Underdash wire mess.. And is that a security system? - Jeep Wrangler Forum
Jeep Wrangler Forum

Go Back   Jeep Wrangler Forum > YJ Jeep Wrangler Forum > YJ Tech Forum

Join Wrangler Forum Today


Reply
 
Thread Tools

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on WranglerForum.com
Old 02-25-2014, 07:40 PM   #1
Jeeper
 
YJmuscle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Posts: 57
Underdash wire mess.. And is that a security system?

When I purchased the jeep the wires under the dash were just a big cluster. And I'm pretty sure it's a vibration security system causing the mess. I either want to clean it all up and remove the system or get it work and cleaned up. Anyone familiar with this system and know where I can get a remote? Would also like to see some pics of your under dash so I know what it should look like.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	image-3039855443.jpg
Views:	51
Size:	185.8 KB
ID:	808601   Click image for larger version

Name:	image-1229660479.jpg
Views:	48
Size:	160.4 KB
ID:	808609  

Click image for larger version

Name:	image-463211229.jpg
Views:	46
Size:	170.8 KB
ID:	808617   Click image for larger version

Name:	image-1772117867.jpg
Views:	48
Size:	186.8 KB
ID:	808625  


YJmuscle is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 02-26-2014, 10:52 AM   #2
Jeeper
 
JD95YJ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Stockbridge GA
Posts: 1,069
Images: 11
Yeah it's an older Python alarm. Python is made by DEI which also makes VIPER, Valet, and others.. Easiest thing would be to find a local dealer as most would have extra remotes in stock. They can program a new remote in about 5 seconds as long as there's a valet button still on there. If they don't have the exact remote that works, they can of course order it or give you the part number and you can get them online.

__________________
95 4.0 "EL DIABLO"
JD95YJ is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 02-26-2014, 01:35 PM   #3
Newb
 
westmagicdork's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Idaho
Posts: 4
Had the same thing with my Jeep, except the previous owner got tired of it going off all the time so he cut the wire to the speaker. Never knew if the alarm was off or on until I'd go to start it and the battery was dead. Not a problem any more, I yanked it out last week. Used Jeeps have lots of extra wires under the dash.
westmagicdork is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 02-26-2014, 01:43 PM   #4
Jeeper
 
YJmuscle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Posts: 57
Quote:
Originally Posted by westmagicdork View Post
Had the same thing with my Jeep, except the previous owner got tired of it going off all the time so he cut the wire to the speaker. Never knew if the alarm was off or on until I'd go to start it and the battery was dead. Not a problem any more, I yanked it out last week. Used Jeeps have lots of extra wires under the dash.
Yeah I think I just want to rip it out. But I don't want to pull the wrong wires out. You can see it's a mess. Can you give me any pointers on taking it out
YJmuscle is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 02-26-2014, 02:00 PM   #5
Jeeper
 
JD95YJ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Stockbridge GA
Posts: 1,069
Images: 11
Pull it out by tracing each wire. Pull one at a time so you can tell if anything is disconnected. The only thing that may be left disconnected is the yellow starter wire in the ignition harness (if that particular alarm has a kill switch). Then you would just connect the starter wire back together. The only other things it should run to is main power, ignition power, door pin wire, lights, and maybe a siren under the hood.

And you can leave that led in place so you don't have a hole in your dash piece. You can hook it up to something else later down the road if you want. They usually take 5v rather than 12v though.
__________________
95 4.0 "EL DIABLO"
JD95YJ is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 03-02-2014, 07:08 AM   #6
Jeeper
 
YJmuscle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Posts: 57
I removed it. Wasn't easy. When I was done it wouldn't start. Oops. I hade cut out a relay switch it was easy to fix. All good now and no more messy under dash.
YJmuscle is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 03-02-2014, 07:33 AM   #7
Jeeper
 
JD95YJ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Stockbridge GA
Posts: 1,069
Images: 11
haha glad you got it straightened out though

__________________
95 4.0 "EL DIABLO"
JD95YJ is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Jeep Wrangler Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off




» Network Links
»Jeep Parts
» Featured Product

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:41 AM.



Jeep®, Wrangler, Liberty, Wagoneer, Cherokee, and Grand Cherokee are copyrighted and trademarked to Chrysler Motors LLC.
Wranglerforum.com is not in any way associated with the Chrysler Motors LLC