Will a 304 from a 70 Javlin bolt up to my 5speed from my 90 YJ? - Jeep Wrangler Forum

Go Back   Jeep Wrangler Forum > YJ Jeep Wrangler Forum > YJ Tech Forum

Join Wrangler Forum Today



Reply
 
Thread Tools

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on WranglerForum.com
Old 04-15-2012, 09:24 PM
Thread Starter
  #1
Newb
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 5
squareheadlights is on a distinguished road
Will a 304 from a 70 Javlin bolt up to my 5speed from my 90 YJ?

Will it bolt up without any adapters?
squareheadlights is offline   Quote
Old 04-15-2012, 09:31 PM   #2
IITYWTMWYBMAB

::WF Administrator::
 
4Jeepn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Florence, KY
Posts: 11,454
4Jeepn is on a distinguished road
which 5 spd? and I doubt it will just bolt up. Try novak jeep or advance adaptors.

__________________
79.96.85.00.01.97.00.97.93.97.95.94
CJ.XJ.CJ. TJ. TJ.ZJ. TJ.TJ. ZJ.ZJ.YJ. XJ
4Jeepn is offline   Quote
Old 04-15-2012, 09:33 PM   #3
Jeeper
 
Rusty Knutt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: On the edge of insanity, Outside the bounds of Reason.
Posts: 406
Rusty Knutt is on a distinguished road
Do you have a 258 currently? Then I believe so...but the tyranny probably wont last long
Rusty Knutt is offline   Quote
 
Old 04-15-2012, 09:40 PM
Thread Starter
  #4
Newb
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 5
squareheadlights is on a distinguished road
I think i have the ax-15, but i dont know for sure. Its whatever tranny came with a 90 wrangler and the 258 straight 6
squareheadlights is offline   Quote
Old 04-15-2012, 09:58 PM   #5
Jeeper
 
Rusty Knutt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: On the edge of insanity, Outside the bounds of Reason.
Posts: 406
Rusty Knutt is on a distinguished road
Yeah that tranny would be toast the frst time you got a hot foot...
Rusty Knutt is offline   Quote
Old 04-16-2012, 07:37 PM   #6
Jeeper
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: north of St.Franisville La.
Posts: 3,475
Nubby55 is on a distinguished road
Send a message via Yahoo to Nubby55
well I thought I read were some use the ax15 behind SB Chevy 350s.
Nubby55 is offline   Quote
Old 04-16-2012, 09:05 PM   #7
Jeeper
 
Dempsey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Tobacco Country
Posts: 4,958
Dempsey is on a distinguished road
Are you wanting more torque or just want a v8? I can understand both.

As far as breaking trans it really depends on the driver. I have a t5 behind my built 304. The internet would say its impossible and it wouldn't make it out of the garage.

A carb'd v8 in a jeep has its own set of challenges...just my 2 cents.
__________________
'76 CJ7
It's red.
'99 TJ
It's red too.
Dempsey is offline   Quote
Old 04-16-2012, 09:40 PM   #8
Jeeper
 
kheihn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Cedar
Posts: 553
kheihn is on a distinguished road
The AX-15 will bolt directly up to the 304. But you will need new body mounts and the 304 stock doesn't put out that much! I am pretty sure stock its only 130hp.

The AX-15 can put up with a stock 304/350/360. Once you start beefing the engines up that is where you start running into problems. It also depends on your driving style, if your trying to drag race at every stop light or smashing the pedel you should be fine.

kheihn is offline   Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off





All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:45 PM.


User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging v3.1.0 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2017 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2017 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.

Jeep®, Wrangler, Liberty, Wagoneer, Cherokee, and Grand Cherokee are copyrighted and trademarked to Chrysler Motors LLC.
Wranglerforum.com is not in any way associated with the Chrysler Motors LLC
« Back

Enter your email address:

Delivered by FeedBurner