by maiello22690 View Post
Have you pulled the dash out and checked the connections back there?
Yes I have. I noticed some corrosion on the "motherboard" or whatever you call it xD But for some reason I can't find anywhere that carries my speedometer unit? Not even Ebay /:
ChicoJeepy is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 05-19-2013, 08:02 AM   #4
Newb
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 10
Anyone know where I can get a replacement gear to correct the indicated speed to compensate for large tires on my '88 YJ??? I would need someone who could spec the correct gear given the tire size.
wittmore is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 05-19-2013, 09:47 AM   #5
Jeeper
 
vetteonr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Detroit suburb
Posts: 123
I had the same issues when I bought my 95 a few months ago. The previous owner told me he thought it was the speedo gear in the tranny, but the lights in the speedo housing didn't work either. I found a break in the "mother board" wiring. I found a used speedo/tach cluster on craigslist and now it works. The good thing is the speedo can be swapped into the new cluster so you can keep the odometer miles original.
vetteonr is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 05-19-2013, 11:16 AM   #6
Jeeper
 
cakes567's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: NY
Posts: 1,496
Images: 8
Send a message via AIM to cakes567
Quote:
Originally Posted by wittmore View Post
Anyone know where I can get a replacement gear to correct the indicated speed to compensate for large tires on my '88 YJ??? I would need someone who could spec the correct gear given the tire size.
What's your tire size and axle gear ratio?
__________________
-Melvin Friendly-
cakes567 is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 05-19-2013, 04:13 PM   #7
Mr Jeepy of California

WF Supporting Member
 
ChicoJeepy's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Chico, CA.
Posts: 466
Quote:
Originally Posted by vetteonr View Post
I had the same issues when I bought my 95 a few months ago. The previous owner told me he thought it was the speedo gear in the tranny, but the lights in the speedo housing didn't work either. I found a break in the "mother board" wiring. I found a used speedo/tach cluster on craigslist and now it works. The good thing is the speedo can be swapped into the new cluster so you can keep the odometer miles original.
Thanks man I'll keep an eye out for one. There is not much else at this time I need to fix on my Jeep besides deciding between buying a Hard top, Frameless Soft top or a normal Soft top? After I figure that out I need to look into either fitting a custom carpet or going on Ebay and buying a prefab one?

Thanks everyone for taking the time and helping me out

ChicoJeepy is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Jeep Wrangler Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off




Download our Mobile App

» Network Links
»Jeep Parts
» Featured Product

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:39 PM.



Jeep®, Wrangler, Liberty, Wagoneer, Cherokee, and Grand Cherokee are copyrighted and trademarked to Chrysler Motors LLC.
Wranglerforum.com is not in any way associated with the Chrysler Motors LLC