YJ dash wiring harness - Jeep Wrangler Forum
Jeep Wrangler Forum

Go Back   Jeep Wrangler Forum > YJ Jeep Wrangler Forum > YJ Tech Forum

Join Wrangler Forum Today


Reply
 
Thread Tools

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on WranglerForum.com
Old 09-24-2013, 03:13 AM   #1
Jeeper
 
tweeked206's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 31
YJ dash wiring harness

I have 2 yj dash wiring harnesses both are from 93 4.0 5 speed. But there are some differences in the harnesses. The new harness has a few more plugs. Trying to fix all the issues that the previous owner caused. Anyone know what the plugs extra plugs are for?

Click image for larger version

Name:	ForumRunner_20130923_210907.jpg
Views:	73
Size:	117.3 KB
ID:	373833



Click image for larger version

Name:	ForumRunner_20130923_210919.jpg
Views:	67
Size:	128.1 KB
ID:	373841



Click image for larger version

Name:	ForumRunner_20130923_210936.jpg
Views:	65
Size:	126.4 KB
ID:	373849

tweeked206 is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 09-24-2013, 12:53 PM   #2
Jeeper
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 230
First pic is for hard top

kjg26 is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 09-24-2013, 03:34 PM   #3
Jeeper
 
tweeked206's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 31
The one with the extra plug. Thats what I was thinking. Cool I will use the un hacked hard top one incase I put a hard top on. Thanks for the help.
tweeked206 is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 09-25-2013, 01:57 AM   #4
Jeeper
 
tweeked206's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 31
If I use the hardtop dash wiring harness but the tub is using a soft top harness will I run into any problems. The black plug still runs the same stuff and the gray plug runs everything for the hardtop.
tweeked206 is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 09-25-2013, 08:49 AM   #5
Jeeper
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 230
No issues. What were u looking at on the second two pics
kjg26 is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 09-25-2013, 12:23 PM   #6
Jeeper
 
tweeked206's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 31
Second pic the hard top has a couple extra plugs under the dash I am geussing for defrost, & wipers.
tweeked206 is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 09-26-2013, 02:02 AM   #7
Jeeper
 
tweeked206's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 31
Hooked the harness up completely to test everything out. Everything worked except it wouldn't start. So double checked every connection and still the same thing. I decided to count connector prongs which I should have done in the beginning. I found one difference in the harnesses the hardtop harness has one connector that has one less prong. This has to be the problem. The first photo is of the hardtop harness and the second one is the soft top harness that came out of the jeep. Going to take the time and clean and repair the original harness and reinstall.
tweeked206 is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 09-26-2013, 02:04 AM   #8
Jeeper
 
tweeked206's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 31
Sorry forgot to attach the photos.
Hardtop harness
Click image for larger version

Name:	ForumRunner_20130925_200254.jpg
Views:	35
Size:	89.0 KB
ID:	379273

soft top harness
Click image for larger version

Name:	ForumRunner_20130925_200307.jpg
Views:	30
Size:	50.3 KB
ID:	379281
tweeked206 is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 09-26-2013, 04:58 AM   #9
Jeeper
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 230
What year engine and transmission is your vehicle? What year engine and transmission is the donor harness from?
kjg26 is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 09-26-2013, 11:30 AM   #10
Jeeper
 
tweeked206's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 31
Mine is a 93 4.0 5 speed and the donor harness was supposed to be from a 93 4m0 5 speed.
tweeked206 is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 09-26-2013, 07:21 PM   #11
Jeeper
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 230
Verify all your plugs are solidly in place. Shouldn't be anything diff between the hard and soft top that would inhibit starting.
kjg26 is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 09-26-2013, 07:22 PM   #12
Jeeper
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 230
Also, make sure all the fuses in the fuse block are good. And make sure the engine side of the harness is securely attached to the cabin side
kjg26 is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 09-26-2013, 07:31 PM   #13
Jeeper
 
tweeked206's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 31
I did all of that last night. Checked every plug, and bolt. Then I counted each connector and came to that conclusion. I am going to install the old harness and see if it starts.
tweeked206 is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 09-26-2013, 07:33 PM   #14
Jeeper
 
tweeked206's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 31
I also swapped fuses just in case but still the same thing. I will post after I hook the old harness back up.
tweeked206 is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 09-27-2013, 08:43 AM   #15
Jeeper
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 230
Next step is to trace all wires in the harness and verify there are no brakes. Check continuity through it
kjg26 is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 09-27-2013, 06:08 PM   #16
Jeeper
 
tweeked206's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 31
I put the old harness back in to test that theory and it started right up. I am going to check the hardtop harness but I started removing protective tubing and tape. From that plug and no broke wire in that area. Every function worked but starting with the hard top harness.
tweeked206 is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 09-28-2013, 01:54 AM   #17
Jeeper
 
tweeked206's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 31
Old harness all repaired was looking at my ac and that connectors has some issues any idea on were these are supposed to go. I opened the a/c to see if the connectors had a broken wire but nope all good inside. Going to clean it out the ac since its open.
This is the plug.
Click image for larger version

Name:	ForumRunner_20130927_194842.jpg
Views:	33
Size:	126.3 KB
ID:	384673

Here is the 2 wires.
Click image for larger version

Name:	ForumRunner_20130927_194856.jpg
Views:	28
Size:	105.8 KB
ID:	384681
tweeked206 is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 09-28-2013, 01:46 PM   #18
Jeeper
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 230
don't have AC, can't help you with that one, sorry
kjg26 is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 09-28-2013, 01:57 PM   #19
Jeeper
 
tweeked206's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 31
The hard top harness tested good. I unwraped and checked wires nothing broken, torn or cut. Tried it again and the same thing, guess its the one prong missing feom that connector. I understand on the ac. I still have to figure that one out.
tweeked206 is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 09-28-2013, 05:48 PM   #20
Jeeper
 
tweeked206's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 31
Figured it out. Those 2 wires go to the cigarette lighter dont need that going to cap it off.

tweeked206 is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Jeep Wrangler Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off




Download our Mobile App

» Network Links
»Jeep Parts
» Featured Product

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:33 AM.



Jeep®, Wrangler, Liberty, Wagoneer, Cherokee, and Grand Cherokee are copyrighted and trademarked to Chrysler Motors LLC.
Wranglerforum.com is not in any way associated with the Chrysler Motors LLC