11 hard top fit on 08 - Jeep Wrangler Forum
Jeep Wrangler Forum

Go Back   Jeep Wrangler Forum > JK Jeep Wrangler Forum > JK General Discussion Forum

Join Wrangler Forum Today


Reply
 
Thread Tools

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on WranglerForum.com
Old 03-07-2013, 10:18 AM   #1
Jeeper
 
SoCaljeep08's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 108
If I buy a 2011 hard top will it fit on my 08 JK? I've been told I will need an adaptor, will there be any leaking problems?

SoCaljeep08 is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 03-07-2013, 11:29 AM   #2
Jeeper
 
Blastek's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 2,200
on the 08, the freedom panels latch to themselves near the mirror. on the 09+, they latch to the footman's loop behind the windshield. The footman's loop is not in the correct position on your 08 for the 11 top to latch. You could probably fashion some sort of adaptor to make it work.

not having them latch may mean that they could leak, but i'm not sure.

__________________
2012 Deep Cherry Red JKU Sport S - Tickastar, 6 speed, 3.73, Dual Tops
Blastek is online now   Quote Quick Reply
Old 03-07-2013, 07:10 PM   #3
Jeeper
 
SoCaljeep08's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 108
I want to buy an 11 top this weekend for my 08. I don't have the adapter yet though, will I be able to put it on and drive home?
SoCaljeep08 is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 03-07-2013, 10:10 PM   #4
Jeeper
 
Blastek's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 2,200
Quote:
Originally Posted by SoCaljeep08 View Post
I want to buy an 11 top this weekend for my 08. I don't have the adapter yet though, will I be able to put it on and drive home?
Yeah, you should have no problem.
__________________
2012 Deep Cherry Red JKU Sport S - Tickastar, 6 speed, 3.73, Dual Tops
Blastek is online now   Quote Quick Reply
Old 03-07-2013, 10:10 PM   #5
Moderator

WF Supporting Member
::WF Moderator::
 
jkjeeper06's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 3,423
No worries on that. And no need for an adapter. I have an 11 top on my 08. It fits great no leaks. As for the footman's loop, you don't even have to hook it up. Or you can just do what I do with mine. Just rotate it and use the back of the latch

Get the 11 top and run it with no adapter. You'll like the bigger windows the 11 has
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	image-742823587.jpg
Views:	23
Size:	121.0 KB
ID:	219550   Click image for larger version

Name:	image-3230448022.jpg
Views:	23
Size:	118.8 KB
ID:	219551  

jkjeeper06 is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 03-07-2013, 11:16 PM   #6
Jeeper
 
SoCaljeep08's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 108
Quote:
Originally Posted by jkjeeper06 View Post
No worries on that. And no need for an adapter. I have an 11 top on my 08. It fits great no leaks. As for the footman's loop, you don't even have to hook it up. Or you can just do what I do with mine. Just rotate it and use the back of the latch

Get the 11 top and run it with no adapter. You'll like the bigger windows the 11 has
:: this made me very happy to hear! Thanks jkjeeper!
SoCaljeep08 is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 03-12-2013, 09:37 AM   #7
Jeeper
 
SoCaljeep08's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 108
Quote:
Originally Posted by jkjeeper06 View Post
No worries on that. And no need for an adapter. I have an 11 top on my 08. It fits great no leaks. As for the footman's loop, you don't even have to hook it up. Or you can just do what I do with mine. Just rotate it and use the back of the latch

Get the 11 top and run it with no adapter. You'll like the bigger windows the 11 has
Jkjeeper,

Thanks for the info, I'm running my 11 top and it is awesome! Love the big windows and it fit just like the top on my old 07.. Through for some reason I'm unable to get the big side of that front latch under the little bar.... Either way it doesn't need it!!!
SoCaljeep08 is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 03-12-2013, 11:14 AM   #8
Moderator

WF Supporting Member
::WF Moderator::
 
jkjeeper06's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 3,423
Glad to hear you like it! I think the latch may need to be loosened a bit to do that. I think it's a t30 or t40 bit to do that. Like you said tho its not really needed

jkjeeper06 is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Jeep Wrangler Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off




» Network Links
»Jeep Parts
» Featured Product

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:44 AM.



Jeep®, Wrangler, Liberty, Wagoneer, Cherokee, and Grand Cherokee are copyrighted and trademarked to Chrysler Motors LLC.
Wranglerforum.com is not in any way associated with the Chrysler Motors LLC