disable tire pressure light. - Jeep Wrangler Forum

Go Back   Jeep Wrangler Forum > General Jeep Discussions > Tires & Wheels

Join Wrangler Forum Today


Reply
 
Thread Tools

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on WranglerForum.com
Old 01-26-2013, 10:29 AM   #1
Jeeper
 
shadowglenn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Dickinson, ND
Posts: 79
disable tire pressure light.

I would like to disable tire pressure light on my 2012 Sahara I will be installing aftermarket Wheels and tires today and I went without the tire sensors because the light comes on all of the time in the winter any way. I read there was a way do this somewhere. Do I need to take it to the dealer? If there is a thread on this Please point me there

Thanks Dave.

__________________
It's Better to Beg for Forgiveness than to Ask for Permission!
shadowglenn is offline   Quote
Old 01-26-2013, 10:33 AM   #2
Jeeper
 
jadmt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: missoula
Posts: 8,749
you need to get an AEV procal

jadmt is offline   Quote
Old 01-26-2013, 11:32 AM   #3
Jeeper
 
shadowglenn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Dickinson, ND
Posts: 79
OK just looked up the AEV procal looks like I will need it to adjust the Spedo I have a 2012 Sahara 2 door with the 3.6L and auto trans 2 things will I hurt things running the new tires until I get the Module or is it just a matter of the Spedo being off? also it says it will recalibrate the tire pressure module but will it allow you to disable it? The new wheel/tire setup are Cooper STT 295/70R17 tires (33")
__________________
It's Better to Beg for Forgiveness than to Ask for Permission!
shadowglenn is offline   Quote
Old 01-26-2013, 12:01 PM   #4
Jeeper
 
jadmt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: missoula
Posts: 8,749
Quote:
Originally Posted by shadowglenn View Post
OK just looked up the AEV procal looks like I will need it to adjust the Spedo I have a 2012 Sahara 2 door with the 3.6L and auto trans 2 things will I hurt things running the new tires until I get the Module or is it just a matter of the Spedo being off? also it says it will recalibrate the tire pressure module but will it allow you to disable it? The new wheel/tire setup are Cooper STT 295/70R17 tires (33")
if you have an automatic then your shift points will be off until recalibrated
jadmt is offline   Quote
Old 01-26-2013, 02:01 PM   #5
Jeeper

WF Supporting Member
 
kbwwolf's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Wisconsin
Posts: 12,286
Quote:
Originally Posted by shadowglenn View Post
OK just looked up the AEV procal looks like I will need it to adjust the Spedo I have a 2012 Sahara 2 door with the 3.6L and auto trans 2 things will I hurt things running the new tires until I get the Module or is it just a matter of the Spedo being off? also it says it will recalibrate the tire pressure module but will it allow you to disable it? The new wheel/tire setup are Cooper STT 295/70R17 tires (33")
Quote:
Originally Posted by jadmt View Post
if you have an automatic then your shift points will be off until recalibrated
^^ This.

And yes, your speedo will be off, as well. And yes again, you can use the Procal to set your TPMS monitors to "0", with or without the actual sensors mounted on your wheels, and that will disable the warning light and chime. Very handy little tool...
__________________


"What we see depends mainly on what we look for."
—John Lubbock
kbwwolf is offline   Quote
Old 01-26-2013, 07:16 PM   #6
Jeeper
 
shadowglenn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Dickinson, ND
Posts: 79
OK finished the wheel and tire swap, the funny thing is I went for a ride and even went on the interstate and the speedo matched the GPS speed perfect and the tire sensor light has not come on at all either. ????? I know the sensor light was working before. any thoughts?
__________________
It's Better to Beg for Forgiveness than to Ask for Permission!
shadowglenn is offline   Quote
Old 01-26-2013, 07:33 PM   #7
Jeeper
 
Ruby Tuesday's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: New Mexico
Posts: 929
Give it time it will come on
Ruby Tuesday is offline   Quote
Old 01-26-2013, 08:53 PM   #8
Jeeper
 
jadmt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: missoula
Posts: 8,749
I would use another gps to verify.
if they put the sensors back in and have them at 35psi or above I would not expect the light to come on.

jadmt is offline   Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off




Download our Mobile App

» Featured Product

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:44 PM.


User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging v3.1.0 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2015 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.

Jeep®, Wrangler, Liberty, Wagoneer, Cherokee, and Grand Cherokee are copyrighted and trademarked to Chrysler Motors LLC.
Wranglerforum.com is not in any way associated with the Chrysler Motors LLC