Faulty Tire Pressure Monitor System - Jeep Wrangler Forum
Jeep Wrangler Forum

Go Back   Jeep Wrangler Forum > General Jeep Discussions > Tires & Wheels

Join Wrangler Forum Today


Reply
 
Thread Tools

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on WranglerForum.com
Old 05-12-2009, 12:14 AM   #1
Jeeper
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 66
Faulty Tire Pressure Monitor System

I just bought an 09 Jeep Wrangler Unlimited. From day one I've had problems with the tire pressure monitor system. The dealer reset it but the warning light and tones have started again. It appears as though I have a faulty sensor in one of the wheels. I'm running them at 38 PSI so it has nothing to do with a tire being low.
Anyway, rather then to keep going back to the dealer I'm wondering of there is a way to disable this system altogether? Does anyone know if this is possible? Has anyone experienced the same problem and if so what was their solution? thanks

RobW is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 05-12-2009, 12:50 AM   #2
Jeeper
 
iamagolfspaz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Palm Desert
Posts: 1,113
Send a message via Yahoo to iamagolfspaz
Have dealer replace all 5 sensors. Warranty work

iamagolfspaz is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 05-12-2009, 01:01 AM   #3
Jeeper
 
donnie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Simi Valley, Ca., Taylorsville, Ut
Posts: 222
Send a message via MSN to donnie
I realize its a PIA to go back an dforth to the dealers but thats what you have a warrenty for.
Id have them change all 5 as per previous poster.
__________________
09 Sahara Hardtop 4 spd auto
Class of '09 driven by Class of '48

donnie

K7UTA
donnie is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 05-12-2009, 08:23 AM   #4
Jeeper
 
keneds's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: West Grove, PA.
Posts: 59
My alarm started going off this morning and I added some air and the light didn't go out. Are you telling me that the dealer needs to reset the thing every time?
__________________
2009 Flame Red unlimited
2.5" TF coil lift
TF quick disco's
keneds is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 05-12-2009, 09:20 AM   #5
Jeeper
 
donnie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Simi Valley, Ca., Taylorsville, Ut
Posts: 222
Send a message via MSN to donnie
From the way it sounds you may have a bad sensor.
I have the same system on our 09 and it will show a low tire but not which tire is low.
Id suggest the dealer replace the all the sensors. Should be under a warrenty item.
__________________
09 Sahara Hardtop 4 spd auto
Class of '09 driven by Class of '48

donnie

K7UTA
donnie is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 05-12-2009, 11:07 AM   #6
Jeeper
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 66
Ok, so I explained my problem to someone this morning and they think that I may have voided my warranty by the recent change in tires/wheels. My Jeep came stock with 16 inch wheels and tires but shortly after I bought it I upgraded to 18's. The wheels that I put on our the factory OEM 18's. So technically I could have bought the vehicle with these wheels/tires it would just have ended up costing me more. I bought this set slightly used off of eBay. Since these are stock wheels I don't see the problem but my friend is convinced that the dealer is going to give me a hard time or try to blame the problem on me. What do you all think and is the sensor located inside the actual wheel? Is it possible that the new set that I just bought has a damaged sensor in it?
RobW is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 05-12-2009, 01:15 PM   #7
Jeeper
 
keneds's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: West Grove, PA.
Posts: 59
Good question....how does this sensor thing work?
__________________
2009 Flame Red unlimited
2.5" TF coil lift
TF quick disco's
keneds is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 05-12-2009, 01:25 PM   #8
Jeeper
 
iamagolfspaz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Palm Desert
Posts: 1,113
Send a message via Yahoo to iamagolfspaz
The sensor is connected to your valve stem. Not really sure how the thing works. Try unhooking the battery and wait a few minutes. Hook it up again and the computer should reset itself.
iamagolfspaz is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 05-12-2009, 01:46 PM   #9
Jeeper
 
ocbasbalburg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Milwaukee
Posts: 71
I would bet that the set you bought off of ebay does NOT have the sensors. Very common to have them taken off stock wheel and put on aftermarket. Either way, the dealer will have no reason to warranty the tires and system. You didn't void your entire warranty, but any issues with the TPMS will not be covered.

Go back to the seller and see if they had the TPM un-mounted. If so, buy a set, or buy an AEV Procal. This will allow you to set your pressure to 0 so you don't have any warning lights. This may cause issues/questions down the road depending on your plans with the jeep.

You could also take the sensors off your 16" set and have them mounted on your new 18" wheels.
__________________
2009 2dr Wrangler X
Black
ocbasbalburg is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 05-13-2009, 01:56 AM   #10
Jeeper
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 66
Thanks ocbasbalburg. I just ordered an AEV Procal tonight. I'll let you know how it works out.
When I get finished with it would anyone like to buy it from me? I paid $129 plus expedited shipping. I'll sell it for $100 and ship for free via ground. let me know. - Rob
RobW is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 05-13-2009, 06:58 PM   #11
Jeeper
 
ocbasbalburg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Milwaukee
Posts: 71
I don't think that you can use the procal on more than one vehicle as the first time it is used it takes your VIN and stores it to memory. I could be totally wrong on this, but I have heard from many people that it is for one-vehicle use. You can do a lot more with the procal too...

One touch blinker (flashes three time for lane changes), running lights on set to either main light or front blinker lights, used when changing your gearing, steering wheel centering, speedo recalibration (when changing to larger tires) which you may need, and of course changing the tpms. There is something I'm probably forgetting.
__________________
2009 2dr Wrangler X
Black
ocbasbalburg is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 05-22-2009, 01:03 AM   #12
Jeeper
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 66
ocbalsburg... you are right, good for just one vehicle. I purchased the AEV Procal and it worked great! Very easy to run. I disabled the Tire Pressure monitor, set up one touch blinkers, reconfigured tire size, and activated daytime running lights. thanks everyone for the help! rob
RobW is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 05-22-2009, 05:44 AM   #13
Jeeper
 
iamagolfspaz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Palm Desert
Posts: 1,113
Send a message via Yahoo to iamagolfspaz
Whats the max tire size that can be reconfigured?
iamagolfspaz is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 05-22-2009, 04:04 PM   #14
Jeeper
 
OffTheGrid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: British Columbia
Posts: 26
Slightly off topic, but are the one touch blinkers not a standard thing on the JK? My Rubicon has done that from day one.
OffTheGrid is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 05-22-2009, 05:33 PM   #15
Jeeper
 
h2otoo's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: I'll take New England any day...
Posts: 494
Quote:
Originally Posted by OffTheGrid View Post
Slightly off topic, but are the one touch blinkers not a standard thing on the JK? My Rubicon has done that from day one.
If you mean the three blinks if you just hit the indicator lightly, ya, that is standard.
h2otoo is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 05-23-2009, 01:01 PM   #16
Jeeper
 
ocbasbalburg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Milwaukee
Posts: 71
Quote:
Originally Posted by iamagolfspaz View Post
Whats the max tire size that can be reconfigured?
54" !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
__________________
2009 2dr Wrangler X
Black
ocbasbalburg is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 06-09-2009, 08:52 PM   #17
Newb
 
pierce4250's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Brooksville
Posts: 2
When I purchased my ’09 I changer the tires and wheels to 18” I then separated my 16” wheels and removed my sensors and have had put on my 18” wheels they replaced the o-rings on the stem and it worked well they reset the sensors at the dealer

pierce4250 is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Jeep Wrangler Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Tire Pressure - Remedial Review innocent bystander TJ General Discussion Forum 22 03-27-2009 11:24 AM
Tire pressure monitor defeat with aftermarket wheels bgjhnsn JK General Discussion Forum 17 03-02-2009 08:40 PM
Tire Pressure scotiez General Jeep Discussion 15 04-08-2008 06:35 PM
Tire Pressure DocG2828 TJ General Discussion Forum 21 03-22-2007 03:52 PM
Tire Pressure jj33002 YJ General Discussion Forum 8 03-26-2006 06:59 PM



Download our Mobile App

» Network Links
»Jeep Parts
» Featured Product

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:57 PM.



Jeep®, Wrangler, Liberty, Wagoneer, Cherokee, and Grand Cherokee are copyrighted and trademarked to Chrysler Motors LLC.
Wranglerforum.com is not in any way associated with the Chrysler Motors LLC