Flat Spot - Jeep Wrangler Forum

Go Back   Jeep Wrangler Forum > General Jeep Discussions > Tires & Wheels

Join Wrangler Forum Today


Reply
 
Thread Tools

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on WranglerForum.com
Old 08-08-2013, 03:22 PM   #1
Jeeper
 
BAMaLAM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Boise, Idaho
Posts: 40
Flat Spot

I recently found out that I have a flat spot on a rear tire. I don't think it's dangerous, but it makes the ride a little rough. This gives me a good opportunity to buy some sweet new tires. The Jeep currently has a set of Eagle Alloys that he PO put on, which seem to have some spacing built into them. The current 30/9.5 tires stick out past the stock fender flares because of this additional spacing. I want to buy some 31/10.5's, but I'm concerned about ripping off my fender flares while wheeling. I've read online that a lot of people can run this size of tire, but with the sway bar disconnected I could be missing a few flares by the end of my first drive. It's an '06 TJ, stock except the after market wheels as far as I can tell.

Long story short. Stick with 30's or upgrade to 31's?

__________________
Americans have the right to choose to be unarmed and helpless. Be my guest.
-Ted Nugent
BAMaLAM is offline   Quote
Old 08-08-2013, 04:24 PM   #2
Jeeper
 
michiganadam's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Niles, MI
Posts: 2,367
Flat spot? You locked the brake up.

How bad is it flat spotted? Does it have good tread all the way around the tire? If its not real bad i'd just keep running it. it'll round back out somewhat eventually.

Why would you only go 1 inch bigger on the tires?

You know you're only going to need 1/2" more clearance to run a 1 inch bigger tire, right? they can't be that close to the flares can they? you should get a lift kit!

__________________
Everytime i have ever posted, its always bull that comes out of me
michiganadam is offline   Quote
Old 08-08-2013, 04:33 PM   #3
Jeeper
 
BAMaLAM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Boise, Idaho
Posts: 40
I didn't lock the brakes up, but the previous owner may have. I just bought the Jeep last week. It's not a very large spot, and the tread looks fine. Yeah, I get that it's only 1/2", but it's still 1/2" more than I had. I'll eventually get a lift and bigger tires, but I'll wait a while on a big project like that. I don't have the cash or the time right now.

To answer your question of, why only go 1" bigger? Mostly because I don't want to spend the money regearing, lifting, and adjusting my Jeep. If I need to buy new tires for this Jeep because of the flat spot I just want to buy the biggest that will fit on a stock Jeep.
__________________
Americans have the right to choose to be unarmed and helpless. Be my guest.
-Ted Nugent
BAMaLAM is offline   Quote
Old 08-08-2013, 04:40 PM   #4
Jeeper
 
michiganadam's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Niles, MI
Posts: 2,367
Quote:
Originally Posted by BAMaLAM View Post
I didn't lock the brakes up, but the previous owner may have. I just bought the Jeep last week. It's not a very large spot, and the tread looks fine. Yeah, I get that it's only 1/2", but it's still 1/2" more than I had. I'll eventually get a lift and bigger tires, but I'll wait a while on a big project like that. I don't have the cash or the time right now.

To answer your question of, why only go 1" bigger? Mostly because I don't want to spend the money regearing, lifting, and adjusting my Jeep. If I need to buy new tires for this Jeep because of the flat spot I just want to buy the biggest that will fit on a stock Jeep.
Someone locked em up.

just stay with 30s then. your jeep is most likely over geared at the stock size anyway.
__________________
Everytime i have ever posted, its always bull that comes out of me
michiganadam is offline   Quote
Old 08-08-2013, 04:58 PM   #5
Jeeper
 
BAMaLAM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Boise, Idaho
Posts: 40
Now that it's confirmed that I have a flat spot. I'm still wondering if I can run 31's with this setup.
__________________
Americans have the right to choose to be unarmed and helpless. Be my guest.
-Ted Nugent
BAMaLAM is offline   Quote
Old 08-09-2013, 10:13 AM   #6
Jeeper
 
rollistj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 25
Yes you can run 31s no problem. If you really wanted to you can go to a 33" with no problems as long as you drive on the street. if you flex any with 33s and stock suspension you will rub.

rollistj is offline   Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off




Download our Mobile App

» Featured Product

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:57 AM.


User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging v3.1.0 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2015 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.

Jeep®, Wrangler, Liberty, Wagoneer, Cherokee, and Grand Cherokee are copyrighted and trademarked to Chrysler Motors LLC.
Wranglerforum.com is not in any way associated with the Chrysler Motors LLC