Torque rod 4 trans mount - Jeep Wrangler Forum
Jeep Wrangler Forum

Go Back   Jeep Wrangler Forum > YJ Jeep Wrangler Forum > YJ Tech Forum

Join Wrangler Forum Today


Reply
 
Thread Tools

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on WranglerForum.com
Old 03-18-2013, 02:52 PM   #1
Jeeper
 
rykemc's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Lubbock Texas
Posts: 1,224
Torque rod 4 trans mount

How important is having this torque rod for the trans mount installed? Can't seem to find mine.

__________________
Check out my build at:
http://www.wranglerforum.com/f8/fina...ld-184838.html
rykemc is offline   Quote
Old 03-18-2013, 03:02 PM   #2
Jeeper
 
0III0forlife's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Ridgway, Pa.
Posts: 3,916
Images: 6
It all depends on the condition of the main trans mount. On the 97 and newer TJ's they dont have the torque rod at all.

0III0forlife is offline   Quote
Old 03-18-2013, 04:19 PM   #3
Jeeper
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: CA
Posts: 684
Without the torque arm in place, the drivetrain may twist more with the OEM style engine mounts.

If you have stiffer aftermarket engine mounts (like Brown Dog), and a good transmission mount, you might be able to get by without the torque arm. Not having it there will put more stress on the engine and transmission mounts though.
__________________
1990 Wrangler 4.2L
Howell TBI, 2.5" OME springs; OME Nitroshocks; 5/8" OME shackles; Swaybar discos; 31" tires/15" rims
NonRubicon is offline   Quote
Old 03-18-2013, 04:56 PM   #4
Jeeper
 
RednekYJ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: LITH IL
Posts: 1,442
I've been running without mine for a few months now. I've dumped the clutch pretty good a couple times and have barked 2nd also and haven't had any issues yet. Haven't been off road with it though.
RednekYJ is offline   Quote
Old 03-18-2013, 05:14 PM   #5
Jeeper
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 64
While I will agree that it's probably not a critical part, Jeep put it there for some reason or another. I replaced mine with a bolt of equal diameter to the original stud, and an assortment of washers and nuts along with new bushings from autozone. Find a diagram online and you'll see how to improvise the stud with a bolt.
Day215 is offline   Quote
Old 03-18-2013, 05:52 PM   #6
Jeeper
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 408
I replaced mine with a replacement shock mount stud and bushings from NAPA. Works very well so far. It was on one of those rotating shelf things they have.
amiller is offline   Quote
Old 03-18-2013, 10:39 PM   #7
Jeeper
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Central Maine
Posts: 275
Quadratec sells the stud, also saw one tonight on epay for $3.95 while searching for "yj stabilizer".

brentd711 is offline   Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off




Download our Mobile App

» Featured Product

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:39 PM.


User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging v3.1.0 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2015 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.

Jeep®, Wrangler, Liberty, Wagoneer, Cherokee, and Grand Cherokee are copyrighted and trademarked to Chrysler Motors LLC.
Wranglerforum.com is not in any way associated with the Chrysler Motors LLC